[Closed] DECALDEFS colors - does this even do anything?

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

DECALDEFS colors - does this even do anything?

Postby Nash » Mon Jan 21, 2019 12:39 am

Code: Select allExpand view
decal BloodSplat1
{
   pic "graphics/decals/bsplat1.png"
   colors "FF FF FF" "00 FF FF"
}


The decal doesn't get translated at all. Does this feature even work?

1) Load test file
2) bind mouse1 "spray bloodsplat1"
3) click mouse while standing in front of wall
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: DECALDEFS colors - does this even do anything?

Postby Nash » Thu May 02, 2019 3:53 pm

Sorry, I have to bump this because even though this thread was moved to the Bugs forum as requested, it was silently done so therefore it had no chance of being noticed.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: DECALDEFS colors - does this even do anything?

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun May 05, 2019 1:21 am

This looks like a dead feature. The generated translation doesn't seem to be used for anything. Looking at the changelog, the code seems to originate in 2001, and I'm sorry to say I don't have any idea what this was supposed to do.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: DECALDEFS colors - does this even do anything?

Postby Nash » Sat Feb 15, 2020 1:08 pm

Sorry for the bump. I'd like to make this feature work. So what exactly is missing? From what I understand, the translation data does get created, but nothing on the render side is using that data, am I right?

I took a look at HWDecal::DrawDecal and see this line:

Code: Select allExpand view

state
.SetMaterial(texCLAMP_XYdecal->Translation, -1);
 


Isn't this supposed to work?
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: DECALDEFS colors - does this even do anything?

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Feb 15, 2020 1:11 pm

Graf Zahl wrote: and I'm sorry to say I don't have any idea what this was supposed to do.


Wasn't this part clear enough?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: DECALDEFS colors - does this even do anything?

Postby Nash » Sat Feb 15, 2020 1:19 pm

I suppose I did not explain myself clearly. I'd like a way to draw blood decals that are opaque, but using the actor's blood colour as a translation instead. Will most likely have to end up creating a new DECALDEF keyword, probably just called OpaqueBlood or something. So what I am curious about is not actually the original 2001 feature - I honestly don't even care about that anymore. I am asking on how do I get translations on the decal to work render-side.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: DECALDEFS colors - does this even do anything?

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Feb 15, 2020 1:34 pm

I cannot help you with this "feature", because nothing of it exists. It's just a leftover definition with nothing backing it.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: DECALDEFS colors - does this even do anything?

Postby Gez » Mon Feb 17, 2020 6:47 am

I guess it was already dead in 2004. Nash, you should feel free to reuse the keyword and give it a purpose.

If I had to guess, I'd suppose the intent was to have the given colors be the two edges of a gradient that the decal would then match, kind of like how fonts work.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: DECALDEFS colors - does this even do anything?

Postby Nash » Mon Feb 17, 2020 11:57 am

Thanks for the info Gez. Yes, that was the other idea I had, to basically complete the feature - my guess was similar to yours with regards to the gradients.

That was why I made questions in this thread. As I said earlier, it appears that there is translation data being assigned to the objects being made so I am unsure why it isn't working.

It's quite confusing as the code is spread everywhere.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes


Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests