Maps that need compatibility settings.

Is there something that doesn't work right in the latest GZDoom? Post about it here.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Please construct and post a simple demo whenever possible for all bug reports. Please provide links to everything.

If you can include a wad demonstrating the problem, please do so. Bug reports that include fully-constructed demos have a much better chance of being investigated in a timely manner than those that don't.

Please make a new topic for every bug. Don't combine multiple bugs into a single topic. Thanks!

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Mar 23, 2019 6:04 am

It would be much more helpful if you provided coordinates with your reports, then I could just use the 'warp' CCMD to have a look.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby Enjay » Sat Mar 23, 2019 6:26 am

And just for those who don't know, typing idmypos at the game screen will put your coordinates on screen.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Mar 23, 2019 7:02 am

The problems on Miasma and Sunlust MAP25 are the same thing which has been fixed.
I cannot reproduce the MAP30 issue. No matter what preset I use, on HNTR and UV there's always 117 dead monsters when the map starts and that's clearly all of them.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby Killer5 » Sat Mar 23, 2019 7:36 am

You need to play the map up to the room I mention in the bug location. I can make a video.

video of issue:
https://youtu.be/kVghd2nEDKw

Correct behavior:
Monsters should be dead upon arrival to that room. They are resurrected later after picking up the rocket launcher.

Sorry about the coordinates missing. I will add them on all further bug reports when applicable.
Killer5
 
Joined: 02 Dec 2018
Twitch ID: mrzzul

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby Player701 » Sat Mar 23, 2019 9:00 am

Unholy Realms MAP27 apparently contains some bad subsectors because I got monsters stuck below the floor in spots like these:



Here's a PR to add this map to the "rebuildnodes" list.
User avatar
Player701
You are now breathing manually.
 
Joined: 13 May 2009
Location: Russian Federation
Discord: Player701#8214

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Mar 23, 2019 9:27 am

Killer5 wrote:You need to play the map up to the room I mention in the bug location. I can make a video.

video of issue:
https://youtu.be/kVghd2nEDKw

Correct behavior:
Monsters should be dead upon arrival to that room. They are resurrected later after picking up the rocket launcher.

Sorry about the coordinates missing. I will add them on all further bug reports when applicable.


I have to admit that I am lost here. The entire VoodooScript setup is really bad and has an extreme dependency of side effects - and the map is too slow for debugging. And since it only occurs in a strict compatibility setting it's not really worth additional work. On any default setting it's fine and that's good enough for me.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby Killer5 » Sat Mar 23, 2019 9:50 am

No worries! And thanks for taking a look at the others. I will continue to report things as I find them. Enjoying the port!
Killer5
 
Joined: 02 Dec 2018
Twitch ID: mrzzul

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby Killer5 » Sat Apr 27, 2019 10:46 am

gzdoom version: 4.0.0, Windows modern, 64-bit
wad: magnolia map03
bug location (coords in screenshot): https://www.dropbox.com/s/nkwb9prondkoa ... g.png?dl=0
expected appearance (taken with prboom+ 2.5.1.5 -cl9): https://www.dropbox.com/s/3mge7bcqyd3ro ... e.png?dl=0

bug description: there are many textures displayed which are normally hidden
compatibility setting: boom (strict)
render mode: doom software renderer
Killer5
 
Joined: 02 Dec 2018
Twitch ID: mrzzul

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby _mental_ » Mon Apr 29, 2019 10:09 am

MAP01 of Darknation's Wacky Adventures in Impse or Dnwaii lacks certain walls with hardware renderer. All software renderers are fine.
Load with the following command line and turn to the left.

Code: Select allExpand view
-iwad doom2 -file dnwaii.zip +map map01 -nomonsters +warp 0 0

Screenshot_Doom_20190429_174859.jpg

Old OpenGL renderer from GZDoom 1.x was a bit better on the same spot.

Screenshot_Doom_20190429_180647.jpg
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby 3saster » Thu May 02, 2019 12:32 am

Hell Revealed, MAP23, there are four arachnotrons that are supposed to spawn in at the beginning after crossing the door. However, if imps block the spawn location when they are supposed to teleport, the arachnotrons will never spawn in (due to single-use teleports), and maxkills becomes impossible. This is easily fixed by making the teleport lines repeatable.
Code: Select allExpand view
         
case '16E621E46F87418F6F8DB71D68433AE0': // Hell Revealed MAP23
{
   // Arachnotrons near beginning sometimes don't spawn if imps block
   // their one-time teleport. Make these teleports repeatable to ensure
   // maxkills are always possible.
   SetLineFlags(2036, Line.ML_REPEAT_SPECIAL);
   SetLineFlags(2038, Line.ML_REPEAT_SPECIAL);
   SetLineFlags(2039, Line.ML_REPEAT_SPECIAL);
   SetLineFlags(2040, Line.ML_REPEAT_SPECIAL);
}
User avatar
3saster
 
Joined: 11 May 2018
Location: Canada

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby Hamilton Chonnerkack » Fri May 03, 2019 9:31 am

Map: Ancient Beliefs
https://www.doomworld.com/idgames/level ... -c/beliefs
Checksum: 75E2685CA8AB29108DBF1AC98C5450AC

Things 0, 2, 3, 4, 5, and 6 are not tagged for any playerclass or game mode, meaning they will never appear. This includes a Demon that acts as the trigger for escaping the starting error, so the map is effectively unplayable.

Zandronum seems to treat 'none' as 'all' for game mode tags, so it works there, in spite of this major oversight.
Hamilton Chonnerkack
 

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby Esther Cemmerlork » Fri Jun 14, 2019 8:04 pm

Doom2 MAP14:
chaingunner #170 (med/hard, x:1056, y:176, z:176)
sargeant #171 (easy, x:1056, y:176, z:176)

They are stuck on the SUPPORT3 pillar's edge. It's the rounded pillar on the right side of the first big door. This appears to happen even in ZDoom 2.0.90. Adding the following two lines into level_compatibility.zs somewhere among the other map14 fixes after line 639 seemed to be enough. But any value between x:1057-1068 should do.

SetThingXY(170, 1060, 176);
SetThingXY(171, 1060, 176);
Esther Cemmerlork
 

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby Rachael » Sat Jun 15, 2019 12:57 am

I can confirm that those, at least in PrBoom, are not stuck. So this is a ZDoom-specific problem and do think adding the proposed lines would be a good idea.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Jun 15, 2019 2:49 am

All it needs is compat_pointonline.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby Rachael » Sat Jun 15, 2019 3:57 am

Graf Zahl wrote:All it needs is compat_pointonline.

Done
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

PreviousNext

Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests