Keyboard inconsistency in save game submenu (4.4.2)

Is there something that doesn't work right in the latest GZDoom? Post about it here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please construct and post a simple demo whenever possible for all bug reports. Please provide links to everything.

If you can include a wad demonstrating the problem, please do so. Bug reports that include fully-constructed demos have a much better chance of being investigated in a timely manner than those that don't.

Please make a new topic for every bug. Don't combine multiple bugs into a single topic. Thanks!

Keyboard inconsistency in save game submenu (4.4.2)

Postby Apeirogon » Wed Sep 09, 2020 4:51 am

Run Gzdoom, start a new game, save game.
As for the save game name press and hold any keyboard key for several seconds, "a" for example. Gzdoom would print several a in save game file name line, like "aaaaaaaaaaaaa".
Now press and hold backspace key.
Expected behavior: deleting of whole line of "aaaaaa", since backspace is hold.
Actual behavior: this action will delete only last inputted symbol.
User avatar
Apeirogon
I have a strange sense of humour
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2017

Re: Keyboard inconsistency in save game submenu (4.4.2)

Postby drfrag » Wed Sep 09, 2020 5:20 am

Obviously it's not a bug, writing something is not the same as deleting it so you need to be more careful.
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666

Re: Keyboard inconsistency in save game submenu (4.4.2)

Postby Rachael » Wed Sep 09, 2020 5:57 am

What do you mean not a bug? This looks like a bug to me, there's no "you need to be more careful" with text input, it either works properly or it doesn't.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Keyboard inconsistency in save game submenu (4.4.2)

Postby drfrag » Wed Sep 09, 2020 6:20 am

Oops. May be it's a bug then. But it's been always like that in ZDoom, users could make a mistake and want to delete only part of the name. It's very unlikely that someone types "aaaaaaaaaaaaa".
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666

Re: Keyboard inconsistency in save game submenu (4.4.2)

Postby Rachael » Wed Sep 09, 2020 6:26 am

I think a case definitely could be made that the autorepeat for backspace could be tuned down a bit, compared to the autorepeat for regular text input keys. So your understanding of the feature definitely has merit. But to turn it off entirely does seem a bit overkill, to me.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Keyboard inconsistency in save game submenu (4.4.2)

Postby drfrag » Wed Sep 09, 2020 6:58 am

I thought it was by design, randi knows, i haven't actually looked at the code AFAIR.
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666

Re: Keyboard inconsistency in save game submenu (4.4.2)

Postby Apeirogon » Thu Sep 10, 2020 11:02 am

drfrag wrote:It's very unlikely that someone types "aaaaaaaaaaaaa".

It was intentional, to show that Gzdoom know what the one expect from him with hold down key.
User avatar
Apeirogon
I have a strange sense of humour
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2017

Re: Keyboard inconsistency in save game submenu (4.4.2)

Postby _mental_ » Mon Sep 14, 2020 2:44 am

Menu input handling prohibits key repeating explicitly for everything that is not a printable character. Inconsistency or not, I wouldn't remove this condition just because I can do that.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011


Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest