this map/mod/wad requires opengl renderer

Is there something that doesn't work right in the latest GZDoom? Post about it here.

Moderator: Developers

Forum rules
Please construct and post a simple demo whenever possible for all bug reports. Please provide links to everything.

If you can include a wad demonstrating the problem, please do so. Bug reports that include fully-constructed demos have a much better chance of being investigated in a timely manner than those that don't.

this map/mod/wad requires opengl renderer

Postby Valken » Thu Aug 09, 2018 12:23 pm

Hi all, wasn't sure where to post this but the current builds of GZDoom 3.5.x nad 3.4.x have a bug or issue with some old wads where the OpenGL hardware renderer is NOT detected and stops the game from progressing.

Examples:

The City of The Damned Apocalypse:
https://www.doomworld.com/idgames/level ... /tcotd21me

DOOM 2: EVOLVED (Version 1.2 Doomworld Release)
https://www.doomworld.com/idgames/level ... f/d2evlv12

It works in older builds such as 2.x and it would be great to see a fix.
Valken
 
Joined: 08 Jun 2015

Re: this map/mod/wad requires opengl renderer

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Aug 09, 2018 12:38 pm

The bug or issue is with these mod which stupidly checked a CVAR that no longer exists - a method that was never sanctioned or encouraged by the engine developers.
Despite endless warnings towards modders not to implement such checks - some people JUST COULD NOT LISTEN.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: this map/mod/wad requires opengl renderer

Postby Gez » Thu Aug 09, 2018 12:40 pm

Type vid_renderer 1 in the console before starting a game and it should work; vid_renderer used to be the console variable used to choose whether OpenGL was used or not.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: this map/mod/wad requires opengl renderer

Postby Caligari87 » Thu Aug 09, 2018 1:09 pm

Could there be a compatibility setting for some of these well-known mods that do it, so they pass the check without needing to edit the mod?

e.g. "If running this mod, always tell it vid_renderer == 1"

8-)
User avatar
Caligari87
I'm just here for the community
User Accounts Assistant
 
Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Discord: Caligari87#3089

Re: this map/mod/wad requires opengl renderer

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Aug 09, 2018 1:27 pm

Sure.
Adding a line
CVAR(Bool, vid_renderer, 1, CVAR_NOSET)
will re-add the CVAR in non-modifiable form for such badly behaving mods.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: this map/mod/wad requires opengl renderer

Postby Rachael » Fri Aug 10, 2018 12:14 am

It might be necessary to introduce a compatibility setting which can flip that CVAR temporarily to 0, for mods like Ghoul's Forest 3 which forbade OpenGL usage. Although I think that particular mod was updated to remove said requirement, it's uncertain what others may be out there.
User avatar
Rachael
QZDoom + Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004

Re: this map/mod/wad requires opengl renderer

Postby Gez » Fri Aug 10, 2018 6:27 am

Didn't we discuss a compatibility feature that would fake a CVAR setting for known mods?
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: this map/mod/wad requires opengl renderer

Postby Rachael » Fri Aug 10, 2018 8:02 am

Well the system we have is the best. If we must have an internal CVAR definition for this, setting CVAR_NOSET on it is a really bad idea.
User avatar
Rachael
QZDoom + Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004

Re: this map/mod/wad requires opengl renderer

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Aug 10, 2018 8:13 am

We only need a CVAR if 1 is supposed to be the default.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: this map/mod/wad requires opengl renderer

Postby Cacodemon345 » Fri Aug 10, 2018 8:24 am

I agree with Racheal here. Making the CVAR unsettable will introduce problems because changing the renderer would only change vid_rendermode and not vid_renderer, causing issues because the CVAR has the CVAR_NOSET flag. In such case, only the engine code would perform changes on the CVAR depending on what renderer the user using, and the user won't be able to actually change the CVAR permanently.
Cacodemon345
 
Joined: 22 Dec 2017
Discord: Cacodemon345#9151

Re: this map/mod/wad requires opengl renderer

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Aug 10, 2018 8:37 am

There is no way this check can be sanitized. All that can be done is spoon-feed the correct value to mods checking it so that they do not abort or print useless messages. The live switch of the renderer makes it impossible to get sane results.
My guess is that the number of mods checking for 0 is extremely low (one to be precise?)
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: this map/mod/wad requires opengl renderer

Postby Rachael » Fri Aug 10, 2018 8:42 am

No one's asking for vid_renderer to represent the true state of the renderer, in any form whatsoever.

All I am saying is, I think vid_renderer should be changeable by the user, mostly on the count that we don't know how many mods out there check for it, nor do we know what they check for.

Something automatic would be helpful, yes, but ultimately nothing we create will be completely fool-proof as far as automatics go.
User avatar
Rachael
QZDoom + Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004

Re: this map/mod/wad requires opengl renderer

Postby drfrag » Fri Aug 10, 2018 8:51 am

What about setting vid_renderer to 1 for vid_rendermode 4 and 0 for the rest of them? At the same time allowing it to be set by users, it would be properly updated when rendermode changes again.
User avatar
drfrag
I.R developer, I.R smart
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain

Re: this map/mod/wad requires opengl renderer

Postby Rachael » Fri Aug 10, 2018 8:52 am

drfrag wrote:What about setting vid_renderer to 1 for vid_rendermode 4 and 0 for the rest of them? At the same time allowing it to be set by users, it would be properly updated when rendermode changes again.

No, I absolutely DO NOT WANT this!
User avatar
Rachael
QZDoom + Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004

Re: this map/mod/wad requires opengl renderer

Postby Cacodemon345 » Fri Aug 10, 2018 8:56 am

Then consider all chances of this problem being getting actually solved properly finished off, at least for me.
Cacodemon345
 
Joined: 22 Dec 2017
Discord: Cacodemon345#9151

Next

Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests