Zelda-inspired Fan Project

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Zelda-inspired Fan Project

Postby NeuroDusk » Fri Dec 03, 2021 12:47 am

This is initially intended for Zandronum 3.0.

This project has a goal of being optimized with variable horizons.

I am not an artist or map designer; any volunteering would be much obliged.

Here is a video containing the basic concept of the experiment:

NeuroDusk

Discord: Neurodusk#7353

Re: Zelda-inspired Fan Project

Postby Captain J » Sun Dec 05, 2021 3:04 am

Zelda mod, but in Third Person?? Now that's super accurate to the original! It's great to see that gameplay is smooth and weapons work nicely, too.
Captain J
That's Amoreee

Discord: DiscussJ#3128

Postby Cherno » Sun Dec 05, 2021 4:43 am

Looks and sounds great so far!

The problems I can foresee:
1. Sprites are either Y billboarded, which squishes them down slightly when viewed from a higher position, or not, which make them clip into walls in front of them.
2. Lack of 8-direction character sprites, although that one could be simply handwaved as being true to the original.
Cherno

Postby NeuroDusk » Sun Dec 05, 2021 11:43 pm

The camera and perspective are underway tweaking; billboarding (which is currently xy-forced), clipping and scaling are all existing issues.