Maps that need compatibility settings.

Is there something that doesn't work right in the latest GZDoom? Post about it here.

Moderator: Developers

Forum rules
Please construct and post a simple demo whenever possible for all bug reports. Please provide links to everything.

If you can include a wad demonstrating the problem, please do so. Bug reports that include fully-constructed demos have a much better chance of being investigated in a timely manner than those that don't.

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Dec 01, 2018 2:01 am

GuyNamedErick wrote:Something to bring up, but what version of HACX.WAD was the MAP05 fix applied to? Playing the V1.2 IWAD has this when using the OpenGL renderer, unless there's some version or other WAD I don't know about. :?



I used the Hacx 1.2 IWAD I once downloaded, dated 10/10/2010 10:00pm, size 19.199.268 bytes (is that dating coincidence? There's a lot of tens in there...)
If yours is different, please extract the map and attach it here so I can compare.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby Rachael » Sat Dec 01, 2018 3:25 am

Graf Zahl wrote:(is that dating coincidence? There's a lot of tens in there...)

If Xaser was involved at that point, I really doubt it was a coincidence. But I could be wrong. ;)
User avatar
Rachael
QZDoom + Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby GuyNamedErick » Sat Dec 01, 2018 3:29 am

Graf Zahl wrote:I used the Hacx 1.2 IWAD I once downloaded, dated 10/10/2010 10:00pm, size 19.199.268 bytes (is that dating coincidence? There's a lot of tens in there...)
If yours is different, please extract the map and attach it here so I can compare.

I downloaded my copy from the Hacx website, the date of it is 21/10/2010, size 19,321,722 bytes. Seems like the V1.2 IWAD was updated some time after release, and this updated IWAD is on /idgames as well. The mapchecksum of MAP05 in the IWAD is '9BC9E12781903D7C2D5697A5E0AEFD6F'.
Attachments
hacx05.zip
(36.8 KiB) Downloaded 3 times
User avatar
GuyNamedErick
 
Joined: 05 Nov 2017
Location: Illinois, United States
Discord: Erick#5631
Twitch ID: guynamederick

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Dec 01, 2018 4:06 am

Thanks. That checksum is indeed different. Fortunately there were no changes to the critical parts of the map so the existing code can handle this one, too.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby GuyNamedErick » Sat Dec 08, 2018 4:17 pm

Perdition's Gate MAP32, last room where the real bottom floor and fake nukage floor isn't displaying properly with the OpenGL renderer. Some textures would pop in and out too. I kind of tried fix this myself, but this hack appears a bit messy with the second part of the room (real floor failed to render on software), the sectors that lower would end up rendering wrong anyhow.
Code: Select allExpand view
-iwad doom2 -file pg-raw.wad -nomonsters +map map32 +god +warp 8800 0
User avatar
GuyNamedErick
 
Joined: 05 Nov 2017
Location: Illinois, United States
Discord: Erick#5631
Twitch ID: guynamederick

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Dec 08, 2018 4:29 pm

I know. I have a fixed version of this map but the changes were quite extensive. I'll just have to find the time to build a handler for it.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby Player701 » Tue Dec 11, 2018 9:13 am

Plutonia 2 MAP25 has similar issues to Plutonia MAP32 (see here). The highlighted subsector is located within sector 268 but is erroneously associated with sector 328. As a result, monsters and even players can fall into an invisible "hole", ending up below the floor level. Providing a PR with the fix (forces node rebuilding). Thanks to Blue Shadow for reminding me to check this map.
User avatar
Player701
You are now breathing manually.
 
Joined: 13 May 2009
Location: Russian Federation
Discord: Player701#8214

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby m8f » Wed Dec 12, 2018 10:22 am

Not sure if this issue belongs to this topic.
The Darkening Episode 2, map 12 (toxicity). Happens both in idgames version and inside Compendium.
At some places on the map, you fall through the floor:
Spoiler:

The problem happens in prboom-plus too, so I'm not sure if it is fixable on engine side.
User avatar
m8f
the dreamer
 
 
 
Joined: 29 Dec 2017
Location: Siberia
Discord: m8f#0629

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby Rachael » Wed Dec 12, 2018 10:51 am

It might be fixable just by rebuilding the nodes.
User avatar
Rachael
QZDoom + Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby XxMiltenXx » Wed Dec 12, 2018 10:53 am

I did check the nodes in GZDoomBuilder, they are indeed a bit broken (some lines randomly going anywhere) and that might be the cause of that error. It appears more than that map are broken however. I will check the maps and make a list of what needs fixing.

Here's a list of the maps that need fixing:
Code: Select allExpand view
920F8D876ECD96D8C2A978FF1AB2B401 // Darken2.wad map01 - Nodes go out of bounds/beyond normal sector boundaries
CFEDB7FA89885E24856CAC9A2FB3CE58 // Darken2.wad map03 - GZDoomBuilder crashes when displaying Nodes
8E961FA7029761D5FAB3932C40F10CD2 // Darken2.wad map04 - Nodes go out of bounds/beyond normal sector boundaries
DEA5E9C6253FFF8FDB2D5E5BADE13A9D // Darken2.wad map06 - Nodes go out of bounds/beyond normal sector boundaries
0E72254C0C26F721333A1C56E3648D68 // Darken2.wad map07 - Nodes go out of bounds/beyond normal sector boundaries
1437B40F2D56DF82346366814E9729D9 // Darken2.wad map08 - Nodes go out of bounds/beyond normal sector boundaries
8B15F89E47E422780FBF2D6CDE3AA050 // Darken2.wad map09 - GZDoomBuilder crashes when displaying Nodes
5A2FD43D23B45191229E5C74E9398D36 // Darken2.wad map10 - Nodes go out of bounds/beyond normal sector boundaries
FA25A78B3DFD7CC44E9B10C7B78EADAE // Darken2.wad map11 - Nodes go out beyond normal sector boundaries
01592ACF001C534076556D9E1B5D85E7 // Darken2.wad map12 - Nodes go out of bounds/beyond normal sector boundaries
16A2ED2917A68B2FD8D264BE4D64EA09 // Darken2.wad map13 - Nodes go out of bounds/beyond normal sector boundaries
F5DA2AA0C7112E090167A6B2F6D4A079 // Darken2.wad map15 - Nodes go out beyond normal sector boundaries
A40A4472AB0FDBE2D55ADADA7D9005C8 // Darken2.wad map16 - Nodes go out of bounds/beyond normal sector boundaries
244701904E6B754A02842415AB183EBE // Darken2.wad map17 - Nodes go out beyond normal sector boundaries
661D3C9221114A1CD16674CBFF239DDF // Darken2.wad map19 - Nodes go out of bounds/beyond normal sector boundaries
1FB559C4C37CCE8C3883057C963952A8 // Darken2.wad map20 - Nodes go out beyond normal sector boundaries
D36E7D121F28F77A3780A5BD88425FB4 // Darken2.wad map21 - Nodes go out beyond normal sector boundaries
3253B280FB7A4A04284FE08A6D9F222D // Darken2.wad map22 - Nodes go out beyond normal sector boundaries
E0E5517B7928E88B88F6A5B77AC449DF // Darken2.wad map23 - Nodes go out of bounds/beyond normal sector boundaries
6DD76422593381E3234FA703C155C493 // Darken2.wad map24 - Nodes go out of bounds/beyond normal sector boundaries
{
   rebuildnodes
}


"Out of bound nodes":
Out of Bounds.jpg


Out of sector boundaries nodes":
OutOfSectorBounds.jpg
XxMiltenXx
 
Joined: 08 Jan 2014

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby Rachael » Wed Dec 12, 2018 11:13 am

Sweet, thanks. That makes it much easier to add the entries, rather than having to research it myself. :)

Are the checksums the same in Compendium? If not, we might have to ask Dynamo to rebuild the nodes, himself, with ZDBSP, for that entire set. I hesitate to do compatibility.txt entries for them because as he is not yet done with that mod, the checksums may yet change in the future.
User avatar
Rachael
QZDoom + Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby XxMiltenXx » Wed Dec 12, 2018 11:38 am

No, they are not the same. He seems to have rebuild the nodes already. Only MAP02 and MAP08 have those "Out of Bounds Nodes".

However, after checking I noticed that the error in MAP12 is something else:
BelowTheMap.jpg


The sector with the missing walls is where m8f was caught in. The surrounding sectors have a floor height of 32, the sector in the middle (number 604) has a floor height of -1024. So this is an error in the map itself, not with the nodes. A Compatibility flag should be added for that sector to raise it up.
Sector 148 (the 2nd position) has the same issue - Surrounding floor height is 112 however.

EDIT: It seems there's quite a list of affected sectors in that map...
I will make a list, just give me a bit to figure out the heights and add the code.
XxMiltenXx
 
Joined: 08 Jan 2014

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby m8f » Wed Dec 12, 2018 11:49 am

It seems that there is a lot of such sectors in map12. Some even have monsters inside. Probably I have to invest time into understanding Doom mapping.
User avatar
m8f
the dreamer
 
 
 
Joined: 29 Dec 2017
Location: Siberia
Discord: m8f#0629

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Dec 12, 2018 12:00 pm

These sectors are mainly for monster traps or lighting tricks. They go this deep that the bleeding floor totally covers it in the software renderer. 148, 149, 472 473 and 604, possibly more, are way too large for such a trick, though. This only works if the sector is narrower than the player or has some self-referencing linedefs of a higher sector inside.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby XxMiltenXx » Wed Dec 12, 2018 12:09 pm

Yeah, the sectors with monsters in them have proper tags so they can get raised. But apparently a lot of other sectors were affected by it. In some of those you can fall in, in some you can't because the sector is actually "broken" (e.g. Sector 1).

I am already adding the ZScript Compatibility code.

Should I fix those "broken" sectors as well?
Example:
BrokenSector.jpg


This sector (1) has those 4 lines while the 4 inner lines of it correspond to the sector on the out side (0)
Should I fix the inner lines so they belong to 1 instead? This way it wouldn't change how it looks visually.

This btw is also a sector you could fall in if it wasn't broken.
XxMiltenXx
 
Joined: 08 Jan 2014

PreviousNext

Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest