Page 172 of 206

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 3 (31/Jul/2017)

Posted: Tue Aug 01, 2017 8:19 pm
by sirjuddington
New beta released yesterday, which introduces a new scripting feature (using lua). So you can run something like this which will select all lines on the map with a special of 1:

Code: Select all

for i,line in ipairs(App.mapEditor().map.linedefs) do
	if line.special == 1 then
		App.mapEditor():select(line)
	end
end
Some documentation on the scripting API is available here: http://slade.mancubus.net/docs/scripting

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 3 (31/Jul/2017)

Posted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 9:56 am
by Kinsie
There's a fairly frustrating long-running bug (that I just checked still exists in the latest beta) where copying (not cutting) entries in a folder-based archive and pasting them would delete the original entries when the archive is next saved.

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 3 (31/Jul/2017)

Posted: Thu Aug 03, 2017 8:09 pm
by James Flasch
I use Windows 10 and have the latest version of Slade. Its directory has the FluidSynth dlls in it (they came with it), but FluidSynth won't work in Slade. It does work (with the same dlls) in GZDoom, however. What gives?

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 3 (31/Jul/2017)

Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2017 2:57 pm
by Kappes Buur

Code: Select all

Error: Can't read value of 'HKLM\SOFTWARE\CodeImp\Doom Builder\Location'
(error 2: the system cannot find the file specified.)
How does one make it possible to run GZDB or GZDB-BF from Open Map in Doom Builder 2 without mucking about in the Registry?

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 3 (31/Jul/2017)

Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2017 3:01 pm
by Gez
James Flasch wrote:I use Windows 10 and have the latest version of Slade. Its directory has the FluidSynth dlls in it (they came with it), but FluidSynth won't work in Slade. It does work (with the same dlls) in GZDoom, however. What gives?
Did you set a soundfont?
Kappes Buur wrote:

Code: Select all

Error: Can't read value of 'HKLM\SOFTWARE\CodeImp\Doom Builder\Location'
(error 2: the system cannot find the file specified.)
How does one make it possible to run GZDB or GZDB-BF without mucking about in the Registry?
There's a path_db2 CVAR. Set it to the path of the exe you want. Looking in the registry is only a fallback for when the CVAR isn't set.

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 3 (31/Jul/2017)

Posted: Mon Aug 07, 2017 3:06 pm
by Kappes Buur
Gez wrote: There's a path_db2 CVAR. Set it to the path of the exe you want. Looking in the registry is only a fallback for when the CVAR isn't set.
Perfect. Thx.

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 3 (31/Jul/2017)

Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2017 10:24 am
by Major Cooke
Kinsie wrote:There's a fairly frustrating long-running bug (that I just checked still exists in the latest beta) where copying (not cutting) entries in a folder-based archive and pasting them would delete the original entries when the archive is next saved.
Huh... I thought I was delusional when I noticed this myself not too long ago, I thought maybe I was just being clumsy.

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 3 (31/Jul/2017)

Posted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 6:06 am
by Nash
SLADE's dark text editor preset is nice, but can you add actual dark UIs too, like in Visual Studio? Currently only the text editor can be set to dark, everything else is still bright which actually is more painful to my eyes...

Image
Image

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 3 (31/Jul/2017)

Posted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 6:18 am
by Caligari87
I think it follows your system theme. At least it does on Linux, where I've got a dark theme set up:



Windows 10 should have a built-in dark theme setting now. It's not great but it works.



8-)

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 3 (31/Jul/2017)

Posted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 6:20 am
by Nash
Oh damn that looks good. I'm not sure how to change UI colours in Windows 8.1 though.

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 3 (31/Jul/2017)

Posted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 6:22 am
by Caligari87
Dammit, ninja'd! :lol: I just updated my post with a video showing how to enable dark themes in Win10.

8-)

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 3 (31/Jul/2017)

Posted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 8:33 am
by wildweasel
Caligari87 wrote:Dammit, ninja'd! :lol: I just updated my post with a video showing how to enable dark themes in Win10.

8-)
Sadly, this only appears to apply to "Apps" and things that otherwise use the Metro UI. It doesn't affect SLADE at all.

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 3 (31/Jul/2017)

Posted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 9:03 am
by sirjuddington
There isn't a way to get a full dark theme in windows unfortunately, since it's using native win32 controls etc, which can't really be customised. To get a full dark theme the UI would need to be completely rewritten in something else.

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 3 (31/Jul/2017)

Posted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 10:13 am
by Caligari87
What's it using on Linux? If it's GTK I think that's cross-platform and you can set it to use a GTK-compat theme even on Windows.

8-)

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 3 (31/Jul/2017)

Posted: Fri Aug 11, 2017 11:00 am
by Gez
SLADE is using wxWidgets on Windows, Mac, and Linux. That's the point of a cross-platform toolkit.