Poisoncloud has infinite effect height

Is there something that doesn't work right in the latest GZDoom? Post about it here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please construct and post a simple demo whenever possible for all bug reports. Please provide links to everything.

If you can include a wad demonstrating the problem, please do so. Bug reports that include fully-constructed demos have a much better chance of being investigated in a timely manner than those that don't.

Please make a new topic for every bug. Don't combine multiple bugs into a single topic. Thanks!
Russell_P
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:15 pm
Location: South East England

Poisoncloud has infinite effect height

Post by Russell_P »

my first bug report, hope i'm doing this right.

Poison clouds seem to effect the player no matter how high they pass over them.

I'm using GZDoom 4.2.4 (from my ini...# This file was generated by GZDoom g4.2.4 on 2019-12-27 14:10:36#)

Here's a test wad for Doom2. I've included the cloud sprites and modifed the poison cloud to spawn a replacement on death.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3771
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: Poisoncloud has infinite effect height

Post by _mental_ »

That's because of OLDRADIUSDMG flag. I don't remember why it was added, there was some issue with "modern" damage radius code I guess.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 47968
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Poisoncloud has infinite effect height

Post by Graf Zahl »

The math in there doesn't work for the cloud. I've been thinking a few times that P_RadiusDamage really needs a third mode like OLDRADIUSDMG but with z-awareness and use that for the less strict compat flag.
Russell_P
Posts: 26
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:15 pm
Location: South East England

Re: Poisoncloud has infinite effect height

Post by Russell_P »

Ah yes, I did read something about OLDRADIUSDMG but clearly I was half asleep at the time. I've just created an actor inheriting from PoisonCloud but with -OLDRADIUSDMG and that seems to have done the trick. Thanks for the help guys.

Return to “Bugs”