crash in FTraceInfo::TraceTraverse(?) near thin sector

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please don't bump threads here if you have a problem - it will often be forgotten about if you do. Instead, make a new thread here.
Post Reply
User avatar
JPL
 
 
Posts: 523
Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2012 12:27 pm
Contact:

crash in FTraceInfo::TraceTraverse(?) near thin sector

Post by JPL »

See the attached example pk3, just load up map01 and walk straight ahead. I'm using a custom LineTracer class and telling it to skip (return TRACE_Skip) when it hits a two-sided wall, and TRACE_Stop for pretty much anything else. This works fine for the vast majority of cases, but a situation I ran into in VESPERAS.WAD from the Master Levels (which the pk3's MAP01 is a massively stripped down version of) has this particular thin (4 units) sector that seems to cause a crash. I've played lots of other pwads with equally fine detailing without a problem.

Example code (same as in the PK3) follows. The gzdoom-crash.log file is included in the PK3 as well.
Spoiler:
Attachments
tracecrash.pk3
(18.1 KiB) Downloaded 32 times
User avatar
Marisa the Magician
Posts: 3886
Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:15 am
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): (btw I use) Arch
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Contact:

Re: crash in FTraceInfo::TraceTraverse(?) near thin sector

Post by Marisa the Magician »

Hmmm... somehow CurSector is null in the call to Trace.
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3812
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: crash in FTraceInfo::TraceTraverse(?) near thin sector

Post by _mental_ »

Added some checks to prevent the crash in this PR. It seems CurSector should never become nullptr.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49056
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: crash in FTraceInfo::TraceTraverse(?) near thin sector

Post by Graf Zahl »

If it avoids the crash it should be ok. If it is 100% correct I cannot really say. I've seen too many surprises with the Doom engine over the years where seemingly reasonable changes created the weirdest bugs.
Let's just merge it and see what happens.
Post Reply

Return to “Closed Bugs [GZDoom]”