Page 4 of 4

Re: grabpng - stuff fixed - windows build scripts coming soon

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 3:28 pm
by bagheadspidey
Link in title post updated. Large images should load fine in this one. Icon is gone for now, but I'll replace it later.

grabpng.exe r18

Re: grabpng - stuff fixed - windows build scripts coming soon

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 4:26 pm
by Enjay
Not sure if this is how it is meant to be or not...

If I double click grabpng.exe it opens and correctly remembers the window position, background colour and last file opened. However, if I delete the last file opened between sessions, then double click grabpng.exe again, I get a brief flash of the console window and thats it. ie grabpng doesn't stay open. IMO, if the last file has gone, grabpng should open with a blank window.

BTW, where is grabpng storing information like the window position etc?

Re: grabpng - stuff fixed - windows build scripts coming soon

PostPosted: Sun Dec 21, 2008 4:39 pm
by bagheadspidey
oops, that's a mistake. Glad you noticed that; it's fixed now.

Settings are stored in %APPDATA%/.grabpng-config -- type echo %APPDATA% to find out where that is for you =)

Re: grabpng - stuff fixed - windows build scripts coming soon

PostPosted: Mon Feb 23, 2009 10:44 am
by Nash
Hey baghead... I hope you haven't abandoned this. Actually, I was about to do some heavy weapon offsetting for my mod (about a few hundred sprite frames for some weapon HUD sprites), until I ran into this problem which made this tool kind of unusable.

As I drag around the sprite, the "guide lines" changes from the HUD version to the "world origin" version... I don't know the exact terms for this, but the former is made of blue lines and has a HUD guide in green, while the latter is made of a red crosshair.

Would it be possible to add an option to lock the guide to either one? I can't really position my weapon accurately if the guide keeps changing to the "world" one...

Re: grabpng - stuff fixed - windows build scripts coming soon

PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2009 4:41 pm
by bagheadspidey
Nash,

I like to refer two the two screens as the "screen grid" (blue) and the "sprite grid" (red). Anyway, the deal with offsets is supposed to be this: if a sprite has both negative or zero offsets, the position is a "screen position" (for hud weapons), otherwise the position is a "sprite position" (for insertion of a sprite into the world view).

Do you want to position your weapon sprite somewhere where it would have at least one positive offset value? I can look into adding an option to lock the current grid (blue or red) if you need to do this, but I can't guarantee using positive offsets for weapon sprites will work ingame (although I don't really see any reason it shouldn't).

Re: grabpng - stuff fixed - windows build scripts coming soon

PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2009 7:02 pm
by bagheadspidey
done, let me know how it goes.

Re: grabpng - now with 15% more grab

PostPosted: Sun Mar 15, 2009 10:38 pm
by blackfish
This looks awesome and I'm sure it'll help me immensely with my project. =D

Re: grabpng - now with 15% more grab

PostPosted: Mon Mar 16, 2009 4:38 pm
by bagheadspidey
Thanks, blackfish =) those gun rips you've got going on are looking pretty nice too, I hope this helps...

Hey, I have a question for anyone who is doing scaled (hires) weapons: How do you know where to set the offset for these? Or does the offset scale with the sprite? I'm trying to decide if it's useful to be able to scale the sprite up and down without zooming the guides.

Re: grabpng - now with 15% more grab

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 12:44 am
by Nash
Currently, I just use the HIRESTEX remap feature for scaled HUD sprites... I provide the offset for the low res one, and the high res one automatically follows the offset of the low res one.

I can't get sprite scaling in TEXTURES to work... :(

BTW, in case you haven't read my e-mail - thanks again. The update does exactly what I wanted it to do.

Are you working on a zoom feature? Good luck! I kinda miss this feature because SLumpEd has it. Though I imagine if I were zooming in to set offsets for a HUD sprite, the guides have to be zoomed in a well...

Re: grabpng - now with 15% more grab

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 4:03 am
by bagheadspidey
zoom has been in for a while, use the mouse wheel. Never bothered to document it ;p

Now that you know it has zoom, tell me if you think it needs panning... I think it might.

Re: grabpng - now with 15% more grab

PostPosted: Tue Mar 17, 2009 7:22 am
by Nash
Panning is required with zooming in most cases, it goes without saying...

Re: grabpng - now with 15% more grab

PostPosted: Thu May 21, 2009 7:53 am
by Hirogen2
I would appreciate it if the executables are not part of the repository, because, eh well, that bloats the source archive unnecessarily IMHO, and what I have to pull when downloading new commits.
FWIW, here are two patches, one to provide well-known Autotools interface as an alternate way to building, and another to make FLTK optional.

Re: grabpng - now with 15% more grab

PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2018 11:33 am
by Silentdarkness12
Windows download link is 404.

Re: grabpng - now with 15% more grab

PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2018 12:00 pm
by wildweasel
Silentdarkness12 wrote:Windows download link is 404.

This thread is from 2009 by a user who has not posted in years. That is an eternity in internet time. You might ask here for a reupload, instead.

Re: grabpng - now with 15% more grab

PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2018 12:52 pm
by Kappes Buur
Silentdarkness12 wrote:Windows download link is 404.


It is part of BHS's Doomcrap collection