SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.5 (07/May/2019)

Any utility that assists in the creation of mods, assets, etc, go here.

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest release: v3.1.1.5 (18/Jan/2017

Postby Nash » Fri Mar 24, 2017 1:34 am

Sounds like you're asking for Intellisense-like support. Does not sound trivial...

(I would personally love that. I have beeng trying to figure out how to make a custom ZScript language definition for Visual Studio Code. Not much progress yet... Intellisense for ZScript sort of works if you set the language to C++ but it's far from perfect)
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest release: v3.1.1.5 (18/Jan/2017

Postby sirjuddington » Fri Mar 24, 2017 1:37 am

Yeah it's something I'd like to do, but will be pretty difficult so don't expect it anytime soon if ever.
User avatar
sirjuddington
I need no title.
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest release: v3.1.1.5 (18/Jan/2017

Postby Hellstorm Archon » Fri Mar 24, 2017 3:44 pm

Gez wrote:Yes, we know about that. The problem comes from SFML, so it'll be hard to fix it on SLADE's side.


Hmm. So should I roll back to an earlier version of SLADE in the meantime, or are the earlier builds having this problem too?
User avatar
Hellstorm Archon
Will debase self for street cred.
 
Joined: 24 Oct 2010
Location: 404 Error- Location of User Not Found
Discord: Man of Doom#4046

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest release: v3.1.1.5 (18/Jan/2017

Postby DoomKrakken » Wed Apr 05, 2017 4:43 pm

Here's something that's been bugging me for quite a while, now...

Would you guys be able to add in an option to adjust the load order of mods, when running mods with SLADE? Whenever mods are loaded into SLADE, they are run in opening order, from oldest to newest, ending with the mod you're currently viewing. This frustrates me sometimes, because I've found on multiple occasions I've had to close some of the tabs and then re-open them just so that I can get them running in the proper order.
User avatar
DoomKrakken
Avidly Anonymous Suggester. Hardcore Catholic Gamer. Problem? PM me.
 
Joined: 19 Oct 2014
Location: Plahnit Urff
Discord: DoomKrakken#2719

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest release: v3.1.1.4

Postby pagb666 » Wed May 10, 2017 4:46 pm

worldendDominator wrote:When installed 3.1.1.4 and I tried to run it, I got an error message saying I don't have api-ms-win-crt-runtime-l1-1-0.dll
What should I do?

Nevermind, solved.

May I ask how? Because uninstalling the VC++ routines and reinstalling the provided ones at Slade's site doesn't work.
pagb666
 
Joined: 23 Jan 2013

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest release: v3.1.1.5 (18/Jan/2017

Postby Minigunner » Mon May 15, 2017 12:32 pm

I'd like to see the option to specify a different palette to recolor to in the recolor dialogue, primarily for Doom format graphics. It'd make cross-palette recoloring (primarily for making a paletted graphic look good in another palette) a lot easier.
User avatar
Minigunner
 
Joined: 28 Dec 2009
Discord: Minigunner#5418

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest release: v3.1.1.5 (18/Jan/2017

Postby Gez » Mon May 15, 2017 1:57 pm

It's planned.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest release: v3.1.1.5 (18/Jan/2017

Postby chronoteeth » Mon May 15, 2017 3:59 pm

ever since i finally updated slade, it now takes a lot longer to load up any audio file preview than before
User avatar
chronoteeth
abubub
 
Joined: 08 Sep 2004

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest release: v3.1.1.5 (18/Jan/2017

Postby Gez » Mon May 15, 2017 4:15 pm

Any? In my experience it's only the ogg and flac files that take noticeably longer to load. (It's the metadata lookup that takes time.)
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest release: v3.1.1.5 (18/Jan/2017

Postby DoomKrakken » Mon May 22, 2017 6:33 am

Something that's been grinding my gears for the longest time is the fact that you can't use Ctrl + (U/D) to reorder your directories, like you can with other files. Can this be added in the next release? :)
User avatar
DoomKrakken
Avidly Anonymous Suggester. Hardcore Catholic Gamer. Problem? PM me.
 
Joined: 19 Oct 2014
Location: Plahnit Urff
Discord: DoomKrakken#2719

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest release: v3.1.1.5 (18/Jan/2017

Postby Nevander » Mon May 22, 2017 4:10 pm

This may be an ancient bug since I am still using an old SLADE version, but I notice when I click a map marker it shows the number of sectors the map has along with other info about the map. If I click away and then click back to the marker again, it doubles the number of sectors (or rather adds the same amount of sectors to itself). So if a map has 220 sectors, click away, click back it is now 440. In a WAD with multiple maps it adds that value to form a running total, so click to MAP01 and it is 120 sectors, click to MAP02 which has 320 sectors it instead shows 440.
Nevander
Self-Banned User
 
Joined: 06 Jan 2014

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 1 (24/May/2017)

Postby LigH » Wed May 24, 2017 6:20 am

Hi all... 8-)

I'm looking forward to seeing a feature implemented to "find" (possibly "highlight" in the map editor with a slow blinking effect) lines/sectors/things, as already listed in the feature requests.

This seems to be more or less planned for milestone 3.1.2, according to the roadmap, so it should not be far anymore... :shock:

My hope is that you can do that by "{any|specific} sector-tag/type/special" (AND combined, maybe even a list of several alternatives grouped with OR), possibly including a template manager to store often used combinations (like "damaging floors" including all 5 types of vanilla DOOM). — I hope I am not too optimistic... :oops:
LigH
 
Joined: 24 May 2017
Discord: LigH#3575

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest release: v3.1.1.5 (18/Jan/2017

Postby Kappes Buur » Wed May 24, 2017 10:56 am

Nevander wrote:This may be an ancient bug since I am still using an old SLADE version,.....

This happens also in the latest versions, SLADE 3.1.1.5 and SLADE 3.1.2.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia Canada

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest release: v3.1.1.5 (18/Jan/2017

Postby sirjuddington » Wed May 24, 2017 9:25 pm

Nevander wrote:This may be an ancient bug since I am still using an old SLADE version, but I notice when I click a map marker it shows the number of sectors the map has along with other info about the map. If I click away and then click back to the marker again, it doubles the number of sectors (or rather adds the same amount of sectors to itself). So if a map has 220 sectors, click away, click back it is now 440. In a WAD with multiple maps it adds that value to form a running total, so click to MAP01 and it is 120 sectors, click to MAP02 which has 320 sectors it instead shows 440.

Heh, fixed for next 3.1.2 beta
LigH wrote:Hi all... 8-)

I'm looking forward to seeing a feature implemented to "find" (possibly "highlight" in the map editor with a slow blinking effect) lines/sectors/things, as already listed in the feature requests.

This seems to be more or less planned for milestone 3.1.2, according to the roadmap, so it should not be far anymore... :shock:

My hope is that you can do that by "{any|specific} sector-tag/type/special" (AND combined, maybe even a list of several alternatives grouped with OR), possibly including a template manager to store often used combinations (like "damaging floors" including all 5 types of vanilla DOOM). — I hope I am not too optimistic... :oops:

Yes that should be coming, maybe not in 3.1.2 though (it's on the plan but 3.1.2 has taken long enough already - a bunch of stuff planned for it will likely be pushed back to 3.1.3).

I can't promise it'll do all that exactly, however any advanced find/replace stuff you want will certainly be possible to do in some way via the scripting system I've been working on, which will be in 3.1.2.
User avatar
sirjuddington
I need no title.
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Adelaide, South Australia

Re: SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.2 Beta 1 (24/May/2017)

Postby LigH » Thu May 25, 2017 1:11 am

Scripting sounds flexible. I'm all game! ;)
LigH
 
Joined: 24 May 2017
Discord: LigH#3575

PreviousNext

Return to Editors / Asset Manipulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: gdm413229 and 1 guest