[Fixed] [c1bb7de23] BFG IWADs don't load if 1.9 IWAD is in $PROGDIR

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

[c1bb7de23] BFG IWADs don't load if 1.9 IWAD is in $PROGDIR

Postby mjr4077au » Fri May 01, 2020 5:55 am

Sorry for the gumby title, the length limits in the subject are really annoying.

As compiled with MSVC 19.5, if I place a v1.9 doom.wad IWAD into the directory, but load the BFG doom.wad IWAD that's found from Steam, it won't load properly and errors when going to E1M1. The BFG IWAD works fine without the v1.9 IWAD being there, and the v1.9 IWAD works at all times.

EDIT: This also occurs under the same circumstances for the doom2.wad IWADs.

1.PNG
3.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by mjr4077au on Mon Jun 08, 2020 3:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
mjr4077au
 
Joined: 17 Jun 2019
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Discord: mjr4077au#1027
Github ID: mjr4077au
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [texture_rework] Load issues with BFG IWAD if 1.9 IWAD t

Postby Graf Zahl » Mon May 04, 2020 1:35 pm

How am I supposed to reproduce this? Using the BFG IWAD in my IWAD search path does not cause this type of glitch.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: [texture_rework] Load issues with BFG IWAD if 1.9 IWAD t

Postby mjr4077au » Mon May 04, 2020 4:30 pm

My situation here was the BFG IWAD was being found from Steam, but I had a 1.9 IWAD in my game directory. Having the 1.9 IWAD in my game directory caused the above to occur when trying to play the BFG IWAD.

The 1.9 IWAD played fine, and the BFG IWAD did as well when I removed the 1.9 IWAD from the game directory. Just having the BFG IWAD there won't cause the bug, it loads fine without the 1.9 IWAD.
User avatar
mjr4077au
 
Joined: 17 Jun 2019
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Discord: mjr4077au#1027
Github ID: mjr4077au
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [texture_rework] Load issues with BFG IWAD if 1.9 IWAD t

Postby _mental_ » Sun Jun 07, 2020 3:35 am

Please post a complete log. Lines after "W_Init: Init WADfiles." should help to figure out what's going on.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: [texture_rework] Load issues with BFG IWAD if 1.9 IWAD t

Postby Rachael » Sun Jun 07, 2020 4:41 am

mjr4077au wrote:Sorry for the gumby title, the length limits in the subject are really annoying.

Unfortunately the limit is set by phpBB, there's nothing I can do to change that.

Also, loading my copy of the BFG IWADs work fine. You should check your IWADs with one of these IWAD tools:

https://github.com/chungy/iwadverifier
https://github.com/Doom-Utils/iwad-patches
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [texture_rework] Load issues with BFG IWAD if 1.9 IWAD t

Postby mjr4077au » Sun Jun 07, 2020 7:51 am

I'm not at home to test until tomorrow but I have a strong feeling this commit would have fixed it: https://github.com/coelckers/gzdoom/com ... 207b0b9122

The WADs aren't corrupt, the BFG WADs play fine from my search path without the presence of 1.9 WADs in my GZDoom directory. You must test by having both 1.9 and BFG IWADs in your search path, not just one or the other.
User avatar
mjr4077au
 
Joined: 17 Jun 2019
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Discord: mjr4077au#1027
Github ID: mjr4077au
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [texture_rework] Load issues with BFG IWAD if 1.9 IWAD t

Postby mjr4077au » Mon Jun 08, 2020 1:12 am

This is definitely still an issue for me. I think I'm just going to have to go through the commits myself and find where it goes wrong for me as it's too obscure of an issue.
User avatar
mjr4077au
 
Joined: 17 Jun 2019
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Discord: mjr4077au#1027
Github ID: mjr4077au
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [texture_rework] Load issues with BFG IWAD if 1.9 IWAD t

Postby Graf Zahl » Mon Jun 08, 2020 1:34 am

Can't you just debug and check what goes wrong here?
Or as a first step post the entire startup log?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: [texture_rework] Load issues with BFG IWAD if 1.9 IWAD t

Postby mjr4077au » Mon Jun 08, 2020 1:46 am

Full log attached. This is opening up a doom.wad BFG Edition as found from my Steam directly, while containing a doom.wad 1.9 Edition in GZDoom's running directory. Log doesn't say too much.

Regarding debugging, because it's not fatally crashing how would I get a breakpoint to know where it's crashing?

EDIT: Just be 100% clear, it does this on a fresh config without any upscale packs etc. I can get a new log if you like?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
mjr4077au
 
Joined: 17 Jun 2019
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Discord: mjr4077au#1027
Github ID: mjr4077au
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [texture_rework] Load issues with BFG IWAD if 1.9 IWAD t

Postby Graf Zahl » Mon Jun 08, 2020 1:53 am

To me this looks like it opens the correct WAD directory but reads the content from a different file. No idea how this can happen, this is the same file handle that gets used here.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: [texture_rework] Load issues with BFG IWAD if 1.9 IWAD t

Postby mjr4077au » Mon Jun 08, 2020 1:57 am

Yeah that makes 100% sense. I was hoping that the patch you did to fix the SW menus might have helped here, thinking maybe there was some kind of 'doom.bfgedition' magic in the pk3 file that was getting skipped but alas not.

I'm going to keep going through the commits to try and isolate the one where the problem originates as that's about all I can do within my abilities.
User avatar
mjr4077au
 
Joined: 17 Jun 2019
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Discord: mjr4077au#1027
Github ID: mjr4077au
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [texture_rework] Load issues with BFG IWAD if 1.9 IWAD t

Postby mjr4077au » Mon Jun 08, 2020 2:53 am

c1bb7de23a is the straw that breaks the camel's back. Works fine at the commit beforehand.

Oh, and @Rachael if you happen to catch this, I wasn't pointing fingers at anyone regarding subject length limitations, more just having a rant. Understand that it's a product limitation :)
User avatar
mjr4077au
 
Joined: 17 Jun 2019
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Discord: mjr4077au#1027
Github ID: mjr4077au
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [c1bb7de23] BFG IWADs don't load if 1.9 IWAD is in $PROG

Postby Graf Zahl » Mon Jun 08, 2020 3:19 am

Ugh, that one was a huge commit that not only shuffled some code around but also renamed a few things globally.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: [c1bb7de23] BFG IWADs don't load if 1.9 IWAD is in $PROG

Postby Graf Zahl » Mon Jun 08, 2020 3:23 am

Ok, I can reproduce it when having two doom.wad files in the selector, at least some progress.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: [c1bb7de23] BFG IWADs don't load if 1.9 IWAD is in $PROG

Postby mjr4077au » Mon Jun 08, 2020 3:32 am

Yeah I saw the size of that monster and thought "shit he's going to hate this...". I wouldn't be surprised if it's a one-liner fix or something silly.

Glad it's been reproducable at least, I was starting to think that others might have thought I was on crack or something :D.
User avatar
mjr4077au
 
Joined: 17 Jun 2019
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Discord: mjr4077au#1027
Github ID: mjr4077au
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Next

Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests