Game displayed on incorrect monitor

Is there something that doesn't work right in the latest GZDoom? Post about it here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please construct and post a simple demo whenever possible for all bug reports. Please provide links to everything.

If you can include a wad demonstrating the problem, please do so. Bug reports that include fully-constructed demos have a much better chance of being investigated in a timely manner than those that don't.

Please make a new topic for every bug. Don't combine multiple bugs into a single topic. Thanks!

Game displayed on incorrect monitor

Postby MatrixCL » Wed Mar 24, 2021 11:25 am

When I put the windows settings on duplicate displays, I expect the game to be displayed on both displays. However, the game is only shown on my TV, while the monitor becomes black with only the ZDL window displayed. Workaround: alt-enter to disable full-screen and alt-enter again to get it back.

When I change my main screen to the TV, the game is still only displayed on the monitor in full-screen mode. I haven't found a workaround for this.

Specs:
Display adapter: Radeon RX 480
Monitors: Samsung S23B300 (connected by DVI) and an LCD TV (connected by HDMI). Both with native resolution 1920x1080.
OS: Windows 10 Home
User avatar
MatrixCL
 
Joined: 07 Jul 2020
Location: Finland
Discord: Matrix#1375
Github ID: MaartenCL
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Game displayed on incorrect monitor

Postby yum13241 » Thu May 13, 2021 9:31 pm

I'm guessing GZDoom uses exclusive mode and that is causing the issue?
yum13241
 
Joined: 10 May 2021
Discord: yum13241#8226
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Game displayed on incorrect monitor

Postby phantombeta » Thu May 13, 2021 10:00 pm

yum13241 wrote:I'm guessing GZDoom uses exclusive mode and that is causing the issue?

Only if they're on a very old version. GZDoom has had only borderless fullscreen for a while now, because exclusive fullscreen in OpenGL is a hack and makes maintaining the code a nightmare, at least on Windows.

As far as I know, however, Windows is supposed to disable DWM on monitors with a borderless fullscreen window on them. (at least on 8 and above, anyway) So maybe it's something being caused by Windows itself.
User avatar
phantombeta
Tired of being treated like trash by control freaks
 
Joined: 02 May 2013

Re: Game displayed on incorrect monitor

Postby Rachael » Tue May 18, 2021 7:15 am

One bit of important info missing here: Does this happen in Vulkan, or OpenGL, or both?
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Game displayed on incorrect monitor

Postby Kazudra » Wed May 26, 2021 8:17 am

This will happen on all renderers;
Changing vid_adapter in the config will do the trick. Maybe putting a monitor option in display would help.
Kazudra
 
Joined: 25 May 2015


Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests