[Not ZDoom] MIDI music won't start

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: Developers

MIDI music won't start

Postby Cyanide » Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:07 pm

I'm using the latest GZDoom x64 devbuild. I've just loaded CC4, and the music on Map01 doesn't play when I start the map. After a while the music starts, presumably at the time it would normally loop.
User avatar
Cyanide
 
Joined: 15 Feb 2013
Location: 6 ft. under

Re: MIDI music won't start

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:14 pm

Which MIDI device are you using?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: MIDI music won't start

Postby Cyanide » Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:16 pm

Microsoft GS Wavetable Synth
User avatar
Cyanide
 
Joined: 15 Feb 2013
Location: 6 ft. under

Re: MIDI music won't start

Postby Gez » Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:41 pm

Are you using Windows 10?
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: MIDI music won't start

Postby Cyanide » Sun Jan 14, 2018 5:43 pm

Gez wrote:Are you using Windows 10?

Yes.
User avatar
Cyanide
 
Joined: 15 Feb 2013
Location: 6 ft. under

Re: MIDI music won't start

Postby bowserknight » Sun Jan 14, 2018 6:02 pm

I also have a problem related to this I think. For me, since today, the Microsoft MIDI device doesn't even show up anymore. I didn't delete anything, didn't change anything in my settings or whatever. How can you get it back?

Also sorry, I don't know how to help with your problem.
bowserknight
 
Joined: 26 May 2010

Re: MIDI music won't start

Postby Gez » Sun Jan 14, 2018 6:20 pm

Microsoft messed up its MIDI driver in a recent Win10 update. My advice would be to use a different MIDI synth from now on. Nothing that can be done on our side.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: MIDI music won't start

Postby bowserknight » Sun Jan 14, 2018 6:43 pm

can you suggest any that sound like the Microsoft one? The ones I have sound really bad or don't work at all. EDIT: Well Fluidsynth seems the best out of all the options. Actually sounds pretty good.
Last edited by bowserknight on Sun Jan 14, 2018 6:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
bowserknight
 
Joined: 26 May 2010

Re: MIDI music won't start

Postby wildweasel » Sun Jan 14, 2018 6:45 pm

bowserknight wrote:can you suggest any that sound like the Microsoft one? The ones I have sound really bad or don't work at all.

You will be most interested in a soundfont based on the Roland SC-55 - Microsoft's GM set is also based on that.
User avatar
wildweasel
I love the smell of sourdough in the morning
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: avatar by kurashiki

Re: MIDI music won't start

Postby bowserknight » Sun Jan 14, 2018 6:53 pm

ok I downloaded it. Hopefully it's the correct file, it's called "Roland SC-55.sf2.sf2". Only 2 questions: where do I put it / what do I do with it? And why does it have two "sf2" in its name?
bowserknight
 
Joined: 26 May 2010

Re: MIDI music won't start

Postby Gez » Sun Jan 14, 2018 7:25 pm

bowserknight wrote:And why does it have two "sf2" in its name?

That's probably a mistake while renaming the file, induced by the Windows UI no doubt.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: MIDI music won't start

Postby Cacodemon345 » Sun Jan 14, 2018 10:35 pm

Gez wrote:Microsoft messed up its MIDI driver in a recent Win10 update. My advice would be to use a different MIDI synth from now on. Nothing that can be done on our side.

I kept a Roland Sound Canvas VA installed in my computer and used LoopMIDI/SAVIHost to make sure GZDoom can play MIDI.
Microsoft f***ed up with the MIDI driver for years since Windows Vista.
Cacodemon345
 
Joined: 22 Dec 2017


Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Semrush [Bot] and 0 guests