[Resolved] TXT_YES instead of "Yes" in my mod?

Is there something that doesn't work right in the latest GZDoom? Post about it here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please construct and post a simple demo whenever possible for all bug reports. Please provide links to everything.

If you can include a wad demonstrating the problem, please do so. Bug reports that include fully-constructed demos have a much better chance of being investigated in a timely manner than those that don't.

Please make a new topic for every bug. Don't combine multiple bugs into a single topic. Thanks!

[Resolved] TXT_YES instead of "Yes" in my mod?

Postby Glaice » Sun Apr 28, 2019 11:26 am

It's a weird thing for my RDND mod. In base 4.1.0, it's fine but loading Random Deaths & Decorations up shows TXT_YES instead of Yes for Yes/No prompts. And for the record, I do have a LANGUAGE lump inside the PK3 replacing multiple things.

What could I do to resolve my mod's issue?
Last edited by Glaice on Sun Apr 28, 2019 12:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Glaice
Maps of Chaos/RDND/DVV Overseer
 
Joined: 13 Mar 2009
Location: North Babylon, NY
Discord: Glaice#8512
Github ID: GlaiceOldSchoolRTS
Operating System: Windows Vista/7 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: TXT_YES instead of "Yes" in my mod?

Postby Enjay » Sun Apr 28, 2019 11:47 am

Glaice wrote:What could I do to resolve my mod's issue?

Adding a TXT_YES entry below your TXT_NO entry in your language lump seems to do it

Code: Select allExpand view
TXT_NO = "No!";
TXT_YES = "Yes.";


I don't know if you'll need to do it for all languages in the lump or not.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: TXT_YES instead of "Yes" in my mod?

Postby Glaice » Sun Apr 28, 2019 12:25 pm

It seemed lacking a TXT_YES in LANGUAGE caused this after copying it over, things were fine and dandy. Pretty strange but minor oversight if you ask me. I didn't really want to add it but I will so it won't look weird because of the mod.

This really could be a problem in older mods that change TXT_NO but not TXT_YES and vice versa.
User avatar
Glaice
Maps of Chaos/RDND/DVV Overseer
 
Joined: 13 Mar 2009
Location: North Babylon, NY
Discord: Glaice#8512
Github ID: GlaiceOldSchoolRTS
Operating System: Windows Vista/7 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: [Resolved] TXT_YES instead of "Yes" in my mod?

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun May 05, 2019 2:06 am

I haven't checked yet, but I think the problem comes from the Dutch TXT_YES in that file. I haven't thoroughly tested the text substitution with language lumps containing multiple languages yet so this may remove the original TXT_YES.

Regarding language codes in general, it is advisable to use two-letter codes, not 3-letter, otherwise it will not pick up on other language variations, unless you really have multiple variations of a language - the third letter is considered a wildcard with a two-letter code.

Moved to Bugs because this is clearly unintended behavior.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany


Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest