[GZDoom] Retro HUD got stretched if over 16:9 ratio

Is there something that doesn't work right in the latest GZDoom? Post about it here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please construct and post a simple demo whenever possible for all bug reports. Please provide links to everything.

If you can include a wad demonstrating the problem, please do so. Bug reports that include fully-constructed demos have a much better chance of being investigated in a timely manner than those that don't.

Please make a new topic for every bug. Don't combine multiple bugs into a single topic. Thanks!

[GZDoom] Retro HUD got stretched if over 16:9 ratio

Postby Trimint123 » Fri Nov 06, 2020 11:33 pm

Title said it all. Also, these screenshots is using Custom 21:9 HUD.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Trimint123
 
Joined: 05 Mar 2019
Discord: Trimint123#1987
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: [GZDoom] Retro HUD got stretched if over 16:9 ratio

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Nov 07, 2020 2:36 am

Link?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: [GZDoom] Retro HUD got stretched if over 16:9 ratio

Postby Trimint123 » Sat Nov 07, 2020 5:24 pm

Well, it's a slightly edited version of this custom HUD.
Trimint123
 
Joined: 05 Mar 2019
Discord: Trimint123#1987
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: [GZDoom] Retro HUD got stretched if over 16:9 ratio

Postby drfrag » Sat Nov 07, 2020 5:57 pm

That status bar looks screwed even in the latest version @16:9. And even the original iwad graphic looks stretched like always did with the default scale.
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666

Re: [GZDoom] Retro HUD got stretched if over 16:9 ratio

Postby Trimint123 » Sun Nov 08, 2020 5:37 am

drfrag wrote:That status bar looks screwed even in the latest version @16:9. And even the original iwad graphic looks stretched like always did with the default scale.

Reasonable. It is up to you guys to fix it or not, anyway. Just my minor thing I bothered with.
Trimint123
 
Joined: 05 Mar 2019
Discord: Trimint123#1987
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: [GZDoom] Retro HUD got stretched if over 16:9 ratio

Postby Yarn366 » Mon Nov 09, 2020 12:07 am

I've only tried the original graphic so far, but I can reproduce what I think is Trimint123's issue: If status bar scaling is set to "scale to fullscreen" and the screen aspect ratio is wider 16:9, then the status bar will be stretched like in Trimint123's 21:9 screenshot. The wider the aspect ratio is beyond 16:9, the more the status bar is stretched. So, this issue is not caused by a simple lack of aspect ratio correction; rather, it seems that in this scenario GZDoom lays out the status bar for 16:9 and then stretches that to "fit" the screen width.
Yarn366
 
Joined: 03 Mar 2018

Re: [GZDoom] Retro HUD got stretched if over 16:9 ratio

Postby drfrag » Mon Nov 09, 2020 3:52 am

Trimint123 wrote:Title said it all

It didn't. If i load that status bar it's screwed i can't get the same results as you. How am i supposed to reproduce the issue? My screen resolution is 1366x768 and it's broken with every scale option, the aspect ratio doesn't matter much if i can't get the graphic to display properly. How should i load the graphic then?
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666

Re: [GZDoom] Retro HUD got stretched if over 16:9 ratio

Postby Yarn366 » Mon Nov 09, 2020 4:55 am

drfrag wrote:
Trimint123 wrote:Title said it all

It didn't. If i load that status bar it's screwed i can't get the same results as you. How am i supposed to reproduce the issue? My screen resolution is 1366x768 and it's broken with every scale option, the aspect ratio doesn't matter much if i can't get the graphic to display properly. How should i load the graphic then?

If your problem is that the status bar is offset to the right, then make sure you are running GZDoom 4.5.0, which added support for widescreen status bars.
Yarn366
 
Joined: 03 Mar 2018

Re: [GZDoom] Retro HUD got stretched if over 16:9 ratio

Postby drfrag » Mon Nov 09, 2020 6:04 am

I'm just dragging and dropping the linked file over the executable, GZDoom 4.5.0. If i should load the status bar in a different way please tell me how.
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666

Re: [GZDoom] Retro HUD got stretched if over 16:9 ratio

Postby Yarn366 » Mon Nov 09, 2020 2:44 pm

drfrag wrote:I'm just dragging and dropping the linked file over the executable, GZDoom 4.5.0. If i should load the status bar in a different way please tell me how.

That method should work; at least it does for me. Are you using the full-resolution, 560x32 image, or are you instead using the scaled-down, 400x23 thumbnail (which will obviously look wrong in-game)? The linked post does have the full image, but you need to click the attachment first.
Yarn366
 
Joined: 03 Mar 2018

Re: [GZDoom] Retro HUD got stretched if over 16:9 ratio

Postby drfrag » Mon Nov 09, 2020 3:02 pm

Huh, somehow i downloaded the thumbnail. But for me it looks stretched even in 16:9, seems it depends on your screen resolution.
BTW the wide status bar also works in LZDoom setting fixunitystatusbar to true.
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666

Re: [GZDoom] Retro HUD got stretched if over 16:9 ratio

Postby Rachael » Mon Nov 09, 2020 3:08 pm

drfrag wrote:BTW the wide status bar also works in LZDoom setting fixunitystatusbar to true.

It's probably worth mentioning that setting is unconditionally true now in GZDoom, and the setting is even removed - any status bar that is offset (0,0) but is greater than 320 in width is automatically adjusted.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [GZDoom] Retro HUD got stretched if over 16:9 ratio

Postby drfrag » Mon Nov 09, 2020 3:35 pm

Of course i know, but i used a different method in LZDoom and i wasn't sure.
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666

Re: [GZDoom] Retro HUD got stretched if over 16:9 ratio

Postby Yarn366 » Mon Nov 09, 2020 6:47 pm

drfrag wrote:Huh, somehow i downloaded the thumbnail. But for me it looks stretched even in 16:9, seems it depends on your screen resolution.

Does it still look stretched if you enable HUD Options -> Scaling Options -> HUD preserves aspect ratio? If so, then try playing with a fresh config file, changing only that option and loading only a vanilla Doom IWAD and optionally that status bar. If the status bar still looks stretched, then it's possible your whole display is being stretched.
Yarn366
 
Joined: 03 Mar 2018

Re: [GZDoom] Retro HUD got stretched if over 16:9 ratio

Postby Trimint123 » Tue Nov 10, 2020 11:52 pm

Yarn366 wrote:The wider the aspect ratio is beyond 16:9, the more the status bar is stretched. So, this issue is not caused by a simple lack of aspect ratio correction; rather, it seems that in this scenario, GZDoom lays out the status bar for 16:9 and then stretches that to "fit" the screen width.

There you go. Thanks for confirmation.

Rachael wrote:It's probably worth mentioning that setting is unconditionally true now in GZDoom, and the setting is even removed - any status bar that is offset (0,0) but is greater than 320 in width is automatically adjusted.

Huh, I didn't know it'll automatically adjusted.
Trimint123
 
Joined: 05 Mar 2019
Discord: Trimint123#1987
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Next

Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Mikk- and 2 guests