Page 186 of 206

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.5 (07/May/2019)

Posted: Sat May 25, 2019 11:08 pm
by Abba Zabba
Not sure if anyone will know what this issue is, but I've had this problem for ages: when I use the visual texture editor to modify the textures lump in Hideous Destructor, and then I save my changes within that visual editor, it seems to break the lump everytime, and I have no idea why. For example, translucency on muzzleflashes and fireballs gets odd, like the opacity is screwed up, and some view sprites for weapons disappear entirely when they are defined through textures. I wondered if there was some weird format setting causing this problem, but from all the looking around I've did I've found absolutely nothing to change this problem. I've been manually applying the changes I want to make to the raw text itself. Would anyone know what setting/problem I'm encountering?

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.5 (07/May/2019)

Posted: Sun Jun 09, 2019 4:37 am
by tsukiyomaru0
Don't know if this has been proposed already, but please add a widget to allow us to calculate height and width on actors with a sprite, provided they have altered scaling

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.5 (07/May/2019)

Posted: Wed Jul 03, 2019 12:15 pm
by Apeirogon
Please add option "search (and replace) in whole pack/wad", because massive refactoring require it much of a time.

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.5 (07/May/2019)

Posted: Fri Aug 02, 2019 5:00 pm
by D2JK
I would be interested in the above feature as well (I was about to suggest it too).

I saw there is a LUA script that is supposed to do just that (if I understood correctly), but it didn't seem to do anything when I tried. But I would prefer this functionality to be found in the normal search dialog, anyway.

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.5 (07/May/2019)

Posted: Fri Aug 23, 2019 2:12 pm
by cq75
Hey there, I think I found a little bug, I hit Tab by mistake while I was editing in 3D mode and I had a hard time getting out of visual mode after that,

Steps to reproduce:

1) With a map open, hit Q to enter visual mode
2) Hit tab (a cursor will appear)
3) Click on the 3d mode window again

You will no longer be able to exit 3d mode using Q. Tab also quit working.

If you right click on a wall (or something else in the map) to bring up the properties window Q will start working again.

I'm using Slade v3.1.5 on Ubuntu Mate 18.04 if it matters. I got it from the deb package.

Also, I am going through the guide for compiling Slade 3, here's some things I had to do,

Package installation:

Package renames:
- libwebkit-dev to libwebkitgtk-dev
- libglew1.6-dev to libglew-dev
- libwxgtk-media3.0-dev to libwxgtk-media3.0-gtk3-dev (Note that the former is still in the apt repositories but it doesn't work for Slade)

<libgstreamer 0.10 is outdated in 18.04>
- libgstreamer0.10-dev to libgstreamer1.0-dev
- libgstreamer-plugins-base0.10-dev to libgstreamer-plugins-base1.0-dev
- libwxgtk-webview3.0-dev to libwxgtk-webview3.0-gtk3-dev

Extra packages:
- libgtk-3-dev

Final command:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install build-essential libgtk2.0-dev libglew-dev libfreeimage-dev libftgl-dev libfluidsynth-dev libsfml-dev libgstreamer1.0-dev libgstreamer-plugins-base1.0-dev libgconf2-dev freeglut3-dev cmake libmodplug-dev git libwebkitgtk-dev libwxgtk3.0-dev libwxgtk-media3.0-dev libcurl4-openssl-dev libwxgtk-webview3.0-gtk3-dev libbz2-dev libwxgtk-media3.0-gtk3-dev libgtk-3-dev
Note that at the time of writing the master branch uses <filesystem> which is a C++/17 feature, g++ 7.4.0 that ships with 18.04 is running __cplusplus 201402L, I just switched to the stable branch.

(Outdated info before I added extra packages to the commands)
Spoiler:

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.5 (07/May/2019)

Posted: Sun Aug 25, 2019 11:25 am
by D2JK
About function calltips: I like how I can see the parameters for the functions I've written previously, but there's one problem. For example, since I typically write a member function named Create() for many classes (for consistency reasons), Slade will display a list of all Create-functions it knows of, even when they belong to classes that are irrelevant to what I'm currently doing. I'm only interested in the Create() function of the class I'm currently attempting to create. With dozens of functions written, the function I'm interested in might not even fit in the visible part of list of suggested functions.

So I was wondering if it would possible to try detect the relevant class on the left side of the function I'm currently writing, and only show a calltip for the function belonging to that class.

I hope I've explained this coherently enough. :lol:

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.5 (07/May/2019)

Posted: Wed Aug 28, 2019 1:38 am
by sirjuddington
D2JK wrote:About function calltips: I like how I can see the parameters for the functions I've written previously, but there's one problem. For example, since I typically write a member function named Create() for many classes (for consistency reasons), Slade will display a list of all Create-functions it knows of, even when they belong to classes that are irrelevant to what I'm currently doing. I'm only interested in the Create() function of the class I'm currently attempting to create. With dozens of functions written, the function I'm interested in might not even fit in the visible part of list of suggested functions.

So I was wondering if it would possible to try detect the relevant class on the left side of the function I'm currently writing, and only show a calltip for the function belonging to that class.

I hope I've explained this coherently enough. :lol:
Yeah that's something I'd like to do eventually, though it's not exactly a simple thing to implement.

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.5 (07/May/2019)

Posted: Wed Sep 04, 2019 1:03 pm
by Kappes Buur
I've been meaning to ask this for ages.
  • Why does Slade3 always start testing with MAP01 when the pwad loaded is, for example, MAP15?

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.5 (07/May/2019)

Posted: Wed Sep 11, 2019 12:16 pm
by Rowsol
Any version post 3.1.1.5 has an irritating lag upon saving any text changes. Make any code change and press save and it stalls for a second. 3.1.1.5 doesn't do this, it saves instantly.

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.5 (07/May/2019)

Posted: Sat Sep 14, 2019 3:49 pm
by chaingunner_hell
Is there a way to change the size of the grid in the map editor? 64 its still useful but sometimes you need something smaller

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.5 (07/May/2019)

Posted: Sat Sep 14, 2019 3:54 pm
by Enjay
Same as in GZDB - use the [ ] keys.

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.5 (07/May/2019)

Posted: Sat Sep 14, 2019 3:59 pm
by chaingunner_hell
thanks

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.5 (07/May/2019)

Posted: Sat Sep 14, 2019 7:47 pm
by Gez
Note that, same as in GZDB, you can change the keys if you'd rather something else. (I use Shift+Ctrl+mouse wheel personally.)

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.5 (07/May/2019)

Posted: Fri Sep 20, 2019 8:37 am
by Gothic
I'm having problems with calltips in the latest version. I have them enabled but they don't show up, and the text cursor dissapears when I hover over a function.
And on an unrelated note, why is A_SpawnProjectile not an identified function?

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.5 (07/May/2019)

Posted: Fri Sep 20, 2019 10:44 am
by Blue Shadow
Gothic wrote:And on an unrelated note, why is A_SpawnProjectile not an identified function?
The syntax highlighter for DECORATE requires to be manually updated (unlike the ZScript one), and is currently outdated.