SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.3 (8/Dec/2018)

Any utility that assists in the creation of mods, assets, etc, go here.

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 5 (11/Sep/2017)

Postby Empyre » Mon Oct 01, 2018 12:34 pm

I have a suggestion: in tools like Remove Unused Textures, look at textures in the TEXTURES folder of a PK3, between TX_START and TX_END in a WAD, and the textures defined by the TEXTURES lump, as well as the old TEXTUREx lumps.

Also, thank you for SLADE. It's awesome!
User avatar
Empyre
The Ultimate Shining Example of Humility
 
Joined: 05 Apr 2007
Location: Garland, TX, USA

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 5 (11/Sep/2017)

Postby Jekyll Grim Payne » Thu Oct 11, 2018 9:19 am

I tried running latest build on a win10 machine at the office (I have win7 at home) so I could code for a bit at lunch break. However, the same archive that opens just fine in the same build of SLADE at home crashes at the office.

Here's a log:

Code: Select allExpand view
Version: 3.1.2 Beta 5
Current action: aman_open
Operating System: Windows 7 (build 7600), 64-bit edition
Graphics Vendor: OpenGL not initialised
Graphics Hardware: OpenGL not initialised
OpenGL Version: OpenGL not initialised

Stack Trace:
0: [unknown location] [unknown:7078000]
1: (f:\programming\libs\wxwidgets-3.1.0\src\common\wincmn.cpp:492) wxWindowBase::~wxWindowBase
2: (f:\programming\libs\wxwidgets-3.1.0\src\msw\window.cpp:469) wxWindow::~wxWindow
3: (f:\programming\libs\wxwidgets-3.1.0\src\common\toplvcmn.cpp:100) wxTopLevelWindowBase::~wxTopLevelWindowBase
4: (f:\programming\libs\wxwidgets-3.1.0\src\msw\toplevel.cpp:524) wxTopLevelWindowMSW::~wxTopLevelWindowMSW
5: (f:\programming\libs\wxwidgets-3.1.0\src\common\framecmn.cpp:171) wxFrameBase::~wxFrameBase
6: [unknown location] SplashWindow::`scalar deleting destructor'
7: (f:\programming\libs\wxwidgets-3.1.0\src\common\appcmn.cpp:144) wxAppBase::CleanUp
8: (f:\programming\libs\wxwidgets-3.1.0\src\msw\app.cpp:707) wxApp::CleanUp
9: (f:\programming\libs\wxwidgets-3.1.0\src\common\init.cpp:452) wxEntryCleanup
10: (f:\programming\libs\wxwidgets-3.1.0\src\common\init.cpp:503) wxEntryReal
11: (f:\programming\libs\wxwidgets-3.1.0\src\msw\main.cpp:181) wxEntry
12: (f:\programming\libs\wxwidgets-3.1.0\src\msw\main.cpp:289) wxEntry
13: (c:\dev\slade-build\src\application\sladewxapp.cpp:476) WinMain
14: (f:\dd\vctools\crt\vcstartup\src\startup\exe_common.inl:253) __scrt_common_main_seh
15: [unknown location] BaseThreadInitThunk
16: [unknown location] RtlValidSecurityDescriptor
17: [unknown location] RtlValidSecurityDescriptor

Last Log Messages:
Loading colour configuration
Loading base resource
Base resource loaded
Loading game configurations
SLADE Initialisation OK
Checking for updates...
Latest stable release: v3115 "3.1.1.5"
Latest beta release: v3120_b5 "3.1.2 Beta 5"
Already up-to-date
Opening archive C:\Users\aakopov\Dropbox\Beautiful_Doom\BDoom640.pk3


That's not because I'm using dropbox, I tried copying it to a different folder as well (and tried running SLADE from a different folder too).
User avatar
Jekyll Grim Payne
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2008

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 5 (11/Sep/2017)

Postby Cherno » Thu Oct 11, 2018 9:24 am

For a while now, the slider for zomming into graphics and sprites has disappeared, leaving me having to view them at 1:1 screen resolution which makes sprite offsetting impractical if not impossible. Anyone else has that problem?
User avatar
Cherno
 
Joined: 06 Dec 2016

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 5 (11/Sep/2017)

Postby Gez » Thu Oct 11, 2018 9:30 am

Jekyll Grim Payne wrote:I tried running latest build on a win10 machine at the office (I have win7 at home) so I could code for a bit at lunch break. However, the same archive that opens just fine in the same build of SLADE at home crashes at the office.

Here's a log:

Code: Select allExpand view
Version: 3.1.2 Beta 5
Current action: aman_open
Operating System: Windows 7 (build 7600), 64-bit edition


Odd. your log appears to be from Windows 7.
Windows build numbers -- if this was from a Windows 10 installation, the build number should be 10240 or above.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 5 (11/Sep/2017)

Postby VGA » Thu Oct 11, 2018 12:41 pm

Could it be running under some kind of compatibility mode?
User avatar
VGA
 
Joined: 28 Mar 2011

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 5 (11/Sep/2017)

Postby Jekyll Grim Payne » Thu Oct 11, 2018 1:01 pm

Actually yes, that time it was running in compatibility mode. But now it happens at home too.
Phantombeta thinks it's a problem with Zscript parsing inside the file but I don't know even in theory what could cause issues like this. It's true, however, that if I use 7zip to replace zscript.txt with the one that has all #include strings commented, SLADE can open it.

Here's what happened when I tried uncommenting the lines and saving changes via SLADE:

Spoiler:


UPD: this is the contents of the file that leads to the crash when it's #included https://pastebin.com/RmSVmYMn

UPD2: I managed to fix a number of purely coding issues, and now it's parsed properly. I didn't know code errors could affect parsing...
User avatar
Jekyll Grim Payne
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2008

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 5 (11/Sep/2017)

Postby Paar » Fri Nov 02, 2018 3:16 pm

I have tried to use SLADE map editor for a while and I must say it feels much more modern than DB2/GZDB. Yes, there are some features that are missing, mainly tied to a ZDoom nad UDMF editing, but I'm sure that those will be worked out eventually. When they do I will likely jump to SLADE immediately. I'm looking forward to a new version which will hopefully come out soon.
Paar
 
Joined: 18 Apr 2008

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 5 (11/Sep/2017)

Postby sinaptica » Sat Nov 17, 2018 2:17 pm

Marrub wrote:Here's an odd issue, on Arch Linux using the regular PKGBUILD, the icon, including in the about menu, is uh...
Weird.
I've tried reinstalling it a few times to no avail. Any idea what's up with that?


Hey, this should be fixed soon. Check this pull request if you are curious about what was happening. :3:
User avatar
sinaptica
 
Joined: 31 Jan 2017

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 (27/Nov/2018)

Postby sirjuddington » Tue Nov 27, 2018 6:38 am

Well I think it's about time 3.1.2 was released - so here it is.
User avatar
sirjuddington
I need no title.
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 (27/Nov/2018)

Postby Blue Shadow » Tue Nov 27, 2018 8:33 am

Thanks for the release! It has been a long wait. I'm loving the text editor enhancements, especially the ZScript support.
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 (27/Nov/2018)

Postby A_D_M_E_R_A_L » Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:30 am

How to enable the zoom bar? I still can't figure out how.
User avatar
A_D_M_E_R_A_L
 
Joined: 16 Apr 2017
Discord: A_D_M_E_R_A_L#3938

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 (27/Nov/2018)

Postby DabbingSquidward » Tue Nov 27, 2018 10:45 am

A new stable release of SLADE? Golly!
User avatar
DabbingSquidward
 
Joined: 08 Nov 2017
Location: Germany

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 (27/Nov/2018)

Postby gramps » Tue Nov 27, 2018 11:34 am

Nice!

Hey, not sure if this is the place to ask, but I need to make copies of a bunch of map geometry and I'd like to automatically give all the lines with ids a new unique id, is there an example of a Lua script somewhere that does anything similar?

Basically I want to make a hotkey that takes every line in the current selection, and if it has a non-zero id, assign it a unique id (UDMF format).
gramps
 
Joined: 18 Oct 2018

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 (27/Nov/2018)

Postby Enjay » Tue Nov 27, 2018 2:36 pm

Oooh, an update! Thank you very much. :D
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 (27/Nov/2018)

Postby sirjuddington » Tue Nov 27, 2018 7:14 pm

A_D_M_E_R_A_L wrote:How to enable the zoom bar? I still can't figure out how.

It should be there - do you have the window size very small? It may be getting cut off somehow. Would you be able to post a screenshot?
User avatar
sirjuddington
I need no title.
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

PreviousNext

Return to Editors / Asset Manipulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest