[Fixed] "Jumpy" weapon HUD sprites

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Re: "Jumpy" weapon HUD sprites

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Jul 16, 2016 1:22 pm

A_Raise/Lower still can change if they actually change the sprite/frame to decide whether to interpolate or not. For a one-state loop it should be safe by default.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: "Jumpy" weapon HUD sprites

Postby Xaser » Sat Jul 16, 2016 2:27 pm

Hmm, if "did the sprite/frame change?" is a thing we can check, a third mode to use for A_Raise/Lower is to only interpolate by default when the sprite's the same, then include both an "ALWAYSINTERPOLATE" and "NEVERINTERPOLATE" flag. That wouldn't really make sense for bobbing, though... for A_WeaponOffset, "maybe"? It'd certainly patch the reported issues.
User avatar
Xaser
anarchivist
 
 
 
Joined: 20 Jul 2003

Re: "Jumpy" weapon HUD sprites

Postby NeuralStunner » Sat Jul 16, 2016 3:37 pm

The list sounds good, other than a flag to switch it all off at once.

As far as the CVar, I've no qualms with it being mixed-mode: "Off", "On", "Bobbing Only"
User avatar
NeuralStunner
Cuddly but Packin'
 
 
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2009
Location: Indiana, USA
Discord: NeuralStunner#1293
Operating System: Windows Vista/7 64-bit

Re: "Jumpy" weapon HUD sprites

Postby Leonard2 » Sun Jul 17, 2016 7:22 am

And an "always" value please, I absolutely do not care myself for these random issues, I just don't want eye-tearing animations at all.
User avatar
Leonard2
 
Joined: 14 Aug 2012

Re: "Jumpy" weapon HUD sprites

Postby TerminusEst13 » Sun Jul 24, 2016 4:01 pm

Graf Zahl wrote:Again:

I am not a weapon mod designer, so I am not the most qualified person to resolve this issue. Unless you people give some feedback the only way to resolve this issue is to disable interpolation of the non-bobbing stuff.


One feature that I think would be good to be reminded of is one of the SetPlayerProperty values--specifically, PROP_INSTANTWEAPONSWITCH. It tends to be forgotten a lot, with the use of TNT1 AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAetc 0 A_Lower, but it's still a cute little function. :D

For determining whether a weapon should not be interpolated in swapping away and whether it should, it might be good to do a check for if this property is enabled on a player and, if so, do not interpolate the switching. And then encourage modders to make use of this function (which will go about as well as expected, but an out is still an out).
User avatar
TerminusEst13
I'm just a guy.
 
Joined: 09 Nov 2009
Twitch ID: TerminusEst13

Re: "Jumpy" weapon HUD sprites

Postby Xaser » Mon Jul 25, 2016 9:13 am

TerminusEst13 wrote:PROP_INSTANTWEAPONSWITCH... tends to be forgotten a lot

I "forget" it on purpose. The process of "set flag, do something, unset flag" is ugly and brittle, IMO, so I tend to avoid it when possible.

I'm not sure what you're proposing either re:PROP_INSTANTWEAPONSWITCH and interpolation behavior, unless you're talking about a hypothetical new flag.
User avatar
Xaser
anarchivist
 
 
 
Joined: 20 Jul 2003

Re: "Jumpy" weapon HUD sprites

Postby NeuralStunner » Mon Jul 25, 2016 9:18 am

I.E. "don't forget to skip interpolation if instant weapon switch is on".
User avatar
NeuralStunner
Cuddly but Packin'
 
 
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2009
Location: Indiana, USA
Discord: NeuralStunner#1293
Operating System: Windows Vista/7 64-bit

Re: "Jumpy" weapon HUD sprites

Postby TerminusEst13 » Mon Jul 25, 2016 1:37 pm

Yeah, NeuralStunner is right. Sorry, I wrote that when I'd just woken up, ahah.
User avatar
TerminusEst13
I'm just a guy.
 
Joined: 09 Nov 2009
Twitch ID: TerminusEst13

Re: "Jumpy" weapon HUD sprites

Postby Xaser » Mon Jul 25, 2016 2:58 pm

Oh heh, okay. Yeah, makes sense to disable it for that case.
User avatar
Xaser
anarchivist
 
 
 
Joined: 20 Jul 2003

Re: "Jumpy" weapon HUD sprites

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Dec 08, 2016 11:55 am

Changed it so that weapon interpolation must be explicitly set for A_WeaponOffset. Sorry, but no automatic solution will fix this.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: "Jumpy" weapon HUD sprites

Postby Leonard2 » Thu Dec 08, 2016 12:53 pm

I hope you didn't forget this.
User avatar
Leonard2
 
Joined: 14 Aug 2012

Re: "Jumpy" weapon HUD sprites

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Dec 08, 2016 12:58 pm

I changed the PSprite offset handling and I did it in the code that sets the offset, not in the renderer, so everything else should not be affected. The only difference to that is that you have to explicitly tell A_WeaponOffset that you want to interpolate if you do not use WOF_Add.

It's really the only way to make this work reliably.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Previous

Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot], Semrush [Bot] and 1 guest