[Fixed] [SVE.WAD] Menu is not translated

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

[SVE.WAD] Menu is not translated

Postby Undead » Tue Jul 09, 2019 1:24 pm

Whatever language GZDoom is set to, if using SVE.WAD the menu interface with the game's BIGFONT does not get translated.

Image
User avatar
Undead
 
 
 
Joined: 26 Dec 2013
Location: Sweden

Re: [SVE.WAD] Menu is not translated

Postby _mental_ » Thu Jul 11, 2019 5:08 am

It's because sve.wad contains textures for item item. They are not considered IWAD content, and they are not replaced by default.
Set cl_gfxlocalization CVAR to 4, and the main menu will become localized.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: [SVE.WAD] Menu is not translated

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Jul 11, 2019 5:17 am

If those assets are duplicated it may make sense to filter them out in IWADINFO.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: [SVE.WAD] Menu is not translated

Postby _mental_ » Thu Jul 11, 2019 5:24 am

Those images are slightly modified versions of lumps from strife1.wad. Probably, it's still worth to filter them out.
Is proper localization more important than minor beautification of these menu items? I guess it is.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: [SVE.WAD] Menu is not translated

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Jul 11, 2019 7:08 am

Agreed.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: [SVE.WAD] Menu is not translated

Postby _mental_ » Thu Jul 11, 2019 8:24 am

In theory, this could be fixed by addition of the following line here.
Code: Select allExpand view
DeleteLumps = "M_NGAME"

Unfortunately, this doesn't work for a similar reason. DeleteLumps operates on IWADs only.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: [SVE.WAD] Menu is not translated

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Jul 11, 2019 8:25 am

Hm, I think the concept of IWAD needs to change a bit then...
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: [SVE.WAD] Menu is not translated

Postby Rachael » Thu Jul 11, 2019 8:30 am

_mental_ wrote:It's because sve.wad contains textures for item item. They are not considered IWAD content, and they are not replaced by default.
Set cl_gfxlocalization CVAR to 4, and the main menu will become localized.


Graf Zahl wrote:Hm, I think the concept of IWAD needs to change a bit then...


I am confused. I thought SVE.WAD is an IWAD? What happened that I am wrong?
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: [SVE.WAD] Menu is not translated

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Jul 11, 2019 8:40 am

SVE.wad requires Strife1.wad as a base.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: [SVE.WAD] Menu is not translated

Postby Rachael » Thu Jul 11, 2019 8:43 am

Oh, I see.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: [SVE.WAD] Menu is not translated

Postby Graf Zahl » Mon Jul 15, 2019 1:48 pm

Fixed. I changed the system so that it isn't limited to one IWAD anymore and the content from SVE is being treated as an IWAD as well.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany


Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: JPL and 0 guests