LZDoom 3.86a 06/21 released

Game Engines go in this forum
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: LZDoom 3.85 02/29 released

Postby drfrag » Mon Jun 01, 2020 4:17 am

That's an older build from my master branch. If it runs well your problems with GZDoom are due to a different configuration (HQ resize mode?).
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666

Re: LZDoom 3.85 02/29 released

Postby Kamil » Mon Jun 01, 2020 9:25 am

I do not use HQ and other filters
Kamil
 
Joined: 21 Sep 2019
Discord: @Kamil#8122
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: LZDoom 3.85 02/29 released

Postby Kamil » Tue Jun 02, 2020 2:09 am

I have never encountered such a problem before.
https://www.dropbox.com/s/951ts6uw55da4 ... n.png?dl=0
Kamil
 
Joined: 21 Sep 2019
Discord: @Kamil#8122
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: LZDoom 3.85 02/29 released

Postby drfrag » Tue Jun 02, 2020 3:19 am

I don't know if it's a bug but if it is then it's a GZDoom bug. Have you managed to reproduce it with GZDoom? Is that what you referred as "swear on ram"?
That devbuld is based on GZDoom's commit "3f9b9314a06ce61dfbc804e192308b5d40287d21". How much ram do you have? Seems GZDoom now requires more ram?
If you get the error with GZDoom please do a bug report.
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666

Re: LZDoom 3.85 02/29 released

Postby Kamil » Tue Jun 02, 2020 8:41 am

Hmmmmmmmmm. Okay. I'll try to do that. However, I do not understand why GZDoom began to swear on RAM. I have 8 gb of RAM. I checked the new dev build of LZDoom on June 2nd. Things are good. No problems.
Kamil
 
Joined: 21 Sep 2019
Discord: @Kamil#8122
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: LZDoom 3.85 02/29 released

Postby drfrag » Tue Jun 02, 2020 1:25 pm

Forget it, GZDoom will crash as well. Probably it's a mod bug but i'm not sure, certainly now something works differently and i suspect what it could be. Could you check ram usage with the latest devbuid? Using task manager or a diagnostic tool that is.
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666

Re: LZDoom 3.85 02/29 released

Postby Kamil » Wed Jun 03, 2020 4:41 am

I tried setting up RAM using Bios. I haven’t noticed any problems yet :)
Kamil
 
Joined: 21 Sep 2019
Discord: @Kamil#8122
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: LZDoom 3.85 02/29 released

Postby drfrag » Wed Jun 03, 2020 4:58 am

I don't know what you're talking about, you could play for a while in a window and check ram usage in the windows task manager. With latest devbuild.
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666

Re: LZDoom 3.85 02/29 released

Postby Kamil » Wed Jun 03, 2020 6:46 am

LZDoom - 501 396 kb
Physical memory 33%
Kamil
 
Joined: 21 Sep 2019
Discord: @Kamil#8122
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: LZDoom 3.85 02/29 released

Postby drfrag » Wed Jun 03, 2020 6:58 am

Really with PB 3.0? Modern versions take all the available ram. This doesn't look good.
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666

Re: LZDoom 3.85 02/29 released

Postby Redneckerz » Wed Jun 03, 2020 7:03 am

Kamil wrote:I will wait for a new build with fix :) I have a question. Why does GZDoom swear on RAM and LZDoom not? Because of this, I could not play After Doom with GZDoom. But with LZDoom there were no problems in After Doom.

I assume you mean to say that GZDoom somehow uses more RAM than LZDoom and that this prevents AfterDoom from playing with GZ.

If you just play GZ or LZ with stock Doom, does an issue occur?

drfrag wrote:I don't know what you're talking about, you could play for a while in a window and check ram usage in the windows task manager. With latest devbuild.

It means he likely set RAM size to be used by the OS in the BIOS. But that does not affect GZDoom/LZDoom RAM usage.

drfrag wrote:Really with PB 3.0? Modern versions take all the available ram. This doesn't look good.

The amount of feedback threads i see related to either Brutal Doom or Project Brutality is so omnipresent, i almost feel like the main developers behind these two mods should provide some feedback aswell.
User avatar
Redneckerz
To it's ports i may have seen
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 25 Nov 2019
Discord: Redneckerz#8399
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)

Re: LZDoom 3.85 02/29 released

Postby Kamil » Wed Jun 03, 2020 7:33 am

I played After Doom with PB 3.0 However, with LZDoom I did not notice any RAM problems
Kamil
 
Joined: 21 Sep 2019
Discord: @Kamil#8122
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: LZDoom 3.85 02/29 released

Postby drfrag » Thu Jun 04, 2020 5:48 am

LZDoom 3.8x certainly runs better but in Inferno city i get a ram usage of 900 MB after a short while and in 4.4pre it reaches 1.5 GB before i quit (only 4 GB of ram here). Seems It keeps spawning actors until it runs out of ram but the "janitor" works. Most likely it's a mod bug, i get a lot of warnings in the console. It should be the same AFAIK tough, i know something it's different and i've reverted to the old behavior (in theory the new approach is safe) and recycled that old PB fix shit i made some time ago but seems it makes no difference.
Check ram usage in this devbuild: https://devbuilds.drdteam.org/gzdoom-vi ... 077a823.7z
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666

Re: LZDoom 3.85 02/29 released

Postby Kamil » Fri Jun 05, 2020 12:49 am

LZDoom - 986 680 (PB 3.0 + After Doom - Inferno City)
physical memory 39%
Why is SoftPoly so much slower than Software ?
Kamil
 
Joined: 21 Sep 2019
Discord: @Kamil#8122
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: LZDoom 3.85 02/29 released

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Jun 05, 2020 1:40 am

Because it's a fully polygonal renderer, that cannot be as fast as the classic software renderer which had been designed for much slower hardware.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

PreviousNext

Return to Game Engines

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest