SLADE Discussion - Latest: v3.1.7 (07/Oct/2019)

Any utility that assists in the creation of mods, assets, etc, go here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby Shadelight » Fri Apr 16, 2010 12:19 pm

Good point, guess it wouldn't be a good feature suggestion after all. x_X
User avatar
Shadelight
You must construct additional lumber.
 
Joined: 20 May 2005
Location: Labrynna
Discord: Shadelight#4920

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby Woolie Wool » Tue Apr 20, 2010 8:29 pm

I'd still like to be able to mass-import or mass-export dozens of lumps using default filenames (for instance, mass imports will make the lumps named whatever their names were as files), and mass-rename files using wildcards like XWE. These are important features to me, and require me to use XWE at least for the early stages of making a new mod.
User avatar
Woolie Wool
Call Apogee Say "Snappity!"
 
Joined: 15 Dec 2003

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby LilWhiteMouse » Tue Apr 20, 2010 11:12 pm

Could the ability to merge multiple wads at once be added at some future point? Chibi Rebellion is up to 130 wads, and merging them two at time resulted in the archive copy being bugged.
User avatar
LilWhiteMouse
"Stop the world, I'm getting off."
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Maine, US

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Apr 21, 2010 1:52 am

Why don't you use a Zip? Then you won't have to use dedicated tools for it.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby sirjuddington » Wed Apr 21, 2010 1:59 am

I was planning to eventually implement some kind of 'project' feature, where you could create a project, import a bunch of resource archives to it, do whatever editing stuff you want with it, then export it all as a standalone archive when it's done. This probably won't happen for a while though, but I do plan on implementing archive merging at least before 3.0 final.
User avatar
sirjuddington
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Australia
Discord: sirjuddington#7496
Github ID: sirjuddington

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby japboy » Wed Apr 21, 2010 9:02 am

sirjuddington wrote:I was planning to eventually implement some kind of 'project' feature, where you could create a project, import a bunch of resource archives to it, do whatever editing stuff you want with it, then export it all as a standalone archive when it's done. This probably won't happen for a while though, but I do plan on implementing archive merging at least before 3.0 final.


that sounds exciting!

btw, i'd simply like to export a PNG (or GIF or something) image from a sprite image... is that possible now?
could anyone tell me how i do it if its possible. thanks.
User avatar
japboy
 
Joined: 26 Mar 2010
Location: Tokyo, JAPAN

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby Gez » Wed Apr 21, 2010 9:09 am

It's possible in two steps:
1: Convert sprites to PNG.
2: Export converted sprites.

If the sprites you want to export are from an IWAD, there's an additional "zeroth" step in that you first need to copy the sprites to a new archive because it won't let you change them otherwise (and conversion is a change).
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby LilWhiteMouse » Wed Apr 21, 2010 11:47 am

Graf Zahl wrote:Why don't you use a Zip? Then you won't have to use dedicated tools for it.


Convenience of editing. I find it much easier to have all the resources for a given actor in one file/lump. Archive rules require it all to be in one file though, and I'm leery of zipping a zip of wads. I tried using LumpTool to extract everything, but that turned into a mess.
User avatar
LilWhiteMouse
"Stop the world, I'm getting off."
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Maine, US

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby Cutmanmike » Thu Apr 22, 2010 2:46 pm

Umm... Sorry if this has been answered or has an obvious answer but I can't seem to see any graphic previews at all when selecting lumps. Any ideas?
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Not dead
 
Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Location: United Kingdom

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby NeuralStunner » Thu Apr 22, 2010 3:55 pm

I saw that mentioned somewhere, don't recall where. Something to do with certain video drivers? Anyway, I believe he's working on it.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
An Exercise in Self-Indulgence
 
 
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2009
Location: Indiana, USA
Discord: NeuralStunner#1293
Operating System: Windows Vista/7 64-bit

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby Gez » Thu Apr 22, 2010 4:34 pm

In fact, it should even have been fixed now. Here, try this: http://files.drdteam.org/index.php/file ... 8P/dist.7z
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby NeuralStunner » Thu Apr 22, 2010 4:49 pm

Cool. :)

BTW, I tried opening AEOD.pk3. Slade crashed. :shock:
User avatar
NeuralStunner
An Exercise in Self-Indulgence
 
 
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2009
Location: Indiana, USA
Discord: NeuralStunner#1293
Operating System: Windows Vista/7 64-bit

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby Gez » Thu Apr 22, 2010 5:22 pm

AEOD does seem like a good stress-test.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby NeuralStunner » Thu Apr 22, 2010 6:06 pm

Gez wrote:AEOD does seem like a good stress-test.

"Hmm, can your car pull a camper?" "I dunno, let's try hitching the house to it." :P

I jest. Nothing wrong with a gaming behemoth so long as it's a fun behemoth.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
An Exercise in Self-Indulgence
 
 
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2009
Location: Indiana, USA
Discord: NeuralStunner#1293
Operating System: Windows Vista/7 64-bit

Re: SLADE3 beta (testing release, beta4 up)

Postby Gez » Thu Apr 22, 2010 6:37 pm

Download finished. Verdict? Takes a while to open, but Works For Me(tm). No crash.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

PreviousNext

Return to Editors / Asset Manipulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests