[Fixed] Called from Bat.A_BatMove at gzdoom.pk3:actors/hexen/bats.zs

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Called from Bat.A_BatMove at gzdoom.pk3:actors/hexen/bats.zs

Postby ZDL_800 » Thu Aug 27, 2020 12:51 pm

Hello GZDoom community, hope everyone is well.

Really sorry for posting this, I have tried many times to fix this and failed for weeks now, I really need your help here please?

Its regarding Brutal Hexen, a strange CTD occurs when in the level 'Caves of Circe' there's an opening in a cave where an animation occurs with lots of bats flying out of a tunnel/cave, after the animation, it CTD with this error log?

VM execution aborted: tried to read from address zero.
Called from Bat.A_BatMove at gzdoom.pk3:actors/hexen/bats.zs line 118
Called from state Bat.0 in Bat

I've never seen an error like this before so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thankyou for your time and hope to speak soon.
User avatar
ZDL_800
 
Joined: 15 May 2019

Re: Called from Bat.A_BatMove at gzdoom.pk3:actors/hexen/bat

Postby _mental_ » Fri Aug 28, 2020 1:51 am

I'll try to explain why nobody wants to look at reports like this one.

  • Developer needs to search for Brutal Hexen. OK, it's here.
  • The mod is 580 MB in size uploaded to some shitty file sharing website. Also, it's packed with RAR which is already a bad sign by itself.
  • Developer needs to figure out what 'Caves of Circe' level is.
  • Developer needs to find out where that 'opening in a cave' is located. Map coordinates are for loosers.
  • All these actions are needed just to answer the question 'Does it crash or VM abort or both?'
Taking into account an overall performance of Debug build with large mods, I wouldn't expect to get quick response on this issue.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: Called from Bat.A_BatMove at gzdoom.pk3:actors/hexen/bat

Postby SanyaWaffles » Fri Aug 28, 2020 2:48 am

I get minimal examples are a pain (and boring) to construct but you really should try to give more to work with in these bug reports, as Mental said.

I constructed many minimal examples for bugs and it really does pay off to have them.

I encountered a bug the other day - one I couldn't figure out how to make a minimal example for. Try as I might, I couldn't figure out exactly what was causing it. So I stripped down my project of the music and told the devs exactly where and how to trigger it. (The mod was over 100MB in size, but without music it's more manageable, about 60MB). I also linked it directly in the thread as a courtesy.

I also uploaded these to Dropbox in a way that all you need to do is click the link to download it (no webpages to mess with and decent download speed). I also provided screenshots for the bug when applicable.

Minimal examples really help, no one really wants to download over half a gigabyte just to troubleshoot one thing. Especially when they don't know where and how to trigger that. If you need to know how to get map coordinates, there's console commands for that I think. Or you could take a screenshot of the automap and point to it. Some sort of visual cue.

Just giving you some advice, I notice your bug reports tend to leave a lot to be desired.

Just a guess it's probably a simple missing null check.
User avatar
SanyaWaffles
Navy Did Nothing Wrong
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2013
Location: Eastern Ohio
Discord: SanyaWaffles#5095
Twitch ID: sanyawaffles
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Called from Bat.A_BatMove at gzdoom.pk3:actors/hexen/bat

Postby Marisa Kirisame » Fri Aug 28, 2020 2:55 am

Something caused those bats to either spawn with no target, or have their target (the bat spawner actor) deleted somehow.

I'd try to get to the bottom of this but the file is taking almost an hour to download at a speed that made me have flashbacks to 2007, when I got my first internet connection.

I'll just blame the mod itself for now.
User avatar
Marisa Kirisame
ZScript Crimester
 
 
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: 霧雨魔理沙#1666
Twitch ID: magusmarisa
Github ID: OrdinaryMagician
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Called from Bat.A_BatMove at gzdoom.pk3:actors/hexen/bat

Postby Rachael » Fri Aug 28, 2020 3:04 am

_mental_ wrote:
  • The mod is 580 MB in size uploaded to some shitty file sharing website.

By this point alone that's reason enough not to even bother looking at this.

Please construct a minimal example. I'm not downloading half a gig for a mod.

Also - for what it's worth - Dropbox and Google Drive very rarely if ever get called "some shitty file sharing website" by anyone. That really helps a lot when you're sharing your mods.

Think of it this way: You're helping us, to help you.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Called from Bat.A_BatMove at gzdoom.pk3:actors/hexen/bat

Postby ZDL_800 » Fri Aug 28, 2020 10:00 am

Hello and thanks for the replies.

Someone stated it was a bug with GZDoom, so I didn't cutdown the mod.

Sorry about this, don't DL the mod if you don't want too, I understand. Please allow me to construct the mod only with an edited map level where you can spawn right in the cave. Should be around 20MB instead of 580MB.

Please forgive my stupidity.

Update here.

I'm still trying to find the exact cave, where these bats flew out of the tunnel? Sorry about this, soon as I find this tunnel, I can place the spawn location where it crashes out.

Thanks again
User avatar
ZDL_800
 
Joined: 15 May 2019

Re: Called from Bat.A_BatMove at gzdoom.pk3:actors/hexen/bat

Postby ZDL_800 » Thu Sep 17, 2020 1:43 am

Hello just an update here.

I played the entire level and cannot replicate the crash anymore? I'm in the exact area where the CTD occurs.

I edited the spawn positions, played the previous level, then to the caves, seems to now work?

The crash occurred in Coop online mode with a previous beta version.

I guess the magic of GZDoom has fixed the issue, absolutely brilliant stuff.

Thanks again.
User avatar
ZDL_800
 
Joined: 15 May 2019

Re: Called from Bat.A_BatMove at gzdoom.pk3:actors/hexen/bat

Postby Rachael » Thu Sep 17, 2020 6:05 am

Huh, it's fixed? It must've been one of the other issues that was recently fixed then. Wouldn't surprise me then, because there were a few crash fixes recently, and they could have affected this particular issue.

Thank you for getting back to us about that. If the problem ever returns please let us know.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support


Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests