Total Chaos 1.0 Released! -- Retro Edition now available!

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: Total Chaos - Out Now!

Postby Wad'a'Holic » Wed Oct 31, 2018 1:46 am

Amuscaria wrote:Thoroughly impressed with the atmosphere and ambiance; the sound effects are especially nice. I'm especially impressed that this is made in GZDoom. Combats is a bit stiff, but functional, and the horror elements are fantastic. Was a bit slow in the first level/act, but picks up quite nicely in the second.

The most frustration I had is with the inventory - mainly the keys. I've gotten to the second act, and I found sorting the keys especially difficult. They all look the same, and I think they stay in your inventory after being used. I'm really not sure if I have a key for a door or not, since their descriptions are pretty vague. The second complaint I have is with the navigation. The steel doors that teleports you to a different room look the same and have no indication if they are locked, just for decoration, or is actually the path forward. I have the same problem with the caged doors. Some open, some do nothing, some says it's locked but doesn't state if I can go into them with a key or not.

Found a possible oversight in the second act, at the door that houses the shotgun. The switch doesn't seem to have a locked cage over it, like the first act, but says it requires a key anyway. (See Screenshot)

Haven't progressed far enough to give this a proper review due to school. Will test more when free-time allows. Fantastic work on this mod. :)


Cheers for the feedback!

I agree with the keys, there is no reason for single use keys to linger in the inventory after use. I'll get this fixed up for the next update.
With the doors, ones that can be used/not used have a different texture, although the effect is probably too subtle to make any meaningful difference. Shouldn't be too hard for me to make them a bit more clear.
Good find with the door switch, will get that fixed up too!
User avatar
Wad'a'Holic
Chaos.... chaos everywhere
 
Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Location: New Zealand

Re: Total Chaos - Out Now!

Postby fakemai » Wed Oct 31, 2018 2:28 am

I'm utterly blindsided by the fact this actually seems to be playable on my system, so I'm absolutely going to give it a play tonight. Regarding the download size, it might be advisable to separate out the graphics and sound stuff into a separate PK3 like Doom4Doom does, so when it comes to fixing things users don't have to re-download the whole thing.

EDIT: Actually you did that already. Ignore that.
User avatar
fakemai
 
Joined: 12 Feb 2018
Location: Australia

Re: Total Chaos - Out Now!

Postby gramps » Wed Oct 31, 2018 3:11 am

Just started playing through it, looks amazing so far.

One small issue though, it only runs smoothly on this laptop at an embarrassingly low resolution. Is there any chance of bumping some of the font sizes up a tiny bit so everything reads at, say, 640x480?
gramps
 
Joined: 18 Oct 2018

Re: Total Chaos - Out Now!

Postby Batandy » Wed Oct 31, 2018 6:28 am

I'm trying it right now, i can see the improvement from the last beta you posted, and i'm glad you added all these sweet PBR materials :)
Gameplay is also really interesting, it kinda feels like Stalker meets Resident Evil/Silent Hill.
As a quick note, i think the default FOV might be a bit too high? But i guess that's just a personal preference.
Cheers!
User avatar
Batandy
"If it's not fun, why bother?"
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2011

Re: Total Chaos - Out Now!

Postby merlin86 » Wed Oct 31, 2018 6:45 am

I'm playing right now.
The game is pretty amazing graphic and story wise.
I hope to see more from you, even if l should pay money.
User avatar
merlin86
Somewhere between supercazzola and quintana
 
Joined: 29 Jan 2008

Re: Total Chaos - Out Now!

Postby LOZ_98 » Wed Oct 31, 2018 6:57 am

Awesome work, and Congratulations for the Release!
LOZ_98
Custom Title
 
Joined: 22 Mar 2018

Re: Total Chaos - Out Now!

Postby ZikShadow » Wed Oct 31, 2018 8:28 am

Fantastic mod so far, the ambience and the horror are some pretty good stuff. There are some major lags, but I don't quite know if its the mod, the engine, or my system being weak.
However, there is an actual bug that I found playing the mod.

Switching back and forth from slots would increase the quantity of the equipment switched, it's one thing with the weapons, but when throwables are involved it pretty much turns into an infinite ammo exploit.

\

Some of the way the inventory stack works also boggle my mind, with some items allowing for stacking while others of similar size doesn't.
User avatar
ZikShadow
 
Joined: 13 Jul 2016
Location: Could be the chair, the floor, or the bed.

Re: Total Chaos - Out Now!

Postby Captain J » Wed Oct 31, 2018 12:45 pm

Realistic Graphics really goes well with the ZDoom engine, even though it's aged a lot. This TC is one darn good example. Excellent work!
User avatar
Captain J
'OH YE'
 
 
 
Joined: 02 Oct 2012
Location: Secret Chamber
Discord: DiscussJ#3128

Re: Total Chaos - Out Now!

Postby WallyTheBoogieBug » Wed Oct 31, 2018 3:05 pm

Love the game, been following for years and so glad it's finally out. Incredible work all-around. It's one of the first Doom mods where I truly lose any feeling that this has been made in the GZDoom engine.

I have found two major grievances though:

Can you not combine stacks? The auto-sort doesn't do it, clicking one stack on another stack doesnt do it... It's very easy to get your inventory cluttered with stacks of identical items, so much so I just drop stacks that are running low to save the space. At the very least I feel like the auto-sort button should be able to combine them.

My other major grievance is regarding the crafting. The crafting system will detect the first recipe it sees like you expect, but if you try to add more items on the grid than necessary for that recipe, and then craft the item, all the additional non-necessary items will be consumed and not returned to your inventory. I made this mistake as I was using the mobile cooker, I was mistakenly thinking I could place multiple pieces of the same item onto the grid to cook them all at once but all of my additional food was destroyed. It should at least return the items not necessary for the recipe back to the player's inventory.
User avatar
WallyTheBoogieBug
 
Joined: 22 Apr 2012

Re: Total Chaos - Out Now!

Postby Wad'a'Holic » Thu Nov 01, 2018 4:47 am

WallyTheBoogieBug wrote:Love the game, been following for years and so glad it's finally out. Incredible work all-around. It's one of the first Doom mods where I truly lose any feeling that this has been made in the GZDoom engine.

I have found two major grievances though:

Can you not combine stacks? The auto-sort doesn't do it, clicking one stack on another stack doesnt do it... It's very easy to get your inventory cluttered with stacks of identical items, so much so I just drop stacks that are running low to save the space. At the very least I feel like the auto-sort button should be able to combine them.

My other major grievance is regarding the crafting. The crafting system will detect the first recipe it sees like you expect, but if you try to add more items on the grid than necessary for that recipe, and then craft the item, all the additional non-necessary items will be consumed and not returned to your inventory. I made this mistake as I was using the mobile cooker, I was mistakenly thinking I could place multiple pieces of the same item onto the grid to cook them all at once but all of my additional food was destroyed. It should at least return the items not necessary for the recipe back to the player's inventory.


Cheers! Glad to hear your loving it.
Fixed up the grievance with the craft window. Good find!
Proper item stacking will hopefully be in next weeks update, along with a bunch of other quality of life changes.

ZikShadow wrote:Fantastic mod so far, the ambience and the horror are some pretty good stuff. There are some major lags, but I don't quite know if its the mod, the engine, or my system being weak.
However, there is an actual bug that I found playing the mod.

Switching back and forth from slots would increase the quantity of the equipment switched, it's one thing with the weapons, but when throwables are involved it pretty much turns into an infinite ammo exploit.

\

Some of the way the inventory stack works also boggle my mind, with some items allowing for stacking while others of similar size doesn't.


This one was nasty. Fixed it up in the latest hotfix too. Good find! Don't know how that one slipped through the cracks.
User avatar
Wad'a'Holic
Chaos.... chaos everywhere
 
Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Location: New Zealand

Re: Total Chaos - Hotfix 0.97.1 Available!

Postby Marisa Kirisame » Thu Nov 01, 2018 6:13 am

Sometimes while hovering over items in the inventory, gzdoom will suddenly freeze. This happens completely at random and it's very rare, but still really annoying.
User avatar
Marisa Kirisame
ZScript Magician
 
 
 
Joined: 08 Feb 2008
Location: Vigo, Galicia
Discord: Marisa Kirisame#4689
Twitch ID: magusmarisa

Re: Total Chaos - Hotfix 0.97.1 Available!

Postby will183 » Thu Nov 01, 2018 3:13 pm

Unable to load shader env:
Init Shader 'env':
Fragment shader:
0(12) : error C1503: undefined variable "texture7"

Linking:
Fragment info
-------------
0(12) : error C1503: undefined variable "texture7"
(0) : error C2003: incompatible options for link
Any ideas whats causing it?
will183
 
Joined: 29 Mar 2017
Location: The land down under

Re: Total Chaos - Hotfix 0.97.1 Available!

Postby Smashhacker » Thu Nov 01, 2018 5:03 pm

will183 wrote:Unable to load shader env:
Init Shader 'env':
Fragment shader:
0(12) : error C1503: undefined variable "texture7"

Linking:
Fragment info
-------------
0(12) : error C1503: undefined variable "texture7"
(0) : error C2003: incompatible options for link
Any ideas whats causing it?


I'm having the same exact issues as well.
Smashhacker
 
Joined: 31 May 2016

Re: Total Chaos - Hotfix 0.97.1 Available!

Postby Wad'a'Holic » Thu Nov 01, 2018 5:24 pm

Smashhacker wrote:
will183 wrote:Unable to load shader env:
Init Shader 'env':
Fragment shader:
0(12) : error C1503: undefined variable "texture7"

Linking:
Fragment info
-------------
0(12) : error C1503: undefined variable "texture7"
(0) : error C2003: incompatible options for link
Any ideas whats causing it?


I'm having the same exact issues as well.


Drag just the totalchaos.pk3 file onto GZDoom. It will load the rest automagically
User avatar
Wad'a'Holic
Chaos.... chaos everywhere
 
Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Location: New Zealand

Re: Total Chaos - Hotfix 0.97.1 Available!

Postby TDG » Thu Nov 01, 2018 6:34 pm

I forgot to post this but I wanted to thank you for uploading a complete packaged version of Total Chaos.
I tried to run the first downloadable package on a version of GZdoom but a file was missing making the program shut down.
Fortunate I did not have the same issue with your complete RAR file.

I hope to have seem feedback for you soon but visually it looks very impressive.
User avatar
TDG
 
Joined: 19 Jun 2016
Location: The Netherlands

PreviousNext

Return to TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: armymen12002003, Google Adsense [Bot] and 10 guests