Game hangs in MP changing gl_lights

Is there something that doesn't work right in the latest GZDoom? Post about it here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please construct and post a simple demo whenever possible for all bug reports. Please provide links to everything.

If you can include a wad demonstrating the problem, please do so. Bug reports that include fully-constructed demos have a much better chance of being investigated in a timely manner than those that don't.

Please make a new topic for every bug. Don't combine multiple bugs into a single topic. Thanks!

Game hangs in MP changing gl_lights

Postby drfrag » Sun Jan 10, 2021 3:42 pm

In MP if the host or the client disables and then enables gl_lights, when changing to the next map the game hangs for that player and VS says it's running external code so it cannot be debugged. I've reproduced it with two instances on the same machine and using the GL renderer, LZDoom is also affected so it must be something old.
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666

Re: Game hangs in MP changing gl_lights

Postby Player701 » Mon Jan 11, 2021 12:12 am

I could not reproduce this with OpenGL nor with Vulkan. Tried toggling dynamic lights for both host and client, then changing the map. Nothing unusual happened, the map changed normally for both players, and GZDoom did not freeze.
User avatar
Player701
 
 
 
Joined: 13 May 2009
Location: Russia
Discord: Player701#8214
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Game hangs in MP changing gl_lights

Postby drfrag » Mon Jan 11, 2021 3:32 am

Must be a driver bug, but i finished MAP01 and after toggling the lights i alt-tabbed to the other instance and then back, on the intermission same thing to go to the next map. I was running two instances on a window on the same computer. I'll try to test this with two real machines.
It doesn't happen if i don't toggle the lights.
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666


Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest