Ultimate Doom Builder

Any utility that assists in the creation of mods, assets, etc, go here.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Benjogami » Thu Jan 09, 2020 11:13 pm

ZZYZX wrote:ew. Looks like all winforms issues. Version of WINE? Version of UDB? (are you using x86 one?)


WINE 4.0 with a 32-bit prefix (I think) and UDB R3340-x86. I'm not sure what my .NET/mono situation is, but since UDB launched I figured I was good to go in that regard.
User avatar
Benjogami
 
Joined: 08 Jan 2020
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Kali, Mint, etc) 64-bit

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Hidden Hands » Fri Jan 10, 2020 12:00 pm

I'm getting this:

Code: Select allExpand view
Method not found: '!!0[] System.Array.Empty()'.
   at CodeImp.DoomBuilder.Plugins.Plugin..ctor(String filename)
   at CodeImp.DoomBuilder.Plugins.PluginManager.LoadAllPlugins()
   at CodeImp.DoomBuilder.General.Main(String[] args)


after trying to boot it. Help fixing it please.
User avatar
Hidden Hands
Deadite
 
Joined: 21 Sep 2016
Location: London, England

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby kaleb. » Fri Jan 10, 2020 1:22 pm

Benjogami wrote:Excited to use Doom Builder in Linux, but I'm running into some problems:

1. When I try to go into Tools -> Preferences, UDB hangs.

2. It seems like alt key is stuck or something: when I press "s" to enter Sectors mode, for example, the Sectors menu opens instead. Similarly, when I press "e" to go forward in Visual mode, the Edit menu opens.

3. When using the mouse in Visual mode, I can only turn 90 degress left and right, and when I turn all the way right, the undo/redo history thing pops up. Seems like the pointer is still active or something.

4. The map-selection dialog only shows the last 5 maps, and when I select them they actually open the first 5 maps.

I'm pretty new to Linux and WINE, so if I'm slow to understand the steps to fix/workaround, I apologize. :D

Thanks!

yea i get these exact same issues on the same version of UDB and Wine
User avatar
kaleb.
 
Joined: 15 Sep 2017
Location: Oklahoma
Discord: kaleb.#6833

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Kappes Buur » Sun Jan 12, 2020 5:09 pm

Now that the text editor has been taken out of the editor, could an external text editor be linked into UDB.
Something like in Slade3 or Deepsea.
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby ZZYZX » Sun Jan 12, 2020 6:47 pm

Does SLADE support opening a file from a specified archive?

i.e. to call it like "slade.exe <archive> <lump>"

Or what exactly do you mean by linking? Where do you expect it to be connected?
User avatar
ZZYZX
le chat du rabbin
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Oct 2012
Location: Ukraine
Discord: ZZYZX#1394
Github ID: jewalky

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby SanyaWaffles » Sun Jan 12, 2020 8:15 pm



I have a PNG that has translucency and it renders like this instead of the actual transparency levels.
User avatar
SanyaWaffles
Navy Did Nothing Wrong
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2013
Location: Eastern Ohio
Discord: SanyaWaffles#5095
Twitch ID: sanyawaffles
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Kappes Buur » Sun Jan 12, 2020 8:27 pm

ZZYZX wrote:Does SLADE support opening a file from a specified archive?
i.e. to call it like "slade.exe <archive> <lump>"
Or what exactly do you mean by linking? Where do you expect it to be connected?


In Slade3 I can specify an external text editor, for example Notepad++
Spoiler:


and then, clicking on a text lump I can specify to use Notepad++
Spoiler:


an opened in Notepad++
Spoiler:
User avatar
Kappes Buur
 
 
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003
Location: British Columbia, Canada

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby ZZYZX » Mon Jan 13, 2020 3:38 am

SanyaWaffles wrote:I have a PNG that has translucency and it renders like this instead of the actual transparency levels.

Ok, that's bad. Can you please provide the PNG and screenshot from GZDoom to see what should it look like?


Unrelated: there may be crashes related to typing texture names in edit dialogs. If anyone experiences this, please revert to previous version. Will be addressed ASAP
User avatar
ZZYZX
le chat du rabbin
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Oct 2012
Location: Ukraine
Discord: ZZYZX#1394
Github ID: jewalky

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Gez » Mon Jan 13, 2020 9:17 am

Kappes Buur wrote:
ZZYZX wrote:Does SLADE support opening a file from a specified archive?
i.e. to call it like "slade.exe <archive> <lump>"
Or what exactly do you mean by linking? Where do you expect it to be connected?


In Slade3 I can specify an external text editor, for example Notepad++
Spoiler:


and then, clicking on a text lump I can specify to use Notepad++
Spoiler:


an opened in Notepad++
Spoiler:



The problem here is that behind the hood, it's still editing the lump. What happens is that SLADE creates a temporary file, runs the external editor on it, and monitors what's happening. Once the external editor is closed, it imports back the temporary file's content into the lump.

The reason editing MAPINFO/DECORATE/etc. was taken out of GZDB-BF/UDB is that it doesn't really fit well with how DB is geared towards editing maps, and nothing else. It wasn't a problem with loading text content into the text editor.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby SanyaWaffles » Mon Jan 13, 2020 9:22 pm

ZZYZX wrote:
SanyaWaffles wrote:I have a PNG that has translucency and it renders like this instead of the actual transparency levels.

Ok, that's bad. Can you please provide the PNG and screenshot from GZDoom to see what should it look like?


https://www.dropbox.com/s/gth9dzwupr3hx ... 0.png?dl=1 is the sprite

User avatar
SanyaWaffles
Navy Did Nothing Wrong
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2013
Location: Eastern Ohio
Discord: SanyaWaffles#5095
Twitch ID: sanyawaffles
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby AlexMax » Wed Jan 15, 2020 7:28 pm

Would it be possible to add an option to the installer to install the program just for the user? Considering that GZDB comes with an updater built in, and the updater needs administrative privileges to update when it's installed to Program Files, it seems like defaulting to the user's program files directory is the smarter play, instead of the global one.

Since Windows Vista, Windows comes with what are called "Known Folders", and one of those folders that exists since Windows 7 is a User-specific Program Files directory. You can query it with the FOLDERID_UserProgramFiles GUID, and I bet that the installer has something built-in that will query that, but if not, the default is %LOCALAPPDATA%\Programs.
User avatar
AlexMax
Certainly they existed...
 
Joined: 15 Apr 2006

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby skdursh » Sun Jan 19, 2020 10:07 am

Latest (Jan 18) x64 build on drdteam is 1mb smaller than all previous x64 and x86 builds. Was something accidentally left out of the latest x64 build?
skdursh
 
Joined: 03 Jul 2019

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby YukiRaven » Sun Jan 19, 2020 6:30 pm

I noticed this just today. Sometimes, particular lights are not shown in 3D mode. This doesn't seem to depend on the dynamic light count or angle, so I don't believe it's because there are too many lights being drawn. In fact it worked in GZDB-Bf.

Notice the yeloow and red ones on the right vs on the left. These are both normal lights (thing 9800), and are identical - they were copied. If I move the bad light to a different part of the map, it still doesn't show up.

Image

In-game it's fine:
Image

r3351 32-bit on Linux, wine-5.0-rc2 with wine-staging patches, nVidia 1080 with driver 440.40
User avatar
YukiRaven
 
Joined: 10 Jul 2018
Location: Colorado, United States
Discord: YukiRaven#6258
Twitch ID: Yuki_the_Cat
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby NeuralStunner » Tue Jan 21, 2020 2:41 pm

Bit of a workflow problem: Files being used as resources are locked from modification, I.E. you can't manage a texture pack from Slade while a map is using it. (I believe DB went through this ages ago as well.)
User avatar
NeuralStunner
An Exercise in Self-Indulgence
 
 
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2009
Location: Indiana, USA
Discord: NeuralStunner#1293
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit

Re: Ultimate Doom Builder

Postby Enjay » Tue Jan 21, 2020 3:32 pm

Have you tried this?

ZZYZX wrote:Map being locked won't be fixed (this is required for editor's functionality)
(maybe it will be fixed later though, not sure what exactly is the issue)
RESOURCES being locked though, can be fixed by choosing "open map resources in read-only mode". If this doesn't work — that's a bug.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

PreviousNext

Return to Editors / Asset Manipulation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Stopsignal and 0 guests