1024cla2.wad MAP29 monster teleport fail (NOT pointonline)

Is there something that doesn't work right in the latest GZDoom? Post about it here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please construct and post a simple demo whenever possible for all bug reports. Please provide links to everything.

If you can include a wad demonstrating the problem, please do so. Bug reports that include fully-constructed demos have a much better chance of being investigated in a timely manner than those that don't.

Please make a new topic for every bug. Don't combine multiple bugs into a single topic. Thanks!

1024cla2.wad MAP29 monster teleport fail (NOT pointonline)

Postby Player701 » Wed Dec 02, 2020 11:40 am

MAP29 of Claustrophibia 1024 2 exhibits buggy behavior when played in GZDoom. Two UV-only revenants from the initial monster wave fail to spawn in.

To reproduce this bug, use the following command-line parameters:

Code: Select allExpand view
gzdoom -iwad doom2 -file 1024cla2.wad -skill 4 -warp 29


Upon entering the map, use the IDDT cheat twice to reveal everything and everyone. Find this area:



and wait. In a short while, most of the monsters will teleport out of there - all but two of them, which ultimately prevents 100% kills on this map.

Note that this issue is not fixed by enabling compat_pointonline.

Tested in GZDoom 4.5.0 and g4.6pre-22-ga6a02a2a6. In PrBoom-Plus 2.5.1.4, every monster teleports out normally.
User avatar
Player701
 
 
 
Joined: 13 May 2009
Location: Russia
Discord: Player701#8214
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: 1024cla2.wad MAP29 monster teleport fail (NOT pointonlin

Postby Player701 » Wed Dec 02, 2020 12:18 pm

Here's an isolated test map, as well as some more info on what goes on in there.

The revenants are placed on a scrolling floor, and their path is initially blocked by some barriers. For some reason, when the easternmost barrier lowers, the revenant there is somehow able to pass through the teleporter trigger without activating it. This is most definitely a bug. It does not happen in PrBoom-Plus.

There is another trigger line further ahead, which is supposed to teleport the monster to the western wall so that it can attempt to pass through the teleporter again. However, by the time it reaches the second line, the revenant to the west hasn't teleported out yet. Since it is still blocking the way, the second trigger line fails as well, and the revenant to the east gets stuck.

If I tie the barriers to a manually-activated switch, the bug cannot be reproduced reliably. Sometimes the second revenant can teleport out, and sometimes it cannot. But if I use the same mechanism as the one that's used in Claustrophobia 2 MAP29, the bug happens all the time. In my test map, I've also reduced the time needed to wait before the bug occurs.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Player701
 
 
 
Joined: 13 May 2009
Location: Russia
Discord: Player701#8214
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: 1024cla2.wad MAP29 monster teleport fail (NOT pointonlin

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Dec 02, 2020 12:54 pm

From a quick glance that setup looks broken by design, falling apart at the slightest deviation of the expected outcome. I think the entire problem here is that this needs compat_boomscroll to work because ZDoom's averaging scrollers do not move the monsters fast enough.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: 1024cla2.wad MAP29 monster teleport fail (NOT pointonlin

Postby Player701 » Wed Dec 02, 2020 1:28 pm

Unfortunately, compat_boomscroll doesn't seem to fix this bug for me.
User avatar
Player701
 
 
 
Joined: 13 May 2009
Location: Russia
Discord: Player701#8214
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support


Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests