Total Chaos 1.0 Released! -- Retro Edition now available!

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: Total Chaos - Hotfix 0.97.1 Available!

Postby Metalworks41190 » Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:50 am

I'm using the standalone version right now and there's only one problem that I have. The text is really small on my TV and I cant find the HUD Options to fix this, is anyway to increase the size of the text without that option?
User avatar
Metalworks41190
 
Joined: 21 May 2013

Re: Total Chaos - Hotfix 0.97.1 Available!

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Nov 02, 2018 7:27 am

To play, just run the launcher!


Unfortunately that launcher just crashes on my system. What was this made with?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Total Chaos - Hotfix 0.97.1 Available!

Postby Rachael » Fri Nov 02, 2018 10:02 am

Metalworks41190 wrote:I'm using the standalone version right now and there's only one problem that I have. The text is really small on my TV and I cant find the HUD Options to fix this, is anyway to increase the size of the text without that option?

Try opening the console, and type in the command "uiscale 10"

If the scale is too big it will size it down until it fits anyhow.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle

Re: Total Chaos - Hotfix 0.97.1 Available!

Postby Zan » Fri Nov 02, 2018 12:04 pm

Stunning work, congrats on releasing this!
User avatar
Zan
 
Joined: 22 Oct 2016
Location: The depths of Hedon.

Re: Total Chaos - Hotfix 0.97.1 Available!

Postby Marisa Kirisame » Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:21 pm

Well, I've played through all of it (on an old gzdoom so I don't get that freeze bug) and I liked it. The only problem I have with it is that no zscript was used to make it. :P
User avatar
Marisa Kirisame
ZScript Magician
 
 
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: Marisa Kirisame#4689
Twitch ID: magusmarisa

Re: Total Chaos - Hotfix 0.97.1 Available!

Postby drfrag » Fri Nov 02, 2018 2:32 pm

The last official release is not an old GZDoom.
User avatar
drfrag
I.R developer, I.R smart
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain

Re: Total Chaos - Hotfix 0.97.1 Available!

Postby Marisa Kirisame » Fri Nov 02, 2018 3:19 pm

derp. I should have said "an old devbuild".
User avatar
Marisa Kirisame
ZScript Magician
 
 
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: Marisa Kirisame#4689
Twitch ID: magusmarisa

Re: Total Chaos - Hotfix 0.97.1 Available!

Postby ZikShadow » Fri Nov 02, 2018 9:53 pm

Made a small randomreplacer wad that goes through Doom's actors and replaces them with TC ones, might be good if you find a suitable Doom map that's perfect for TC.

https://www.mediafire.com/file/1dj92cx3 ... R.wad/file

Spoiler:


Playing through them, I find myself often getting stuck between numerous enemies with no way to fight them and unable to move past them as they gang up on me. Makes me wish for a shove mechanic or some way to push your enemies as you run/dodge past them.

I know it's probably for balancing, but it's unfortunate that there's no way to pour the vodkas or dirty water to get empty bottles without getting their effects.
Last edited by ZikShadow on Sat Nov 03, 2018 1:04 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
ZikShadow
 
Joined: 13 Jul 2016
Location: Could be the chair, the floor, or the bed.

Re: Total Chaos - Hotfix 0.97.1 Available!

Postby FolkSong » Sat Nov 03, 2018 12:16 am

Apologies if this has been discussed or is not wanted, but I thought I would try this mod in Fishbiter's VR fork of GZDOOM. I downloaded the pk3-only version and tried to load it, but it errors out. Log is here: https://pastebin.com/wCtCVmaK

Is there any chance this could work or is it a fool's errand?
FolkSong
 
Joined: 03 Nov 2018

Re: Total Chaos - Hotfix 0.97.1 Available!

Postby Michael65 » Sat Nov 03, 2018 9:25 pm

I noticed in the gameplay trailers that pickup items seem to have a yellow glowing effect around them, but I'm not seeing it for me in-game. I'm running on the non-standalone version through gzdoom.

Mod is fantastic btw
Michael65
 
Joined: 06 Mar 2013

Re: Total Chaos - Hotfix 0.97.1 Available!

Postby will183 » Sat Nov 03, 2018 9:30 pm

Can you only find the shotgun once?
will183
 
Joined: 29 Mar 2017
Location: The land down under

Re: Total Chaos - Hotfix 0.97.1 Available!

Postby Wad'a'Holic » Sun Nov 04, 2018 4:16 am

Graf Zahl wrote:
To play, just run the launcher!


Unfortunately that launcher just crashes on my system. What was this made with?


Put it together with Visual Studio 2015. Some people have managed to get it running when opened as administrator.

Michael65 wrote:I noticed in the gameplay trailers that pickup items seem to have a yellow glowing effect around them, but I'm not seeing it for me in-game. I'm running on the non-standalone version through gzdoom.

Mod is fantastic btw


Thank you 8-)
I've seen this happen on a few streams. Which version of GZDoom are you running?
User avatar
Wad'a'Holic
Chaos.... chaos everywhere
 
Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Location: New Zealand

Re: Total Chaos - Hotfix 0.97.1 Available!

Postby Wad'a'Holic » Sun Nov 04, 2018 4:19 am

will183 wrote:Can you only find the shotgun once?


There is another shotgun in chapter 4
User avatar
Wad'a'Holic
Chaos.... chaos everywhere
 
Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Location: New Zealand

Re: Total Chaos - Hotfix 0.97.1 Available!

Postby ZikShadow » Sun Nov 04, 2018 12:26 pm

Still some remnants of magic in the inventory systems of the hotfix. Picking up some dropped items results in their duplication. Had this happen to the lighter fluid, tried it out on the molotov and it indeed grew another. Not as insane as the ten million gallons of concrete and explosives sorcery, but still sorcery.

User avatar
ZikShadow
 
Joined: 13 Jul 2016
Location: Could be the chair, the floor, or the bed.

Re: Total Chaos - Hotfix 0.97.1 Available!

Postby pagb666 » Sun Nov 04, 2018 12:32 pm

Well, now that I've played through the whole thing... Superb job! I had one hell of a ride (except for the constant inventory management thing). Much better than most AAA crap. The Cacowards this year just get harder and harder to choose. Also very satisfied that you cared about the framerate, other mods just don't give a shit if they go down to 20fps.

Special mention for the sound design, it's creepy, uneasy and fits like a glove. I love it.

Spoiler:


I think I ran onto a glitch or triggered one unintentially, because by the end of the game I had like 12 dynamite sticks... And I can only recall picking like 3 or so.

EDIT:
ZikShadow wrote:Still some remnants of magic in the inventory systems of the hotfix. Picking up some dropped items results in their duplication. Had this happen to the lighter fluid, tried it out on the molotov and it indeed grew another. Not as insane as the ten million gallons of concrete and explosives sorcery, but still sorcery

Ok, it was that xD
pagb666
 
Joined: 23 Jan 2013

PreviousNext

Return to TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests