SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.11 (04/Mar/2020)

Any utility that assists in the creation of mods, assets, etc, go here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby NeuralStunner » Thu Apr 22, 2010 6:07 pm

Huh. Okay, I'll get the newest AEOD and try that.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
An Exercise in Self-Indulgence
 
 
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2009
Location: Indiana, USA
Discord: NeuralStunner#1293
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby DBThanatos » Thu Apr 22, 2010 6:43 pm

Gez wrote:Download finished. Verdict? Takes a while to open, but Works For Me(tm). No crash.

I guess I could've dropped to say that earlier :P

I did try it, no crash either. However (not aeod exclusive) Im completely unable to see any image in the preview part of the application, actually, is like kind of a HOM effect :P. Let me show you what I mean

Spoiler:

Yeah, that's after ALT+TABbing from chrome to Slumped. Whatever was in first plane, stays in the preview part. :shrug:

Am I doing something wrong? or could this be a bug?
User avatar
DBThanatos
Guns, explosions, gore.
 
Joined: 14 Apr 2006
Location: in "the darkness that lurks in our mind"

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby NeuralStunner » Thu Apr 22, 2010 7:00 pm

Yep, it's a bug I guess. Use the link Gez posted for a repaired version. :)

Also, AEOD 5 loaded fine. Heh. I think the one I had before was 3... :?
User avatar
NeuralStunner
An Exercise in Self-Indulgence
 
 
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2009
Location: Indiana, USA
Discord: NeuralStunner#1293
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby Woolie Wool » Thu Apr 22, 2010 7:26 pm

I think it would also be good for SLADE to remove all extensions when importing new files into a WAD or copying files from a PK3 to a WAD.
User avatar
Woolie Wool
Call Apogee Say "Snappity!"
 
Joined: 15 Dec 2003
Discord: Woolie Wool#9878
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby DBThanatos » Fri Apr 23, 2010 7:54 pm

NeuralStunner wrote:Yep, it's a bug I guess. Use the link Gez posted for a repaired version. :)

Aha! Thanks! that works as intended. Time to give Slade a shot :P

Woolie Wool wrote:I think it would also be good for SLADE to remove all extensions when importing new files into a WAD or copying files from a PK3 to a WAD.

Yes, YES PLEASE! 8-)
User avatar
DBThanatos
Guns, explosions, gore.
 
Joined: 14 Apr 2006
Location: in "the darkness that lurks in our mind"

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby wildweasel » Fri May 07, 2010 4:30 pm

This thread has dropped off because somebody unpinned it! Need to bump it to ask: where are the line numbers in the text editor?
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby Gez » Sat May 08, 2010 1:26 am

Nowhere at the moment. Like syntax highlighting, it's a feature that's not implemented yet.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby Shadelight » Fri May 14, 2010 7:32 pm

Any news on this?
User avatar
Shadelight
You must construct additional lumber.
 
Joined: 20 May 2005
Location: Labrynna
Discord: Shadelight#4920

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby Gez » Sat May 15, 2010 3:36 am

Yes. Line numbers and syntax highlighting have begun to be implemented. :P
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby Demolisher » Sun May 16, 2010 12:03 pm

Gez wrote:Yes. Line numbers and syntax highlighting have begun to be implemented. :P


Release upon addition? I would take this over SLumpEd.
User avatar
Demolisher
Never enough time.
 
Joined: 11 Aug 2008
Location: Clarkston, MI

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby Gez » Sun May 16, 2010 1:29 pm

Well, it's meant to replace both SLADE2 and Slumped. It's still lacking several functions found in Slumped (finished text editor, but also audio playback, ACS compiling through ACC, on the top of my head), and it needs more optimization/feature completion/stuff (as typical with alphas) but it'll getting nearer from the point where it can be a complete Slumped replacement. It's already superior on some points (not all).
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby Shadelight » Sun May 16, 2010 9:04 pm

When sound previewing comes in, will we get the ability to preview more sound file types?
User avatar
Shadelight
You must construct additional lumber.
 
Joined: 20 May 2005
Location: Labrynna
Discord: Shadelight#4920

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby Ceeb » Sun May 16, 2010 10:12 pm

Would an option to compile USDF from within the editor (like with ACC) be possible?

Or how about the option to run the text editor of your choice for editing lumps and re-import on saving? I'm a Notepad++ whore and that would make me switch from SLumpEd.
User avatar
Ceeb
Official Idoit Of ZDoom
Banned User
 
Joined: 11 Jun 2008
Location: Castle Wut

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby wildweasel » Sun May 16, 2010 10:38 pm

Ceeb wrote:Or how about the option to run the text editor of your choice for editing lumps and re-import on saving? I'm a Notepad++ whore and that would make me switch from SLumpEd.

Agreed, that'd remove my need for the built-in text editor to have line numbers and syntax highlights.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby sirjuddington » Mon May 17, 2010 4:23 am

External editing is planned, yes. Also compilation of other script languages then ACS.

Anyway it's been more than a month, so grab beta 5 from the usual place.
User avatar
sirjuddington
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Australia
Discord: sirjuddington#7496
Github ID: sirjuddington

PreviousNext

Return to Editors / Asset Manipulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Linkfluence.com [Bot] and 1 guest