Page 2 of 2

Re: Double quickload slot selection bug

Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 7:09 am
by drfrag
No idea of what's going on but you don't need to actually load a save twice first for it to work, just opening the menu with F9 and closing it is enough to make it work after loading just one save (now that it doesn't crash). :?

Re: Double quickload slot selection bug

Posted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 12:40 pm
by drfrag
It's fixed in LZDoom, but now the quicksave slot is selected using quicksave like in original Doom instead of quickload. :mrgreen:
However if you save in that session that first save slot will also be selected for quicksave, no big deal i think and by default it asks for confirmation.
The quicksave slot now must be selected explicitly.

https://github.com/drfrag666/gzdoom/com ... 0b983a16c6

Re: Double quickload slot selection bug

Posted: Wed Aug 14, 2019 4:36 am
by drfrag
No, now it still doesn't work. Sometimes it does but only when you delete a savegame right before selecting the slot. :mad:

Re: Double quickload slot selection bug

Posted: Wed Aug 14, 2019 6:41 am
by drfrag
It's working again, i've had to revert the second commit but as i've said no big deal. It's a very restrictive setup and now it works by pure luck. Could be a race condition, it only works well this way.
The following line is needed the first time:

Code: Select all

if (quickSaveSlot == nullptr || quickSaveSlot == (FSaveGameNode*)1 || forceQuicksave) quickSaveSlot = node;

Re: Double quickload slot selection bug

Posted: Fri Aug 16, 2019 10:48 am
by drfrag
Dear logbook...
Okay this time it's fixed for good. This house is clear. :lol:
With another global variable of course, you never can get enough of them. :mrgreen:
I think there was a race condition and it didn't work well on fast computers (not surprising since i found several while working on LE, for instance on very slow machines you had to select the video mode twice). Before the quicksave slot was selected either doing a regular savegame or using quickload, but the special marker only worked the second time (in FSavegameManager::DoSave).
Now the slot must be selected using quicksave only and the marker no longer works (the slot is selected in FSavegameManager::NotifyNewSave).
Note that these changes would also have fixed the crash.
The previous commit and this one:
https://github.com/drfrag666/gzdoom/com ... 72acda0307

Re: Double quickload slot selection bug

Posted: Tue Sep 10, 2019 10:22 am
by De-M-oN
Quicksave Rotation is a step forward but still doesnt do what I would like to have the most (which like most other shooters have)

Current Doom behavior:
F2 Save on slot 1
Now I press F6 and it overwrites slot 1, F9 loads slot 1
Until this point I'm happy.

Now imagine this situation: I survived a hard fight and due to low health I want to save on an else slot - slot 2, so that I can revert to before the hard fight just in case on slot 1.
So I press F2 to write on slot 2
Now I press F6 again and expect it to be saved on slot 2 - but it doesnt - it overwrites slot 1 :x

Its the vanilla behavior but its a very strange design

Why cant it just quicksave and load on the new selected F2 position???

But the rotation is certainly a huge step forward to workaround this problem.

Re: Double quickload slot selection bug

Posted: Wed Sep 18, 2019 1:11 pm
by drfrag
You need to select a different quicksave slot.
In LZDoom i changed how the old quicksave works and i introduced a savegame slot selection bug, but then i noticed there was already an ancient selection bug in ZDoom. When a new autosave is created that new save was not taken into account and the slot pointers were not updated so the previous slot was selected instead. Made a PR.

Re: Double quickload slot selection bug

Posted: Tue Oct 08, 2019 8:25 am
by De-M-oN
drfrag wrote:You need to select a different quicksave slot.
But how if by selecting an other slot with F2 doesnt work?
How to select an other slot without restarting the game??

Re: Double quickload slot selection bug

Posted: Tue Oct 08, 2019 8:47 am
by drfrag
Hey you got a point there :) . You can't right now. I don't like the idea of changing the quicksave slot all the time, obviously you may want to use a different slot for quicksaves and not the last saved slot.
Now we need to find a different way of selecting another slot. :)

Re: Double quickload slot selection bug

Posted: Tue Oct 08, 2019 10:19 am
by drfrag
Hey i didn't remember how it worked, it was a mess. In GZDoom you can't change the quicksave slot either. Do you think it's important? I could add a command to deselect it i guess.
Edit: my previous post actually made sense after reading again your old one. :)

Re: Double quickload slot selection bug

Posted: Tue Oct 08, 2019 5:31 pm
by De-M-oN
drfrag wrote:Do you think it's important?
For me it would be very helpful. I know it from other games like this too.

I gave my reason in a previous post and I dont see much sense of the current/vanilla doom behavior.
I mean - it isnt saved a seperate file either.

The current situation is this:
It is you can select a file to save with F2 and have with F6 a button to shortcut the menu procedure, while you cant update the save file slot without restarting the game, even if you select with F2 another slot.
The only case where I would see a sense in this would be if the quicksave save would be a seperate file.

But that you cant update the shortcut save button's assigned slot without having to restart the game feels very weird to me.

It was even more weird to me that the shortcut save button asks if I REALLY want to overwrite that file - which resulted in being F2 + Enter faster, than searching for F6 just to press enter as well.
All that was like this already in the vanilla game but always felt very weird to me.

Thanks for removing save confirmation. If it would now be possible that - like in other games - selecting an other F2 slot - also updates the shortcut (F6) Button slot with it - yes it would make a lot of sense to me and would be thankful for that ;-D
Same for the load game case.

Re: Double quickload slot selection bug

Posted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 3:23 am
by drfrag
The confirmation is an option and i did not change it (saveloadconfirmation CVAR).
If you "changed" the quicksave slot with F2 then there would be no quicksave slot.

Re: Double quickload slot selection bug

Posted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 8:10 am
by drfrag
I've added the 'quickunsetslot' command, later i'll upload another devbuild.

Re: Double quickload slot selection bug

Posted: Wed Oct 09, 2019 8:30 am
by De-M-oN
This can be doublebinded then to F2, right?
So that F2 unsets the slot and open save game menu in one step?