Overlay models not working in gzdoom 4.7.1

Is there something that doesn't work right in the latest GZDoom? Post about it here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please construct and post a simple demo whenever possible for all bug reports. Please provide links to everything.

If you can include a wad demonstrating the problem, please do so. Bug reports that include fully-constructed demos have a much better chance of being investigated in a timely manner than those that don't.

Please make a new topic for every bug. Don't combine multiple bugs into a single topic. Thanks!

Overlay models not working in gzdoom 4.7.1

Postby ramon.dexter » Sat Dec 18, 2021 4:19 am

I've noticed that the android version of gzdoom (Delta Touch) don't display overlayed models. Also, gzdoom 4.7.1 on my work laptop with intel HD 5500, which support opengl 4.4, dont display overlay models either. Overlays with sprites work fine, but models dont. Is it related to opengl version? Or is it some bug on engine or renderer itself?
Last edited by ramon.dexter on Fri Dec 31, 2021 3:47 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
ramon.dexter
rudebwoy
 
Joined: 20 Oct 2015
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Overlay models not working in lower gldefs version

Postby Rachael » Sat Dec 18, 2021 6:27 am

Yep, that's a bug.

Unfortunately I had a major system failure with my old system so I can't really test this right now. I've moved the topic to the appropriate section though.

What we will need though, is a test case of the models failing to work, so if you could attach an example somewhere that would be really helpful.
User avatar
Rachael
^ walking stack of unfinished projects ^
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Overlay models not working in lower gldefs version

Postby ramon.dexter » Sat Dec 18, 2021 9:54 am

Thanks for the move. I wasn't sure if it is a bug or intended behaviour.

Here's the test file. https://drive.google.com/file/d/1BFuuEQtTZEarhg_Y3yyBdsa5VRvdMcnq/view?usp=sharing

Testing case: it needs strife1.wad OR strife sve to run.

Drop it all over gzdoom.exe and run it. Difficulty dont matter, but I'm testing it on rookie.
When the map loads, open console and type in 'puke 4201'.
The overlayed model is the shouldergun inventory item. It is fired by pressing the default 'F' key or by selecting in inventory and using it.

The overlay model works fine on my main laptop with nvidia rtx2060. On android ports (running opengl es, I think) it dont display overlayed models, also on the intel HD5500 (opengl 4.4) the model is invisible.
User avatar
ramon.dexter
rudebwoy
 
Joined: 20 Oct 2015
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Overlay models not working in lower gldefs version

Postby ramon.dexter » Tue Dec 28, 2021 3:50 am

As I have found out, in gzdoom 4.7.1 the overlays models dont work even in newer opengl or in vulkan. Gzdoom 4.6.1 works fine. I cannot confirm working on android, since delta touch automatically updated to latest version with gzdoom 4.7.1.
User avatar
ramon.dexter
rudebwoy
 
Joined: 20 Oct 2015
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [4.7.1] Overlay models not working

Postby drfrag » Tue Dec 28, 2021 5:58 am

Then it's not a GLES bug.
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666

Re: Overlay models not working in lower gldefs version

Postby ramon.dexter » Thu Dec 30, 2021 11:14 am

Another update, I was able to get an older version of Delta Touch with gzdoom 4.6.1, and the overlay models work there. So this is definitely a bug of gzdoom, not a renderer issue.
User avatar
ramon.dexter
rudebwoy
 
Joined: 20 Oct 2015
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Overlay models not working in gzdoom 4.7.1

Postby ramon.dexter » Thu Jan 20, 2022 4:35 am

Okay, may I know...how is this bug being treated?
User avatar
ramon.dexter
rudebwoy
 
Joined: 20 Oct 2015
Location: Kozolupy, Bohemia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support


Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests