Total Chaos 1.0 Released! -- Retro Edition now available!

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: Total Chaos 1.0 Released!

Postby thedeathrunner123 » Sun Dec 09, 2018 11:47 am

what mods can this be run with?
User avatar
thedeathrunner123
Uhhhhhhh, DooM Anybody?
 
Joined: 18 May 2018
Location: Somewhere at the gates of Hell

Re: Total Chaos 1.0 Released!

Postby ZikShadow » Mon Dec 10, 2018 8:44 am



Went through NG+, just finished it a few minutes ago. Here's my thoughts on the updates:

Spoiler:
Last edited by ZikShadow on Mon Dec 10, 2018 4:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
ZikShadow
 
Joined: 13 Jul 2016
Location: Could be the chair, the floor, or the bed.

Re: Total Chaos 1.0 Released!

Postby wildweasel » Mon Dec 10, 2018 10:39 am

thedeathrunner123 wrote:what mods can this be run with?

Itself.
User avatar
wildweasel
「お前はもうトースト」[you are already toast.]
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Total Chaos 1.0 Released!

Postby Tormentor667 » Tue Dec 11, 2018 4:19 pm

Wad'a'Holic wrote:Download Total Chaos at ModDB (Standalone version, UPDATE 1.00.0)
Comes bundled with GZDoom. No doom2.wad requirement.

Is there a mod version somewhere or what do I need to launch if I want the standalone to be a mod?
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Total Chaos 1.0 Released!

Postby Wad'a'Holic » Wed Dec 12, 2018 5:19 am

Tormentor667 wrote:
Wad'a'Holic wrote:Download Total Chaos at ModDB (Standalone version, UPDATE 1.00.0)
Comes bundled with GZDoom. No doom2.wad requirement.

Is there a mod version somewhere or what do I need to launch if I want the standalone to be a mod?


If you download the standalone version, take out the totalchaos.pk3 file under gamedata\ and use that to run the mod separately from the standalone launcher.
User avatar
Wad'a'Holic
Chaos.... chaos everywhere
 
Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Location: New Zealand

Re: Total Chaos 1.0 Released!

Postby Gourry » Mon Dec 17, 2018 5:21 am

Would it be possible to have the pistol clips stack? They take up a bit of space in the inventory.
Gourry
 
Joined: 05 Dec 2017

Re: Total Chaos 1.0 Released!

Postby Tormentor667 » Mon Dec 17, 2018 4:30 pm

Thanks kindly :)
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Total Chaos 1.0 Released!

Postby Cherno » Mon Dec 17, 2018 5:25 pm

I wonder, would you be willing to write a short tutorial on how to achieve the smooth model movement and rotation that can be seen in your TC? I am having trouble getting a system like this to work.
User avatar
Cherno
 
Joined: 06 Dec 2016

Re: Total Chaos 1.0 Released! -- Retro Edition now available

Postby Kroc » Mon Dec 24, 2018 4:36 pm

I'm getting really tiny UI on the Retro edition! (see health/stamina bars and quickslots)
My screen is 1366x768. Changing `uiscale` doesn't make any difference. Any ideas?

Screenshot_Doom_20181224_213133.jpg
Total Chaos RETRO small UI
User avatar
Kroc
PortaDOOM, DOOM-Crusher
 
Joined: 02 Oct 2016
Github ID: Kroc
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Total Chaos 1.0 Released! -- Retro Edition now available

Postby _mental_ » Wed Dec 26, 2018 5:45 am

Tried to load Retro Editor on macOS. Unfortunately, I got errors pretty common to Apple's strict OpenGL compiler:
Code: Select allExpand view
Execution could not continue.
Compile Shader 'shaders/old.fp':
ERROR: 0:15: Invalid call of undeclared identifier 'texture2D'
ERROR: 0:39: Invalid call of undeclared identifier 'texture2D'

A correct Core Profile shader should use texture() function instead of texture2D().

The first map, Arrival, has the following issue
Code: Select allExpand view
Unknown type 20517 at (8846.2, -2313.5)

Screenshot_Doom_20181226_123524.jpg
Am I missing something?
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: Total Chaos 1.0 Released! -- Retro Edition now available

Postby Wad'a'Holic » Thu Jan 03, 2019 4:32 am

Cherno wrote:I wonder, would you be willing to write a short tutorial on how to achieve the smooth model movement and rotation that can be seen in your TC? I am having trouble getting a system like this to work.


Might be worth checking out the source code when its released, but here is a segment from the post-mortem I wrote:
"when a monster spawns in, it is invisible. Completely un-rendered. The invisible monster would then spawn a dummy on top of it which would render the 3D model and sync up the current state of the ‘real’ monster actor. The dummy actor would then be told through ACS scripting to interpolate its position and rotation to the real actor."


Kroc wrote:I'm getting really tiny UI on the Retro edition! (see health/stamina bars and quickslots)
My screen is 1366x768. Changing `uiscale` doesn't make any difference. Any ideas?

Screenshot_Doom_20181224_213133.jpg


It appears top be correct, its a problem with the hud itself being too small, I'll see if I can work in an alternative hud in the near future.




_mental_ wrote:Tried to load Retro Editor on macOS. Unfortunately, I got errors pretty common to Apple's strict OpenGL compiler:
Code: Select allExpand view
Execution could not continue.
Compile Shader 'shaders/old.fp':
ERROR: 0:15: Invalid call of undeclared identifier 'texture2D'
ERROR: 0:39: Invalid call of undeclared identifier 'texture2D'

A correct Core Profile shader should use texture() function instead of texture2D().

The first map, Arrival, has the following issue
Code: Select allExpand view
Unknown type 20517 at (8846.2, -2313.5)

Screenshot_Doom_20181226_123524.jpg
Am I missing something?


The unknown type error shouldn't have anything to do with the execution issue.
Sadly I'm not too sure what can be done about it other than removing the shaders entirely from the Total Chaos pk3, since I have never tried running this on a Mac.
User avatar
Wad'a'Holic
Chaos.... chaos everywhere
 
Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Location: New Zealand

Re: Total Chaos 1.0 Released! -- Retro Edition now available

Postby _mental_ » Thu Jan 03, 2019 4:42 am

Wad'a'Holic wrote:The unknown type error shouldn't have anything to do with the execution issue.

I didn't say that they are related.

To resolve the first issue it would be nice to fix the shader.
For the second one, either remove the mentioned thing or add its proper definition to DECORATE. I guess editor number is missing for some actor.

Wad'a'Holic wrote:Sadly I'm not too sure what can be done about it other than removing the shaders entirely from the Total Chaos pk3, since I have never tried running this on a Mac.

Like I said, replace texture2D with texture in that shader to make it Core Profile compatible.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: Total Chaos 1.0 Released! -- Retro Edition now available

Postby phantombeta » Thu Jan 03, 2019 4:43 am

Wad'a'Holic wrote:
_mental_ wrote:Tried to load Retro Editor on macOS. Unfortunately, I got errors pretty common to Apple's strict OpenGL compiler:
Code: Select allExpand view
Execution could not continue.
Compile Shader 'shaders/old.fp':
ERROR: 0:15: Invalid call of undeclared identifier 'texture2D'
ERROR: 0:39: Invalid call of undeclared identifier 'texture2D'

A correct Core Profile shader should use texture() function instead of texture2D().

The first map, Arrival, has the following issue
Code: Select allExpand view
Unknown type 20517 at (8846.2, -2313.5)

Screenshot_Doom_20181226_123524.jpg
Am I missing something?


The unknown type error shouldn't have anything to do with the execution issue.
Sadly I'm not too sure what can be done about it other than removing the shaders entirely from the Total Chaos pk3, since I have never tried running this on a Mac.

_mental_ wrote:A correct Core Profile shader should use texture() function instead of texture2D().

Simply replace all instances of "texture2D" in the shaders with "texture"
User avatar
phantombeta
In the meadow of sinful thoughts, every flower's a perfect one
 
Joined: 02 May 2013
Location: The United Soviet Socialist Dictatorship of Hueland
Discord: phantombeta#2461
Twitch ID: phantombeta_
Github ID: Doom2fan
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Total Chaos 1.0 Released! -- Retro Edition now available

Postby Wad'a'Holic » Sat Jan 05, 2019 5:18 am

_mental_ wrote:
Wad'a'Holic wrote:The unknown type error shouldn't have anything to do with the execution issue.

I didn't say that they are related.

To resolve the first issue it would be nice to fix the shader.
For the second one, either remove the mentioned thing or add its proper definition to DECORATE. I guess editor number is missing for some actor.

Wad'a'Holic wrote:Sadly I'm not too sure what can be done about it other than removing the shaders entirely from the Total Chaos pk3, since I have never tried running this on a Mac.

Like I said, replace texture2D with texture in that shader to make it Core Profile compatible.


My apologies, dont know how I missed that. I'll give it a try.
User avatar
Wad'a'Holic
Chaos.... chaos everywhere
 
Joined: 01 Mar 2005
Location: New Zealand

Previous

Return to TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 9 guests