[DoomCRAP] ZDoom Font Generator

Any utility that assists in the creation of mods, assets, etc, go here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: ZDoom Font Generator [updated - 0.2.7]

Postby bagheadspidey » Thu Jan 24, 2008 1:08 pm

MidoriMan wrote:Well, I found a couple of bugs.

THe first one is where I try to save a file as a .lmp, and it says "can't open file \s3fc.h.pcx' (error 5: access is denied.)". Also, whenever I try converting from an image to a .lmp file, I get the attached error.


Hmm, it looks like you don't have permission to access your temp directory the way you should. If you did, neither error would occur. I can fix the second error somewhat but it will still be a message telling you something is wrong (like, that you don't have access to your temp directory). :?
User avatar
bagheadspidey
 
Joined: 21 Oct 2007

Re: ZDoom Font Generator [updated - 0.2.7]

Postby DBThanatos » Sat Jul 12, 2008 11:36 pm

MidoriMan wrote:THe first one is where I try to save a file as a .lmp, and it says "can't open file \s3fc.h.pcx' (error 5: access is denied.)".


Im getting that same one (except for that s3fc. mine says s5fc). So, i have to assume is a vista problem where it doesnt allow me to access whatever is trying to? If so, is this solvable in the OS? Or simply vista is playing it's tircks again? :( (i really want to use this program)

EDIT: forgot to say "*BUMP*" :P
User avatar
DBThanatos
Guns, explosions, gore.
 
Joined: 14 Apr 2006
Location: in "the darkness that lurks in our mind"

Re: ZDoom Font Generator [updated - 0.2.7]

Postby Ryan Cordell » Sun Jul 13, 2008 12:05 am

Would it be all possible to be able to have the program convert BIGFONT into CONSOLEFONT (Most likely rearrangement.)? If there are missing graphics and they'd have to be supplied, no problem for any novice artist.
User avatar
Ryan Cordell
PDA Man
 
Joined: 06 Feb 2005
Location: Capital of Explodistan
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: ZDoom Font Generator [updated - 0.2.7]

Postby Kinsie » Sun Jul 13, 2008 1:11 am

Would it be possible to add the ability to convert pre-made consolefonts to embeddedfont images? I hate messing around with all those tiny images.
User avatar
Kinsie
Dog Days
 
Joined: 22 Oct 2004
Location: MAP33
Discord: Find Me...
Twitch ID: thekinsie

Re: ZDoom Font Generator [updated - 0.2.7]

Postby leileilol » Sun Jul 13, 2008 2:21 am

Blade Nightflame wrote:Would it be all possible to be able to have the program convert BIGFONT into CONSOLEFONT (Most likely rearrangement.)? If there are missing graphics and they'd have to be supplied, no problem for any novice artist.

CONSOLEFONT is a whole nother story since it's usually a strict 128x128 with 8x8s, no variable width. The only good solution for making those is handmaking them yourself
User avatar
leileilol
ダークエルフ!!!!!!!!!!
 
Joined: 30 May 2004
Location: GNU/Hell

Re: ZDoom Font Generator [updated - 0.2.7]

Postby Ryan Cordell » Sun Jul 13, 2008 3:29 am

In particular I want to extract ZDoom's own blasted Confont and edit the images appropriately. =/
User avatar
Ryan Cordell
PDA Man
 
Joined: 06 Feb 2005
Location: Capital of Explodistan
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: ZDoom Font Generator [updated - 0.2.7]

Postby leileilol » Sun Jul 13, 2008 11:42 pm

odd, zdoom's confont apparently isn't the same size and such the quake conchars lump is, I assumed that because Odamex uses the Quake conchars format for things
User avatar
leileilol
ダークエルフ!!!!!!!!!!
 
Joined: 30 May 2004
Location: GNU/Hell

Re: ZDoom Font Generator [updated - 0.2.7]

Postby Kinsie » Mon Jul 14, 2008 3:19 am

leileilol wrote:odd, zdoom's confont apparently isn't the same size and such the quake conchars lump is, I assumed that because Odamex uses the Quake conchars format for things
I can't remember clearly, but I BELIEVE that Zdoom's confont is based on the Quake 2 one, even if just in layout nowadays? I'm likely hilariously wrong, though. That, or Odamex just ported over bits of the GPL Quake code.
User avatar
Kinsie
Dog Days
 
Joined: 22 Oct 2004
Location: MAP33
Discord: Find Me...
Twitch ID: thekinsie

Re: ZDoom Font Generator [updated - 0.2.7]

Postby leileilol » Mon Jul 14, 2008 3:50 am

Kinsie wrote:
leileilol wrote:odd, zdoom's confont apparently isn't the same size and such the quake conchars lump is, I assumed that because Odamex uses the Quake conchars format for things
I can't remember clearly, but I BELIEVE that Zdoom's confont is based on the Quake 2 one, even if just in layout nowadays? I'm likely hilariously wrong, though. That, or Odamex just ported over bits of the GPL Quake code.

The 'layout' is pretty common and isn't just from Quake.

The actual font itself derives itself from QTEST.
User avatar
leileilol
ダークエルフ!!!!!!!!!!
 
Joined: 30 May 2004
Location: GNU/Hell

Re: ZDoom Font Generator [updated - 0.2.7]

Postby Cutmanmike » Tue Aug 11, 2009 2:24 pm

Sorry to bump this but I'm having problems. So I stick my font in, fix up the co-ordinates, save the image, edit it (in my case just edit the damn colors) and then do the "create font lump from image" using the image I just saved. I select my font type, fix palette and my source and output files. I click create lump but I just get a "C:/whatever.lmp nothing to save". Help?
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Is it hot in here or is it just ZScript
 
Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Location: United Kingdom

Re: ZDoom Font Generator [updated - 0.2.7]

Postby Zippy » Tue Aug 11, 2009 2:26 pm

The tool is kind of wonky but if you fiddle with it enough you can get it to work. I've done both console fonts and regular fonts with it at one point or another though I couldn't give you specific directions because every time I have to figure out how to get it to do its thing again.

Maybe send me the file and I'll try to figure it out.
User avatar
Zippy
Your Golden Boy
 
Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Location: New Jersey
Discord: Zurock#4834

Re: ZDoom Font Generator [updated - 0.2.7]

Postby Cutmanmike » Tue Aug 11, 2009 2:37 pm

This is a test one I just pumped out of it, edited in photoshop and then saved.

http://img90.imageshack.us/img90/4894/rawrs.png
User avatar
Cutmanmike
Is it hot in here or is it just ZScript
 
Joined: 06 Oct 2003
Location: United Kingdom

Re: ZDoom Font Generator [updated - 0.2.7]

Postby bagheadspidey » Tue Aug 11, 2009 6:33 pm

Those red lines might be screwing it up if they are exactly the same color of the red grid lines. If you make them slightly different (like FF0001 instead of FF0000) it might work better.
User avatar
bagheadspidey
 
Joined: 21 Oct 2007

Re: ZDoom Font Generator [updated - 0.2.7]

Postby Zippy » Tue Aug 11, 2009 8:42 pm

Cutty, here's some fixed up files for you. After working with it for a moment I remembered how to do it: BHS's tool can't turn PNGs like this in big fonts (to the best of my efforts). If you don't fix the palette it doesn't convert the image into a format imagetool can read. If you do fix the palette, it gets the palette indices wrong (I presume) and hence imagetool gives you the "nothing to save" output.

Converting the image to the right format, like PCX, and fixing the indices manually is quick and simple. Once it that format you can either run it through BHS's tool or imagetool itself without a problem.

I've got three files in the zip: rawrsFIX.png is your file dropped down to a 256 color palette with the indices set up correctly. rawrs.pcx is the same thing in a pcx format. rawrs.fon is the Big Font produced by imagetool, which I verified to work in ZDoom with a quick test.

Note that with regards to the color indices, the text file that comes with imagetool (for the version I have at least) says that the character boxes should be color index 255 and the background should be color index 0. In fact, the opposite is true. The character boxes should be index 0 and the background should be index 255. If you do what it says in the text file you'll get "nothing to save".
User avatar
Zippy
Your Golden Boy
 
Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Location: New Jersey
Discord: Zurock#4834

Re: ZDoom Font Generator [updated - 0.2.7]

Postby bagheadspidey » Tue Aug 11, 2009 9:16 pm

(snip)

hmm... looks like that option only works for confonts. I'll see about switching those palette indexes around...
User avatar
bagheadspidey
 
Joined: 21 Oct 2007

PreviousNext

Return to Editors / Asset Manipulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest