QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.3.0 released!)

Game Engines like EDGE, LZDoom, QZDoom, ECWolf, and others, go in this forum
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.2.2 released!)

Postby Marisa Kirisame » Thu Jan 19, 2017 12:07 pm

2008 laptop here also with an Intel chipset. Made even worse by the fact it's a GLE960, pretty much the laptop equivalent of the G41 "complete and utter garbage" chipset (which I used to have, too). Actually, it can barely even run GZDoom at all.

So yeah, unless we're talking dedicated GPUs or "modern" integrated ones, that's not true at all.
User avatar
Marisa Kirisame
ZScript Crimester
 
 
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: 霧雨魔理沙#1666
Twitch ID: MarisaDOOM
Github ID: OrdinaryMagician
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.2.2 released!)

Postby Gez » Thu Jan 19, 2017 1:32 pm

Nash wrote:With the eventual implementation of GL skyboxes, models and flat sprites - plus dynamic lights properly lighting sprites (it currently does not, I understand this is WIP) - it WILL pretty much be GZDoom for ghetto computers. :P

If you're the kind of people who don't mind switching from "frames per second" to "seconds per frame", then yes, you will be able to use QZDoom to get the full experience of dozens of dynamic lights at once on a ghetto computer. :wink:
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.2.2 released!)

Postby Rachael » Thu Jan 19, 2017 1:52 pm

Such computers will render SPF in OpenGL anyway - so that really doesn't matter. :mrgreen:
User avatar
Rachael
^ walking stack of unfinished projects ^
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.2.2 released!)

Postby Marisa Kirisame » Thu Jan 19, 2017 4:59 pm

And I suppose fancy things like Bloom, Tone Mapping and SSAO will also get in the software renderer, right?

If you need help with that pls give me a call.
User avatar
Marisa Kirisame
ZScript Crimester
 
 
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: 霧雨魔理沙#1666
Twitch ID: MarisaDOOM
Github ID: OrdinaryMagician
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.2.2 released!)

Postby sonic_HD87 » Thu Jan 19, 2017 5:06 pm

MarisaKirisame wrote:And I suppose fancy things like Bloom, Tone Mapping and SSAO will also get in the software renderer, right?



It depends. On a Gitbuild there was Dynamic Lights on software renderer so, aside from all that, real 3D models on software is the last i'm expecting.
User avatar
sonic_HD87
Intel GM45 Master Race
 
Joined: 23 Mar 2013
Location: Venezuela

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.2.2 released!)

Postby Gez » Thu Jan 19, 2017 5:21 pm

Let's put a palette tonemap on the 32-bit software renderer
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.2.2 released!)

Postby Rachael » Thu Jan 19, 2017 5:34 pm

Gez wrote:Let's put a palette tonemap on the 32-bit software renderer

I've actually wanted to do that.

Yes, I know it sounds insane. No I don't care how insane that sounds, I still want to do it.

:mrgreen:
User avatar
Rachael
^ walking stack of unfinished projects ^
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.2.2 released!)

Postby ibm5155 » Thu Jan 19, 2017 5:50 pm

Hmm, the models could be a flat Sprite, that's converted from polygons to a Sprite each frame.
You just need something to draw a Sprite into a buffer, get the position from the player câmera and the model and "take a Picture" from that angle, store the resulted buffer into a Sprite and "reuse" the same Sprite render code that's used to render the sprites.

If I remember right the triangle drawer is already there, So, it just need another tool to convert MD3/MD2 stuff to triangles? (ehm, just take the existing code from gzdoom, since a gpu doesn't know what a md2/md3 is but they know what triangle are)...

wish I could talk less and code more, but I have almost zero experience with the 3D scene (I still can't imagine that I did a medical software for viewing/editing 3d models O_o [ofc using vtk so 99% of all 3D stuff was already done])

EDIT:
Will Qzdoom support subtract dynamic lights in software render?
so I could use my raytracing engine into it :p
User avatar
ibm5155
Just Spooky
 
Joined: 20 Jul 2011

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.2.2 released!)

Postby eppn5 » Sat Jan 21, 2017 10:29 pm

Question with the latest QZDoom version: Why is xBRZ gone from the HQ Resize modes?
User avatar
eppn5
Crusader in Hell
 
Joined: 22 Sep 2016

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.2.2 released!)

Postby Rachael » Sat Jan 21, 2017 10:40 pm

Ask the menu code.

It's there - and it's even there in the menu defs. But for whatever reason, the menu code is not seeing it.

The CVAR is gl_texture_hqresize, and here are the valid values:

Code: Select allExpand view
OptionValue "HqResizeModes"
{
   0, "$OPTVAL_OFF"
   1, "$OPTVAL_SCALE2X"
   2, "$OPTVAL_SCALE3X"
   3, "$OPTVAL_SCALE4X"
   4, "$OPTVAL_HQ2X"
   5, "$OPTVAL_HQ3X"
   6, "$OPTVAL_HQ4X"
   7, "$OPTVAL_HQ2XMMX"
   8, "$OPTVAL_HQ3XMMX"
   9, "$OPTVAL_HQ4XMMX"
   10, "xBRZ 2x"
   11, "xBRZ 3x"
   12, "xBRZ 4x"
   13, "xBRZ_old 2x"
   14, "xBRZ_old 3x"
   15, "xBRZ_old 4x"
}
User avatar
Rachael
^ walking stack of unfinished projects ^
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.2.2 released!)

Postby dpJudas » Sun Jan 22, 2017 12:18 am

ibm5155 wrote:Will Qzdoom support subtract dynamic lights in software render?

Probably not at this time. While they are theoretically easy to add (just do what AddLight already does in the drawers, but replace the + with -), the speed impact is going to get too big.

I mostly added the dynlights out of curiosity because I wondered exactly what the speed would be. It is much better than I feared it could be, but not good enough to fully support all of it.
dpJudas
 
 
 
Joined: 28 May 2016

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.2.2 released!)

Postby Nash » Sun Jan 22, 2017 2:14 am

ibm5155 wrote:so I could use my raytracing engine into it :p


I know that must've taken quite a lot of effort and I can appreciate it, and don't mean to put your work down but - I fail to see the ultimate point and end-goal of that, when a far better, less-hacky and much more performance-friendly thing to do is write a true real-time cascading shadow mapper... IDK, abusing subtractive lights (which are expensive to draw already, even in small quantities) just sounds masochistic... :shrug:

Well as long as you're having fun though, it's all cool!
User avatar
Nash
AKA Nash Muhandes! Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.2.2 released!)

Postby Rachael » Sun Jan 22, 2017 3:03 am

Well no matter how it's done - I gotta say that video demonstration is pretty damn cool. Yes, I know running it will simultaneously murder my CPU and GPU and send my poor little laptop to an early grave. :)

Nash is right that it needs to ultimately be implemented a little bit differently - but I gotta admit, I love the way ibm5155 is curious and likes to tinker with things like that. That kind of thing is very innovative and creative and it opens up a whole world of possibilities.

Unfortunately, though - that little demonstration will not run with acceptable performance on QZDoom's software renderer whatsoever - sorry to say. And I can tell you that without even trying it - because it takes a lot of processing power just to even know which lights to show where, least of all how far a pixel is away from any number of nearby lights. This is compounded by the fact that both operations - the rendering and the casting for the lights - will be CPU-choked. You'll be lucky to get 5-10 frames per second out of that even with a modern processor.

As I've said before - "cool to have" sometimes just isn't "practical."
User avatar
Rachael
^ walking stack of unfinished projects ^
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.2.2 released!)

Postby ZZYZX » Sun Jan 22, 2017 3:06 am

Less-hacky thing is actually make limited radius light that creates smaller dynlights WHERE IT HITS as opposed to creating negative dynlights where it doesn't. IMO.
Plus if distance is limited, you can do a bit higher precision, I believe.
User avatar
ZZYZX
le chat du rabbin
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Oct 2012
Location: Ukraine
Discord: ZZYZX#1394
Github ID: jewalky

Re: QZDoom - ZDoom with True-Color (Version 1.2.2 released!)

Postby Rachael » Sun Jan 22, 2017 3:10 am

One thing that is feasible is making a wireframe grid on the level geometry - both on the flats and on the walls - where at each intersection of the grid its point is measured by distance from the dynamic light as well as whether it can see the dynamic light. Then you can apply gouraud shading to those points, using gradient transitions for all the tween pixels. But that would be done without using so many dynlight objects, obviously.

It wouldn't look great, but at least it would run acceptably.
User avatar
Rachael
^ walking stack of unfinished projects ^
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

PreviousNext

Return to Game Engines

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests