4.4.2 Torch-Light Shader issue

Is there something that doesn't work right in the latest GZDoom? Post about it here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please construct and post a simple demo whenever possible for all bug reports. Please provide links to everything.

If you can include a wad demonstrating the problem, please do so. Bug reports that include fully-constructed demos have a much better chance of being investigated in a timely manner than those that don't.

Please make a new topic for every bug. Don't combine multiple bugs into a single topic. Thanks!

Re: 4.4.2 Torch-Light Shader issue

Postby drfrag » Tue Jul 14, 2020 4:40 am

There were 5 batch files alone. No you don't need to pay and i don't even have a bank account right now, i had to close it becouse they multiplied commissions x5.
This looks like a mod bug now:
Phineas Bribberway wrote:there also has been a recent change in the GZDoom lights.
GZDoom 4.2.1 and later versions take the interval value literally.
4.2.0 and earlier versions used a larger value by an error.
Now the torches pulsate 10 times per second instead of once every second
before.
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666

Re: 4.4.2 Torch-Light Shader issue

Postby ZDL_800 » Tue Jul 14, 2020 11:10 am

Thankyou very much for the replies.

That's it! You worked this out Defrag! It is indeed, the torches pulsates like x10, all I can describe is a strobe light effect.

I'm sure I can fix this now, the scripts need a - X10 value on all torches, so I believe its a simple division/10

Absolutely brilliant on the find!

Thanks again.
User avatar
ZDL_800
 
Joined: 15 May 2019

Re: 4.4.2 Torch-Light Shader issue

Postby drfrag » Tue Jul 14, 2020 12:26 pm

No, Phineas Bribberway found it. And it's drfrag. :)
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666

Re: 4.4.2 Torch-Light Shader issue

Postby Graf Zahl » Tue Jul 14, 2020 12:28 pm

Can you please post the offending code before I close this?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: 4.4.2 Torch-Light Shader issue

Postby drfrag » Wed Jul 15, 2020 4:02 pm

This?
Phineas Bribberway wrote:GLDEFS in mod's Brutal_Effects.pk3 has:

Code: Select allExpand view
pulselight WALLTORCH
{
color 1.0 0.3 0.0
size 49
secondarySize 60
interval 0.1
offset 0 82 0
}

object BrutalWallTorch
{
frame WTRH { light WALLTORCH }
}

User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666

Re: 4.4.2 Torch-Light Shader issue

Postby ZDL_800 » Thu Jul 16, 2020 8:18 am

Hello and please don't close this thread as we haven't 100% confirmed this bugfix yet.

So can I ask, are there any other light strings which are now x10?

Is it just the 'interval 0.1' which now needs to be 0.01?

Cannot expect users to know whats changed in GZDoom, its difficult to pinpoint the errors in the first place.

Also this bug been going off for over a year with no answer so do not close yet please.

Thanks again.
Last edited by ZDL_800 on Thu Jul 16, 2020 9:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
ZDL_800
 
Joined: 15 May 2019

Re: 4.4.2 Torch-Light Shader issue

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Jul 16, 2020 8:39 am

That's why I asked for sample code, I first need to check what goes wrong, but that requires a small and contained sample, not requiring to run all of Brutal Doom.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: 4.4.2 Torch-Light Shader issue

Postby ZDL_800 » Thu Jul 16, 2020 9:14 am

Hello Graf thanks for the reply.

I did try my best to cut down Diablo3D from 2GB, I failed many times breaking the game starting up.

The dev cut down a diagnostic version from 2GB to 280mb which now starts correctly, I'm so sorry that's theres still quite a few .pk3 files still.

Honestly the torches without fixing the shader would cause epilepsy.

I would like to say a big thankyou to the great Phineas Bribberway who discovered the error with the mods torches, you literally fixed Brutal Heretic and Diablo3D!

Thanks again.
User avatar
ZDL_800
 
Joined: 15 May 2019

Re: 4.4.2 Torch-Light Shader issue

Postby irontusk341 » Tue Jul 21, 2020 6:54 am

Thank you all for all your help, i hope the 280mb helped pinpoint the issue, i tried stripping the mod down to bare essentials, just enough for it to run what it needs without breaking it. At least we know what seems to cause the strobing effect.
User avatar
irontusk341
Main Author & Director of Diablo 3D: A Heretic mod based on the Diablo Games
 
Joined: 10 Oct 2017
Location: Mister Rogers Neighborhood, Pennsylvania
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Previous

Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest