[RELEASE] PSX DOOM / FINALDOOM / DOOM64 on Gzdoom [GEC] ME

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: [RELEASE] PSX DOOM / FINALDOOM / DOOM64 on Gzdoom [GEC]

Postby TDRR » Sat Sep 07, 2019 5:30 pm

bangstk wrote:For the next version, one thing you might consider doing is adding the PSXDOOM.PK3 / Final Doom / Doom 64 files as IWADS in gzdoom.pk3's iwad.txt file, that way you can choose which one to play just from running gzdoom.exe instead of dealing with batch files. They can even get separate config file sections in the same .ini.

The pk3s only need a handful of changes to run totally independent of DOOM2.WAD, in particular doom 64 needs a PLAYPAL lump and the border graphics. Everything else is just a couple console-only warnings about some missing menu graphics (which can just have invisible versions added)


And then you remember:
Image
User avatar
TDRR
Now in glorious HD
 
Joined: 11 Mar 2018
Location: Venezuela
Operating System: Windows Vista/7 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [RELEASE] PSX DOOM / FINALDOOM / DOOM64 on Gzdoom [GEC]

Postby TheMafla » Wed Oct 30, 2019 1:14 pm

I've played this for a while and it's great. Recreate the original games almost perfectly, but I have a question. How can I make maps for this port? either for PSX Doom or Doom 64.
User avatar
TheMafla
 
Joined: 20 Jun 2018
Discord: None
Twitch ID: None

Re: [RELEASE] PSX DOOM / FINALDOOM / DOOM64 on Gzdoom [GEC]

Postby Gerardo194 » Thu Feb 20, 2020 11:27 am

hikari47 wrote:Does anyone know why this mod keeps giving me "BlahblahMod.pk3 mapinfo.txt line 1: statscreen: unknown top level keyword" error every time?!

EDIT: Seems like this wasn't updated for GZDoom v4.2.0...

Glad to know you realized what was the problem, my friend.
Solus wrote:Hello!
I have a question: what's difference between this version and the ones on DooMWorld (PSXDooM) and ModDB (DooM 64)?

I don't know what you mean ... we haven't upload anything on ModDB... if you are referring to Retribution, well the difference is GREAT!!! Play them all and you will see it!!
Solus wrote:Hello!
SamVision wrote:PSXDoom of this version is more accurate to the original, much more accurate.

Thank you!!! Wait for more!!
bangstk wrote:For the next version, one thing you might consider doing is adding the PSXDOOM.PK3 / Final Doom / Doom 64 files as IWADS in gzdoom.pk3's iwad.txt file, that way you can choose which one to play just from running gzdoom.exe instead of dealing with batch files. They can even get separate config file sections in the same .ini.

The pk3s only need a handful of changes to run totally independent of DOOM2.WAD, in particular doom 64 needs a PLAYPAL lump and the border graphics. Everything else is just a couple console-only warnings about some missing menu graphics (which can just have invisible versions added)

Who knows?? maybe in the future...
TheMafla wrote:I've played this for a while and it's great. Recreate the original games almost perfectly, but I have a question. How can I make maps for this port? either for PSX Doom or Doom 64.

Tools for editing haven't been made public yet... But they will.
More is coming for PSXDoom and Doom64.
User avatar
Gerardo194
 
Joined: 05 Apr 2013
Location: Costa Rica

Re: [RELEASE] PSX DOOM / FINALDOOM / DOOM64 on Gzdoom [GEC]

Postby SamVision » Thu Feb 20, 2020 4:33 pm

I heard this project is being renamed and rebranded.
User avatar
SamVision
 
Joined: 13 Apr 2010
Location: Behind You

Re: [RELEASE] PSX DOOM / FINALDOOM / DOOM64 on Gzdoom [GEC]

Postby Redneckerz » Fri Feb 21, 2020 4:43 am

SamVision wrote:I heard this project is being renamed and rebranded.

The engine powering this is supposed to be called DZDoom, correct me if wrong.
User avatar
Redneckerz
A Doomer in H.A/R.M's way
 
Joined: 25 Nov 2019
Discord: Redneckerz#8399
Operating System: Windows Vista/7 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)

Re: [RELEASE] PSX DOOM / FINALDOOM / DOOM64 on Gzdoom [GEC]

Postby Gerardo194 » Fri Feb 21, 2020 12:38 pm

DZDoom (DarkZDoom) that's correct. This will happen when version 3 releases.
User avatar
Gerardo194
 
Joined: 05 Apr 2013
Location: Costa Rica

Previous

Return to TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DarkQuill and 2 guests