Cries Of DOOM

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
Hidden Hands

Cries Of DOOM

Post by Hidden Hands »

CRIES OF DOOM

This is a side project I've been working on since 2016, a five episode PK3 for DOOM 2 which incorporates Hexen and Heretic assets. The game is to be an entirely new Doom game in the classic style with the exception of new monsters and dynamic lighting.

Episode 1: The Sea Gave Up The Dead
Episode 2: The Wicked Go Down
Episode 3: The Gnashing Of Teeth
Episode 4: In Darkness Be Drowned
Episode 5: The Sinful Path

This game wont be ready for a bit yet, but if you're interested in having
a play of it until release, this is a demo of episode 4, and will let you play the entire first level of that episode.

https://www.moddb.com/mods/cries-of-doo ... -doom-demo

Since this is a demo, just choose Episode 1 on startup (The Sea Gave Up The Dead) as in the demo it is listed as map01.

A preview of the level is seen in the video below.

UPDATE: 28-04-2021 FULL VIDEO OF E1M1

UPDATE: 2-05-2021 Teaser of E1M2
Attachments
ITLEPOLPLS.png
ITLEPOLPLS.png (57.79 KiB) Viewed 3803 times
Last edited by Hidden Hands on Sun May 02, 2021 3:39 pm, edited 3 times in total.
Lupo Solitari

Palettes

Post by Lupo Solitari »

I like the idea, the dark fantasy part of Doom is the one I always liked the most.
However, I can see the Doom and Hexen skins don't match too well - have you tried converting them to a single palette?
I know that's easier said than done, but I believe it might look somehow better. :winker:
Hidden Hands