Page 1 of 1

Cameraman Mod

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2021 12:26 pm
by borogk
Cameraman Mod



Download v1.0 here

GitHub page

Use it to create camera profiles, play them back in-engine and capture as clips for your videos or movies!

Possible use cases:
  • make trailers for Doom engine maps and mods
  • create machinima in Doom engine
  • capture Doom gameplay from 3rd person
  • other creative usages you may think of

I recommend to read the manual before trying, at least the Installation and Quick Start chapters.

The mod provides an alternative for setting up MovingCamera with waypoints - I'd argue it allows to experiment with different camera paths and angles more quickly.

Quick overview video:


Re: Cameraman Mod

PostPosted: Thu Sep 30, 2021 11:29 pm
by Doomguy914
While this is an awesome idea, the current instructions I followed on the github led to Powershell re-opening the file path repeatedly unless killed with task manager.

Without using a specific path, IE: .\editor.ps1 -iwad doom2 -warp 1, it works normally. You just have to input noclip2 and notarget manually. :?

Re: Cameraman Mod

PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2021 3:14 am
by borogk
Doomguy914 wrote:While this is an awesome idea, the current instructions I followed on the github led to Powershell re-opening the file path repeatedly unless killed with task manager.


This is odd, I specifically tested the script to be runnable from any directory. Could you please provide example command line, which breaks it?

Doomguy914 wrote:Without using a specific path, IE: .\editor.ps1 -iwad doom2 -warp 1, it works normally. You just have to input noclip2 and notarget manually. :?


When the scripts runs, can you check the full command line of running GZDoom process? You can check it with the Task Manager (may have to enable "Command line" column in Details tab).

Here's an example of what I'm getting
Code: Select allExpand view
"D:\Games\gzdoom\gzdoom.exe" +freelook 1 +noclip2 +notarget -file "D:\Games\doom\mods\cameraman-1.0\CameramanEditor.pk3" +logfile "D:\Games\doom\mods\cameraman-1.0\editor.log" -iwad doom2 -warp 1

Yours is supposed to be similar and contain +noclip2 +notarget arguments among other things.

Re: Cameraman Mod

PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2021 9:19 am
by strangelove
nice one ! really excellent :)

Re: Cameraman Mod

PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2021 11:21 am
by Kinsie
This looks great, I thoroughly approve.

Re: Cameraman Mod

PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2021 2:46 pm
by Doomguy914
I suspect user error on my end, but if this helps, here's the command line.


Re: Cameraman Mod

PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2021 3:49 pm
by borogk
Doomguy914 wrote:I suspect user error on my end, but if this helps, here's the command line.



Did you specify -iwad and -warp parameters when running the script? I don't see them in the resulting command line.
Without warping directly to a level, pre-activating +noclip2 and +notarget cheats won't have any effect, so that would explain why you had to enter them manually.

If you did specify those arguments, then maybe PowerShell script failed to pass through them somehow. That would be weird, never happened to me :?

Just a wild guess - try running the script from "Windows PowerShell prompt" and not the default "Command Prompt" (cmd.exe). Here's a working example on my side:

Re: Cameraman Mod

PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2021 5:01 pm
by Doomguy914
I was originally just typing the preview command line on the first github page and adding it to line 69 on the editor.psi file.



When I try to run the command in the actual command line below, I get this message:



So I'm guessing this is because of a setting I have enabled on my computer preventing it from running. But like I said as a work around, I can just run the editor.psi file without the starting parameters and add them manually once in game. :)

Re: Cameraman Mod

PostPosted: Fri Oct 01, 2021 5:39 pm
by borogk
Doomguy914 wrote:So I'm guessing this is because of a setting I have enabled on my computer preventing it from running. But like I said as a work around, I can just run the editor.psi file without the starting parameters and add them manually once in game. :)


This is a rather hacky workaround you have, no wonder it doesn't work well :)

As for the error you got - default Windows security settings disallow running random PowerShell scripts. You can fix this in two ways:

1. Allow PowerShell scripts to run for a session. Type this before running any scripts:
Code: Select allExpand view
Set-ExecutionPolicy Bypass -Scope Process

2. Permanently allow PowerShell scripts for all future sessions. For that start PowerShell prompt as administrator and type this:
Code: Select allExpand view
Set-ExecutionPolicy Bypass


After you do either of those 2 options, you should be fine! Just make sure you return editor.ps1 to the original form.

Thanks for revealing the problem! This info about Windows security settings will definitely go into the manual!

There's a reason it wasn't documented to begin with - when I was testing on my machines, I forgot my Windows computer had already security settings lifted. And on Linux version of PowerShell, security measures are disabled by default.

Re: Cameraman Mod

PostPosted: Sat Oct 02, 2021 4:52 am
by Doomguy914
Happy to help. Also your bypass method did the trick. :D

Re: Cameraman Mod

PostPosted: Sat Oct 02, 2021 7:12 am
by borogk
Doomguy914 wrote:Happy to help. Also your bypass method did the trick. :D

Glad to hear! The docs are updated now too.

Re: Cameraman Mod

PostPosted: Sun Oct 03, 2021 12:47 am
by Captain J
Clever idea, outstanding results! It looks way easier and less finicky to use than the existing Doom Builder one. I sense a potential of more animations made out of Doom engine. :D

Re: Cameraman Mod

PostPosted: Wed Oct 13, 2021 7:00 pm
by SyntherAugustus
I've always wondered if there was a way to get Duke3d style demos into Zdoom.

Re: Cameraman Mod

PostPosted: Mon Oct 18, 2021 10:55 am
by morb
Sweet mod!

I just made a few functionally equivalent bash scripts (for the *nix doom crowd out there) and sent a pull request on github

Feel free to reject if you've got other things planned :)

Cheers

Re: Cameraman Mod

PostPosted: Mon Oct 18, 2021 6:16 pm
by borogk
morb wrote:Sweet mod!

I just made a few functionally equivalent bash scripts (for the *nix doom crowd out there) and sent a pull request on github

Feel free to reject if you've got other things planned :)

Cheers


Whoa, thanks for the contribution! I figured somebody would want bash versions and here we go :) I'll have a closer look at your PR tomorrow.

Worth mentioning - *nix users already have an option of installing PowerShell, so these bash scripts would just duplicate the existing features. But having an option to not install PS seems to be a good enough reason to include them anyway.