Maps that need compatibility settings.

Is there something that doesn't work right in the latest GZDoom? Post about it here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please construct and post a simple demo whenever possible for all bug reports. Please provide links to everything.

If you can include a wad demonstrating the problem, please do so. Bug reports that include fully-constructed demos have a much better chance of being investigated in a timely manner than those that don't.

Please make a new topic for every bug. Don't combine multiple bugs into a single topic. Thanks!
User avatar
StroggVorbis
Posts: 861
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:23 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Germany

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Post by StroggVorbis »

MAP16 of DTS-T is supposed to end when the BossBrain is killed, but it doesn't anymore in newer versions. It was released in 2012 and I sadly don't know the version it stopped working.

Please move it to the Bugs subforum if it can't be fixed via compat settings.

Edit: Nevermind, just realized this topic already is in Bugs :P
Last edited by StroggVorbis on Wed Jul 24, 2019 4:11 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48377
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Post by Graf Zahl »

Please, ALWAYS provide a link to the map in question!
Topics like this tend to be pushed aside without one.
User avatar
StroggVorbis
Posts: 861
Joined: Wed Nov 08, 2017 4:23 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Germany

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Post by StroggVorbis »

_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3787
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Post by _mental_ »

This requires a proper fix, not just some compatibility settings. Here is PR.

In short, Exit_Normal(0) used to end the current level has some additional checks.
Before scriptification these conditions were not tested and the next map is always loaded.
I found no other way to replicated the same behavior but to expose new functions to ZScript.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13110
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Post by Rachael »

Why was this moved to Closed Bugs?

I'm moving this back and reopening it. I don't think it's meant to be a "closed" topic.
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3787
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Post by _mental_ »

This wouldn't happen if the bug with DTS-T MAP16 was reported in its own topic. It was fixed BTW.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13110
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Post by Rachael »

_mental_ wrote:This wouldn't happen if the bug with DTS-T MAP16 was reported in its own topic. It was fixed BTW.
Isn't this topic meant for map-specific bugs that require specific fixes like the one you put in? I don't get it.
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3787
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Post by _mental_ »

That bug wasn’t a compatibility issue but an engine bug caused by scriptification.
It just requires a very specific setup like with the given map.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13110
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Post by Rachael »

Thing is - DabbingSquidward isn't in a position where he should've been automatically expected to know that. I think he handled it correctly, given the tools at hand. But that's just me. /shrugs
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 48377
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Post by Graf Zahl »

Well, shit happens. It's an excusable mistake, and was easily undone once discovered.
User avatar
drfrag
Vintage GZDoom Developer
Posts: 3111
Joined: Fri Apr 23, 2004 3:51 am
Location: Spain

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Post by drfrag »

I would have created a new topic but i didn't due to a limited internet connection, i'm a poor guy you know.
Now this soluton doesn't work in the legacy build so i've created another topic here:
viewtopic.php?f=178&t=65087
User avatar
Xeotroid
Posts: 392
Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 7:44 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Czech Rep.

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Post by Xeotroid »

Janitor Adventure 3D MAP05 requires wall running to be set to off, otherwise the jump pad at X:8000 Y:3000 fails to properly propel the player into its target.
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3787
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Post by _mental_ »

Xeotroid wrote:Janitor Adventure 3D MAP05 requires wall running to be set to off, otherwise the jump pad at X:8000 Y:3000 fails to properly propel the player into its target.
Wall running disabled by default. Compatibility settings are needed when specific set of options are required.
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17689
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Post by Gez »

Something to investigate:

https://onemandoom.blogspot.com/2019/10 ... rfwad.html
Another big thing that might color your experience isn't Pablo's fault. He has the entire starting area kitted out with plenty of ethereal arrows, more than you will probably need. Due to where they are placed, though - in between the chapel benches and the wall - the player can't pick them up in ZDoom.
https://www.doomworld.com/idgames/level ... p-r/riverf

Four quivers in the starting room.
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3787
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Post by _mental_ »

Inability to grab those quivers is caused by differences between this and this. Notice less/greater vs. less-or-equal/greater-or-equal.
Top of an item is at the same height as a floor of sector from it can be picked up. Vanilla Heretic and GZDoom treat intersection player with item differently in this case.

If we don't plan to change the conditions in question (I believe we don't), the simplest solution is lower four sectors by one unit.

Return to “Bugs [GZDoom]”