Total Chaos 1.0 Released! -- Retro Edition now available!

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: Total Chaos 1.0 Released!

Postby thedeathrunner123 » Sun Dec 09, 2018 10:47 am

what mods can this be run with?
User avatar
thedeathrunner123
Slowly seeping into the never ending depths of despair and insanity.
 
Joined: 18 May 2018
Location: Somewhere in my twisted minds reality
Discord: Runner#1366
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: Total Chaos 1.0 Released!

Postby ZikShadow » Mon Dec 10, 2018 7:44 am



Went through NG+, just finished it a few minutes ago. Here's my thoughts on the updates:

Spoiler:
Last edited by ZikShadow on Mon Dec 10, 2018 3:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
ZikShadow
 
Joined: 13 Jul 2016
Location: Could be the chair, the floor, or the bed.

Re: Total Chaos 1.0 Released!

Postby wildweasel » Mon Dec 10, 2018 9:39 am

thedeathrunner123 wrote:what mods can this be run with?

Itself.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Total Chaos 1.0 Released!

Postby Tormentor667 » Tue Dec 11, 2018 3:19 pm

Wad'a'Holic wrote:Download Total Chaos at ModDB (Standalone version, UPDATE 1.00.0)
Comes bundled with GZDoom. No doom2.wad requirement.

Is there a mod version somewhere or what do I need to launch if I want the standalone to be a mod?
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Total Chaos 1.0 Released!

Postby Wad'a'Holic » Wed Dec 12, 2018 4:19 am

Tormentor667 wrote:
Wad'a'Holic wrote:Download Total Chaos at ModDB (Standalone version, UPDATE 1.00.0)
Comes bundled with GZDoom. No doom2.wad requirement.

Is there a mod version somewhere or what do I need to launch if I want the standalone to be a mod?


If you download the standalone version, take out the totalchaos.pk3 file under gamedata\ and use that to run the mod separately from the standalone launcher.
User avatar
Wad'a'Holic
Chaos.... chaos everywhere
 
Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Location: New Zealand

Re: Total Chaos 1.0 Released!

Postby Gourry » Mon Dec 17, 2018 4:21 am

Would it be possible to have the pistol clips stack? They take up a bit of space in the inventory.
Gourry
 
Joined: 05 Dec 2017

Re: Total Chaos 1.0 Released!

Postby Tormentor667 » Mon Dec 17, 2018 3:30 pm

Thanks kindly :)
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Total Chaos 1.0 Released!

Postby Cherno » Mon Dec 17, 2018 4:25 pm

I wonder, would you be willing to write a short tutorial on how to achieve the smooth model movement and rotation that can be seen in your TC? I am having trouble getting a system like this to work.
User avatar
Cherno
 
Joined: 06 Dec 2016

Re: Total Chaos 1.0 Released! -- Retro Edition now available

Postby Kroc » Mon Dec 24, 2018 3:36 pm

I'm getting really tiny UI on the Retro edition! (see health/stamina bars and quickslots)
My screen is 1366x768. Changing `uiscale` doesn't make any difference. Any ideas?

Screenshot_Doom_20181224_213133.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Kroc
PortaDOOM, DOOM-Crusher
 
Joined: 02 Oct 2016
Github ID: Kroc
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Total Chaos 1.0 Released! -- Retro Edition now available

Postby _mental_ » Wed Dec 26, 2018 4:45 am

Tried to load Retro Editor on macOS. Unfortunately, I got errors pretty common to Apple's strict OpenGL compiler:
Code: Select allExpand view
Execution could not continue.
Compile Shader 'shaders/old.fp':
ERROR: 0:15: Invalid call of undeclared identifier 'texture2D'
ERROR: 0:39: Invalid call of undeclared identifier 'texture2D'

A correct Core Profile shader should use texture() function instead of texture2D().

The first map, Arrival, has the following issue
Code: Select allExpand view
Unknown type 20517 at (8846.2, -2313.5)

Screenshot_Doom_20181226_123524.jpg
Am I missing something?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: Total Chaos 1.0 Released! -- Retro Edition now available

Postby Wad'a'Holic » Thu Jan 03, 2019 3:32 am

Cherno wrote:I wonder, would you be willing to write a short tutorial on how to achieve the smooth model movement and rotation that can be seen in your TC? I am having trouble getting a system like this to work.


Might be worth checking out the source code when its released, but here is a segment from the post-mortem I wrote:
"when a monster spawns in, it is invisible. Completely un-rendered. The invisible monster would then spawn a dummy on top of it which would render the 3D model and sync up the current state of the ‘real’ monster actor. The dummy actor would then be told through ACS scripting to interpolate its position and rotation to the real actor."


Kroc wrote:I'm getting really tiny UI on the Retro edition! (see health/stamina bars and quickslots)
My screen is 1366x768. Changing `uiscale` doesn't make any difference. Any ideas?

Screenshot_Doom_20181224_213133.jpg


It appears top be correct, its a problem with the hud itself being too small, I'll see if I can work in an alternative hud in the near future.




_mental_ wrote:Tried to load Retro Editor on macOS. Unfortunately, I got errors pretty common to Apple's strict OpenGL compiler:
Code: Select allExpand view
Execution could not continue.
Compile Shader 'shaders/old.fp':
ERROR: 0:15: Invalid call of undeclared identifier 'texture2D'
ERROR: 0:39: Invalid call of undeclared identifier 'texture2D'

A correct Core Profile shader should use texture() function instead of texture2D().

The first map, Arrival, has the following issue
Code: Select allExpand view
Unknown type 20517 at (8846.2, -2313.5)

Screenshot_Doom_20181226_123524.jpg
Am I missing something?


The unknown type error shouldn't have anything to do with the execution issue.
Sadly I'm not too sure what can be done about it other than removing the shaders entirely from the Total Chaos pk3, since I have never tried running this on a Mac.
User avatar
Wad'a'Holic
Chaos.... chaos everywhere
 
Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Location: New Zealand

Re: Total Chaos 1.0 Released! -- Retro Edition now available

Postby _mental_ » Thu Jan 03, 2019 3:42 am

Wad'a'Holic wrote:The unknown type error shouldn't have anything to do with the execution issue.

I didn't say that they are related.

To resolve the first issue it would be nice to fix the shader.
For the second one, either remove the mentioned thing or add its proper definition to DECORATE. I guess editor number is missing for some actor.

Wad'a'Holic wrote:Sadly I'm not too sure what can be done about it other than removing the shaders entirely from the Total Chaos pk3, since I have never tried running this on a Mac.

Like I said, replace texture2D with texture in that shader to make it Core Profile compatible.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: Total Chaos 1.0 Released! -- Retro Edition now available

Postby phantombeta » Thu Jan 03, 2019 3:43 am

Wad'a'Holic wrote:
_mental_ wrote:Tried to load Retro Editor on macOS. Unfortunately, I got errors pretty common to Apple's strict OpenGL compiler:
Code: Select allExpand view
Execution could not continue.
Compile Shader 'shaders/old.fp':
ERROR: 0:15: Invalid call of undeclared identifier 'texture2D'
ERROR: 0:39: Invalid call of undeclared identifier 'texture2D'

A correct Core Profile shader should use texture() function instead of texture2D().

The first map, Arrival, has the following issue
Code: Select allExpand view
Unknown type 20517 at (8846.2, -2313.5)

Screenshot_Doom_20181226_123524.jpg
Am I missing something?


The unknown type error shouldn't have anything to do with the execution issue.
Sadly I'm not too sure what can be done about it other than removing the shaders entirely from the Total Chaos pk3, since I have never tried running this on a Mac.

_mental_ wrote:A correct Core Profile shader should use texture() function instead of texture2D().

Simply replace all instances of "texture2D" in the shaders with "texture"
User avatar
phantombeta
Tired of being treated like trash by control freaks
 
Joined: 02 May 2013

Re: Total Chaos 1.0 Released! -- Retro Edition now available

Postby Wad'a'Holic » Sat Jan 05, 2019 4:18 am

_mental_ wrote:
Wad'a'Holic wrote:The unknown type error shouldn't have anything to do with the execution issue.

I didn't say that they are related.

To resolve the first issue it would be nice to fix the shader.
For the second one, either remove the mentioned thing or add its proper definition to DECORATE. I guess editor number is missing for some actor.

Wad'a'Holic wrote:Sadly I'm not too sure what can be done about it other than removing the shaders entirely from the Total Chaos pk3, since I have never tried running this on a Mac.

Like I said, replace texture2D with texture in that shader to make it Core Profile compatible.


My apologies, dont know how I missed that. I'll give it a try.
User avatar
Wad'a'Holic
Chaos.... chaos everywhere
 
Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Location: New Zealand

Re: Total Chaos 1.0 Released! -- Retro Edition now available

Postby Leglock » Sat Oct 03, 2020 8:42 pm

The mod itself is a peace of work, really cool concept and fun to play for the must part. I specially loved Retro Edition, but I noticed there are a lot of missing textures in the late chapters.

The inventory is cool, but the weight mechanic is a little bit unbalanced and needs to be fixed. There is also some interactions between quickslots and weight that can glitch the amount of weight you are carrying, switching to a specific weapong will add weight.

There RNG feels akward, monsters only drop food items, boxes never drop ammo or metal parts for weapons. There are some stuff that you find too late and feels underwhelming compared with staff already have (nailgun).

Some weapons are pointless to craft, after some tests, I never crafted again anything but Pickaxe or Axe, Knife and hook are super good weapons, but the rest of the melee roster is underwhelming, specially the Bat, which is waaaay heavier than the pickaxe, does less damage and breaks easier, and also is a rare pick up.

Shells have weight, but every other bullet haven't, except for the pistol... Not sure if that was intentional.

Enemies are easy to deal in general (not you stalker, I had to either avoid you or use the wall to make you explode), so you end up with more items than you can carry, or there are too many consumables drops, or the hunger metter drops to slow when you do not dash. Also if for some reason you didn't finish enemies, or some script sequence make spawn enemies behind a door you need to open to change the map, enemies can hit you when the screen still black, that can lead in some cheap deaths.

NG+ Is a little bit missleading, since NG+ in other games let's you carry your stats/gear from previous walkthroughs into new one. This should be called Hard mode (or Nuts), as far as I love a good challege, I got discouraged to keep up with this mode. The Hunter is a noble idea, but there are waaaaaay to many enemies, avoiding them is completly RNG based and you get swarmed constantly. I kinda like the idea but it is waaay over the top.


I really loved the ride both in DC and DC retro.
User avatar
Leglock
 
Joined: 02 Mar 2019
Discord: Leggo#8138
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Previous

Return to TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: CyberneticPhantom and 5 guests