Maps that need compatibility settings.

Is there something that doesn't work right in the latest GZDoom? Post about it here.

Moderator: Developers

Forum rules
Please construct and post a simple demo whenever possible for all bug reports. Please provide links to everything.

If you can include a wad demonstrating the problem, please do so. Bug reports that include fully-constructed demos have a much better chance of being investigated in a timely manner than those that don't.

Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby Graf Zahl » Mon Apr 09, 2018 7:12 am

In this thread please report maps that need a compatibility setting to display properly.

Required information:

1. Link to the mod (also for 'well known' stuff, please! It's not fun to scan /idgames if you want to do a quick fix.)
2. Map that needs fixing.
3. Position in the map where the glitch can be clearly seen.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby _mental_ » Mon Apr 09, 2018 8:03 am

Suspended in Dusk, MAP01, floor under hanging crate
Code: Select allExpand view
-iwad doom2 -file sid.zip -nomonsters +map map01 "+warp -1450 1670"

Alien Vendetta, MAP01, deep slime pool
Code: Select allExpand view
-iwad doom2 -file av.zip -nomonsters +map map01 +warp 400 370 +god

EDIT: Kinsie mentioned MAP01 of Kama Sutra
Code: Select allExpand view
-iwad doom2 -file ksutra.zip -nomonsters +map map01 "+warp 1170 -120"
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Apr 13, 2018 2:24 pm

Alien Vendetta and Kama Sutra are done. But with Suspended in Dusk I have no idea how to alter those sectors that they don't glitch.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby _mental_ » Sat Apr 28, 2018 9:17 am

Since 77a4b9a there is a walkthrough blocker in Sin City 2 The Satan Complex.

Friendly marine (DeHackEd replacement of Wolfenstein SS) cannot proceed to exit switch because actor is cleared from MF2_MCROSS flag.
However line #5397 pushes monster only, so marine cannot "jump" to lower level.

To avoid changing of established behavior I propose to fix it via compatibility entry.
This was done in this PR. Comments and ideas are welcome.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby Gez » Sun Jul 08, 2018 6:54 pm

Very minor issue:

Deathking MAP41 has a warning message when loaded. This can confuse players. Specifically, line #1023 has its third and fourth parameters set to 64 and 7 respectively, possibly garbage value left from a different special having been tried first. The third parameter isn't a problem because there's no sector tagged 64 in that map anyway, but both could be cleared.

Speaking of Deathkings warning message, MAP47 has four unconnected right edges (lines #1511, #1515, #1528, and #1534). Looking into it with a map editor, #1511, #1512, #1513, #1514, and #1515 are flipped the wrong way, but they make polyobject container cells so it's not too much of a problem. #1528 and #1534 are actually correct, but they're next to wrong lines and so it's them that the check detects.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby Hexereticdoom » Wed Sep 05, 2018 7:30 pm

Hello, some time ago I got completely stuck at the exit of Map 13 of PCorf's Community Project, by an unknown reason the switch that had to trigger the explosion of the front view ocean cargo ship and therefore exiting the level (through a Romero Head bomb trap) didn't work at all. I tried it twice in two different gameplays and in both cases I haven't been able to get to Map 14 by the normal way... :?

It's a pity, because this is one of my all-time favourite megawads... Could you please check it and make a compatibility patch if necessary?

Thanks in advance! :)
User avatar
Hexereticdoom
Don't make me angry or I'll bite you! Heheheee...
 
Joined: 08 Aug 2013
Location: Spain

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby _mental_ » Thu Sep 06, 2018 3:04 am

Running GZDoom 3.5.1 with the following command line works for me
Code: Select allExpand view
-iwad doom2 -file pc_cp.zip +map map13 +god +warp 2770 1470

Pressing the switch near chaingunners triggered explosion every time I tried. Please check it again and provide a saved game if this will happen again.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: Maps that need compatibility settings.

Postby 3saster » Thu Sep 13, 2018 6:24 pm

Scythe 2, MAP17, Sector displays incorrectly in Hardware Mode (Left of player spawn). May be a bug in the implementation of the hardware renderer (does not occur in GLBoom+ or GZDoom 1.3.7).
Code: Select allExpand view
-iwad doom2 -file scythe2.zip -nomonsters +map map17 "+warp -4500 -1000" +vid_rendermode 4

Scythe 2, MAP24, Missing texture on staircase (Right of player spawn).
Code: Select allExpand view
-iwad doom2 -file scythe2.zip -nomonsters +map map24 "+warp 3000 -1000"


Both can be fixed by adding the following to the level_compatability.txt:
Code: Select allExpand view
         case '1C795660D2BA9FC93DA584C593FD1DA3': // Scythe 2 MAP17
         {
            // Texture displays incorrectly in hardware renderer
            SetVertex(2687, -4540, -1083); //Fixes bug with minimal effect on geometry
            break;
         }
         
         case '7483D7BDB8375358F12D146E1D63A85C': // Scythe 2 MAP24
         {
            // Missing texture
            TextureID adel_q62 = TexMan.CheckForTexture("ADEL_Q62", TexMan.Type_Wall);
            SetWallTextureID(7775, Line.front, Side.bottom, adel_q62);
            break;
         }
User avatar
3saster
 
Joined: 11 May 2018


Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests