SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.12 (26/May/2020)

Any utility that assists in the creation of mods, assets, etc, go here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.12 (26/May/2020)

Postby JPL » Sun Sep 06, 2020 7:11 pm

Hi, I'm having trouble compiling SLADE latest on my Elementary (Ubuntu-derived) system. I get this error when I run cmake:
Code: Select allExpand view
-- cotire 1.7.9 loaded.
-- wx-config used is: /usr/bin/wx-config
-- wxWidgets version is: 3.0.4
-- gtk version is: 2
CMake Error at /usr/share/cmake-3.10/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:137 (message):
  Could NOT find Lua (missing: LUA_LIBRARIES LUA_INCLUDE_DIR)
Call Stack (most recent call first):
  /usr/share/cmake-3.10/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:378 (_FPHSA_FAILURE_MESSAGE)
  /usr/share/cmake-3.10/Modules/FindLua.cmake:193 (FIND_PACKAGE_HANDLE_STANDARD_ARGS)
  src/CMakeLists.txt:108 (find_package)


I followed the "compiling on Ubuntu" instructions on the wiki, but they don't say anything about installing Lua libs, what else do I need?
User avatar
JPL
 
 
 
Joined: 09 Apr 2012

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.12 (26/May/2020)

Postby Marisa Kirisame » Tue Sep 15, 2020 9:45 am

Started noticing that SLADE began doing this ever since I got a second monitor (which is 1920x1200). It's really annoying that it just adds all that absurd padding for the first few folders (if I scroll down there's no padding anymore).
User avatar
Marisa Kirisame
ZScript Crimester
 
 
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: 霧雨魔理沙#1666
Twitch ID: magusmarisa
Github ID: OrdinaryMagician
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.12 (26/May/2020)

Postby iSpook » Wed Sep 16, 2020 9:41 am



So the above image depicts something that just started happening to me when I open Slade and attempt to look at any sort of graphic image (or really, any file that opens up a non-text display), on top of corrupting the graphic that is currently being displayed.

So far I have tried the following to solve this problem:
* Restarted my system
* Uninstalled Slade, reinstalled latest version
* Uninstalled Slade, reinstalled earlier versions (down to 3.1.2)
* Wiped out the folder it makes in Appdata and reloaded Slade
* Uninstalled slade wiped out the folder, reinstalled Slade
* Installed Slade on another drive and ran the program
* Uninstalled Slade, updated drivers, installed Slade


Kind of baffled and stumped as to what else to do. I've been told that it could be gpu or graphics card but the card seems to work without issue otherwise
User avatar
iSpook
What is this, I don't even.
 
Joined: 05 Feb 2006
Location: In the middle of Stephen King Territory

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.12 (26/May/2020)

Postby sirjuddington » Fri Sep 18, 2020 12:51 am

JPL wrote:Hi, I'm having trouble compiling SLADE latest on my Elementary (Ubuntu-derived) system. I get this error when I run cmake:
Code: Select allExpand view
-- cotire 1.7.9 loaded.
-- wx-config used is: /usr/bin/wx-config
-- wxWidgets version is: 3.0.4
-- gtk version is: 2
CMake Error at /usr/share/cmake-3.10/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:137 (message):
  Could NOT find Lua (missing: LUA_LIBRARIES LUA_INCLUDE_DIR)
Call Stack (most recent call first):
  /usr/share/cmake-3.10/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:378 (_FPHSA_FAILURE_MESSAGE)
  /usr/share/cmake-3.10/Modules/FindLua.cmake:193 (FIND_PACKAGE_HANDLE_STANDARD_ARGS)
  src/CMakeLists.txt:108 (find_package)


I followed the "compiling on Ubuntu" instructions on the wiki, but they don't say anything about installing Lua libs, what else do I need?

Yes lua is required now (for the scripting stuff). The compilation page on the wiki is very out of date currently.

Marisa Kirisame wrote:Started noticing that SLADE began doing this ever since I got a second monitor (which is 1920x1200). It's really annoying that it just adds all that absurd padding for the first few folders (if I scroll down there's no padding anymore).

I have absolutely no idea what could be happening there, looks like another one of those platform-specific wxwidgets issues I'm getting very fed up with.

iSpook wrote:[So the above image depicts something that just started happening to me when I open Slade and attempt to look at any sort of graphic image (or really, any file that opens up a non-text display), on top of corrupting the graphic that is currently being displayed.

So far I have tried the following to solve this problem:
* Restarted my system
* Uninstalled Slade, reinstalled latest version
* Uninstalled Slade, reinstalled earlier versions (down to 3.1.2)
* Wiped out the folder it makes in Appdata and reloaded Slade
* Uninstalled slade wiped out the folder, reinstalled Slade
* Installed Slade on another drive and ran the program
* Uninstalled Slade, updated drivers, installed Slade


Kind of baffled and stumped as to what else to do. I've been told that it could be gpu or graphics card but the card seems to work without issue otherwise

Do you use an intel integrated graphics chip? If so it's likely a driver issue (see here: https://community.intel.com/t5/Graphics ... -p/1192516)
User avatar
sirjuddington
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Australia
Discord: sirjuddington#7496
Github ID: sirjuddington

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.12 (26/May/2020)

Postby Marisa Kirisame » Sun Sep 20, 2020 5:10 am

I have a sprite that SLADE actively refuses to write grAb data for, no matter what. I'm trying to set an offset of 32,32 on it, and it SEEMS to apply, and it SEEMS to save, but when I close the folder and open it again, it's back to 0,0 (this is even confirmed in-game).
Image

Edit: I managed to get the offsets to work, by copying the sprite to a new wad file, setting the offsets there and saving, then copying the sprite back to the folder.
User avatar
Marisa Kirisame
ZScript Crimester
 
 
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: 霧雨魔理沙#1666
Twitch ID: magusmarisa
Github ID: OrdinaryMagician
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.12 (26/May/2020)

Postby Deon » Sun Oct 11, 2020 8:54 pm

I think I figured out the trouble with sprite offsets... It looks like there's a bug in SLADE 3 which made me lose almost two hours trying to figure out.

Apprently unless SLAD3 marks an item with a star (*) which means Modified, pressing ctrl-S saves nothing. So even if you change offsets and the program asks you if you want to save changes, and you click yes... It saves nothing. You need to fake-rename a file so it's tagged with a star, and the problem is resolved!

By fake-renaming I mean... Let's say you have IMG0. Rename it to IMG01 and back to IMG0. Slade will save it now.
Deon
 
Joined: 08 Oct 2020

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.12 (26/May/2020)

Postby Marisa Kirisame » Mon Oct 12, 2020 2:33 am

Yes, in general the way it handles whether something is modified or not in folders seems very wonky, especially in large projects.
User avatar
Marisa Kirisame
ZScript Crimester
 
 
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: 霧雨魔理沙#1666
Twitch ID: magusmarisa
Github ID: OrdinaryMagician
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.12 (26/May/2020)

Postby Deon » Mon Oct 12, 2020 4:03 am

Oh hey Marisa. Thank you for clarification. Are you still playing that Joel's WAD? :)
Deon
 
Joined: 08 Oct 2020

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.12 (26/May/2020)

Postby Enjay » Sat Oct 17, 2020 10:29 am

I just came across this myself. I changed a bunch of offsets, pressing "save" as I went but when I returned to the PK3, all my offsets had gone back to where they were. :(

[edit] BTW, because I was working with PNG sprites, my work-around was to use a different tool entirely. I used Baghead Spidey's GrabPNG. The interface isn't as fully featured as the Slade one, but it does save the offsets.

Also, this was not a big project. I was just working with a single PK3 that only contained the sprites for one pretty standard enemy in it. [/edit]
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.12 (26/May/2020)

Postby SanyaWaffles » Sat Oct 17, 2020 10:46 pm

I'm starting to notice that folders are becoming increasingly unreliable to work with SLADE.
User avatar
SanyaWaffles
Wouldn't be an epic gamer if I didn't commit a few war crimes.
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2013
Location: Eastern Ohio
Discord: SanyaWaffles#5095
Twitch ID: sanyawaffles
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.12 (26/May/2020)

Postby Deon » Sun Oct 18, 2020 5:56 am

As long as your modified files have * next to them, you can be sure they will be saved. It's pretty reliable if you know the quirk :).
Deon
 
Joined: 08 Oct 2020

Previous

Return to Editors / Asset Manipulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests