Automap and models

Is there something that doesn't work right in the latest GZDoom? Post about it here.

Moderators: Developers, ZDoom.org Team

Forum rules
Please, if you can include a wad demonstrating the problem, do so. Bug reports that include fully-constructed demos have a much better chance of being investigated in a timely manner than those that don't.

Automap and models

Postby Apeirogon » Mon Nov 13, 2017 4:41 pm

am_cheat 2 dont show actors that use model instead of sprite on automap.
Is it ok and iddt cheat can show only sprite actors?
Apeirogon
I have a strange sense of humour
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2017

Re: Automap and models

Postby Gutawer » Tue Nov 14, 2017 2:32 pm

All your models should have a sprite backing them up anyway (I've had issues where actors with a model and no sprites just can't be placed down in the editor). The cheat can only show sprite actors since its not drawing the map as a 3d space, but as a 2d space.
User avatar
Gutawer
 
 
 
Joined: 16 Apr 2016
Discord: Gutawer#3431

Re: Automap and models

Postby Nash » Tue Nov 14, 2017 11:46 pm

I wonder if it's possible to "render" the model offscreen (say from the front angle) and output that as a texture to be drawn as a sprite... :?:

(similar to the idea me, Rachael and dpJudas talked about on Discord once regarding a "dressing room" feature)
User avatar
Nash
Nash Muhandes [Audio Engineer | Game Designer | Scripting]
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: Automap and models

Postby Chris » Wed Nov 15, 2017 3:18 am

Would it be possible to render the model (and/or voxel) on the automap using the expected angle with orthographic projection?
User avatar
Chris
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003

Re: Automap and models

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Nov 15, 2017 3:34 am

The automap doesn't use a depth buffer so there will be some problems with such an approach because things may overlap in a non-trivial fashion (that is, unless you clear the depth buffer after each model render.)
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Automap and models

Postby Hypersonic » Thu Nov 16, 2017 11:55 am

It would be neat to have a separate 3D automap which uses the same 3D engine as when playing, just move the camera away from the player's eyes to way up in the air looking down like in Diablo, like Doom Builder visual mode.

Trying out the chase command with chase_dist 9999 it seems that it would work out fairly well, if only the camera could 'puncture' through the ceiling. Though vertical sprites are difficult to see, but just like the current map mode they could be drawn horizontally instead of vertically. Models would solve this problem. Orthographic projection would solve the problem of walls blocking the view of floors of adjacent sectors.
Last edited by Hypersonic on Thu Nov 16, 2017 2:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Hypersonic
 
Joined: 14 Aug 2017

Re: Automap and models

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Nov 16, 2017 12:00 pm

*just*... :?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany


Return to Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest