Page 39 of 40

Re: IronTusks - Diablo3D V1.2.2 + Patch (Links UPDATED)

Posted: Thu Dec 16, 2021 6:42 am
by PlayerLin
Sebrw wrote:Hi! Another linux player here!

Can anyone explain me the procedure to run the game? I have all files in my .config/gzdoom directory.
I used the "linux gzdoom iron tusks Diablo 3D - LITE" script to launch the game (I downloaded the LITE version)
But I get the following error:

[imgur]http://imgur.com/a/Hy6wrZM[/imgur]

EDIT: Sorry for the image not displaying, I don't know why, you can still follow the link.
It should be img tag, also read this about rules of using that tag: viewtopic.php?f=48&t=60595

For that ERROR message, you needed a legal copy of Heretic.WAD or it won't works.

Re: IronTusks - Diablo3D V1.2.2 + Patch (Links UPDATED)

Posted: Mon Jan 10, 2022 11:02 pm
by jwrich82
I have skimmed every page here and cannot seem to find the answer to why I cannot get a good experience out of this. I have games like Blade of Agony, Total Chaos and various Brutal Doom setups working just fine.
Here is my setup:
I have a folder under my $Home called 'gzdoom'. In that folder, I have a folder 'Diablo3D'. In that folder I two folders; 'soundfonts' and 'fm_banks'
In that folder is a 'Diablo.sh' with only two lines.

Code: Select all

#!/bin/bash
gzdoom -iwad heretic.wad -config ./config.ini
I also have a file 'config.ini'. This file is generated new and then I add the following lines;

Code: Select all

[IWADSearch.Directories]
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/IWADS                   # Folder containing all IWAD files

[FileSearch.Directories]
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo3D              # Folder containing game assets, config.ini and other PWAD or pk3 files

[SoundfontSearch.Directories]
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo3D/soundfonts   # No use for these just yet, but for completeness and possible future use
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo3D/fm_banks     # I keep them
I have done this in setting up all my games, DoomU/II, Heretic, Hexen, Strife, etc and they all have sort of mods or addons installed. I edit the config.ini and put the list of files under the global load heading, as exampled here:
This is my current Brutal Doom Extermination Day setup:

Code: Select all

[Global.Autoload]
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/BD Extermination Day/brutal-doom_v21_ADS.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/BD Extermination Day/DoomMetalVol6.wad
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/BD Extermination Day/EdayMusic001.wad
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/BD Extermination Day/EdayTest001.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/BD Extermination Day/UDV_v2.12_A_BASE_FIXED.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/BD Extermination Day/UDV_v2.13_B_VISOR_Alt_1.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/BD Extermination Day/UDV_v2.13_C_GFX_HIRES_Mugshot_BASE.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/BD Extermination Day/UDV_v2.13_C_GFX_ScreenEffects_LQ.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/BD Extermination Day/UDV_v2.13_D_MISC_FONT_A_RestoreOriginal.pk3
Doing it this way each time, ensures I have assets loading ONLY for the game I want them to load.

Then comes this, Diablo 3D. I had played it a long time ago, not much and was wanting to give it a go again as I am interested again in the id Tech 1 games again.
Following the instructions, I download "DIABLO 3D V1.2.1 GODLY.rar", the 2.7 GB FULL file in the first post. I also download the "Diablo 3D Version 1.2.2 Patch.rar" 500 GB patch.

I extract the contents of the download into my Diablo3D folder. I then view the "iron tusks Diablo 3D - FULL.bat" file, copying the loaded assets, in the same order into the config.ini;

Code: Select all

[Global.Autoload]
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo 3D/brightmaps.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo 3D/Hexen_brightmaps.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo 3D/woc_nothexen.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo 3D/woc_v3.1.4.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo 3D/woc_v3hereticpatch.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo 3D/Hexen_lights.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo 3D/Heresypack.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo 3D/hereHDModels.pk3 
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo 3D/HereHQsounds.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo 3D/diablo.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo 3D/heretic_GODLY_TEXTURES.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo 3D/dark_doom_lite.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo 3D/diabloPBR.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo 3D/diabloPBRtex.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo 3D/Diablo3D.wad
These are extra, not referenced files in the batch.
heretic-gui.pk3
heretic-models.pk3

Missing files that ARE in the batch, not in the download:
brightmaps.pk3 -> Educated guess, this is what is in the game's gzdoom folder in "/usr/share/gzdoom/", no problem. I can either copy it, or even omit the entry int he global line, altogether.
Hexen_brightmaps.pk3 -> I only obtained this from the WAD archive site. Is it a correct version? Is it from the correct mod? I have no clue.
Hexen_lights.pk3 -> I only obtained this from the WAD archive site. Is it a correct version? Is it from the correct mod? I have no clue.
hereHDModels.pk3 -> Educated guess, I went ahead and renamed the extra file "heretic-models.pk3" to this.
dark_doom_lite.pk3 -> I only obtained this from the WAD archive site. Is it a correct version? Is it from the correct mod? I have no clue.

In the end, I have a game that seems a bit of a mess. excessive shadowing, misaligned textures in some places and I am curious if some of them are even presented properly.
What mods should I go download to make sure I get the intended experience? I found an updated version of WoC, but it seems more geared for Hexen than Heretic.
While the readme ore original post has a goods bit of information, I think it is missing a lot of information. Same for the included readme. The ONLY reference to a possible solution is someone asked on one of the first 10 pages about missing Hexen_brightmaps.pk3 and the best way to obtain the mod that contained it if any, and there didn't seem to be a response even three pages later.
I am running Arch Linux (Installed on 15-December-2021, updated 5-January-2022.
gzDoom is at version 4.7.1
All IWADS come from my long standing personal collection. I still have Doom on 3 3.5" floppies and 1.9 update patch disc. So, I have access to many IWAD versions.

Any suggestions folks? I will be going through the included INI from the downloads and making sure as many of the individual settings and tweaks are brought over.

Re: IronTusks - Diablo3D V1.2.2 + Patch (Links UPDATED)

Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2022 8:42 am
by irontusk341
Linux is not officially supported for this mod. Also, the newest version posted has all the required material for the game to run. If there are missing files and texture issues, that could be an issue with it running on Linux.

Re: IronTusks - Diablo3D V1.2.2 + Patch (Links UPDATED)

Posted: Fri Jan 14, 2022 10:28 pm
by jwrich82
I will download the files again, but even downloading in a Windows VM, the archive is missing brightmaps.pk3, Hexen_brightmaps.pk3, Hexen_lights.pk3, hereHDModels.pk3 and dark_doom_lite.pk3. Hence the question of which mods these are. There are no errors or issues related to incomplete file downloads.

My experience with zDoom thus far is that the code base and functionality for Linux are identical to the Windows build, albeit different calls to different subsystems for sound and graphics. The mod doesn't depend on Linux or Windows, it depends on zDoom. Would it be suggested to maybe downgrade to another version of zDoom?

If I knew all mods included in developing this, I can get the proper files, not just what is on WAD archive, but also the same versions used.

[EDIT 15-01-2022] - Now that I am off work... I just ran it on my Windows machine and same thing. If I download a new copy of gzdoom, copy over my Heretic IWAD, download fresh, new copies of the mod (GODLY 1.2.1 and 1.2.2 patch) extract the godly archive into the zdoom folder, extract the patch over that, copy in the heretic.wad, there are still pk3 files referenced in the batch file that do not exist and I get the same experience. I copy in those missing pk3 and wad files from the WAD archive and same experience again. Overly dark, what would seem like misaligned or out of place textures... I have an older version I am going to fire up and see how it looks. I don't have the original archive files for that, but it looks like version 1.6, 1.8, 1.9 and 2.5 patches. I seem to remember enjoying that setup? It has been a while since i played with any Doom source ports.

Re: IronTusks - Diablo3D V1.2.2 + Patch (Links UPDATED)

Posted: Tue Jan 18, 2022 9:44 pm
by irontusk341
How are you loading them? drop and drag?

Re: IronTusks - Diablo3D V1.2.2 + Patch (Links UPDATED)

Posted: Tue Jan 18, 2022 11:54 pm
by austen1000
I will echo what jwrich82 said regarding the missing files. Though I do not have the darkness issues or any others so far. The Classic version of the mod does have one of these files (forgot which one off of the top of my head). Were those files removed and their entries left in the batch file by accident?

Re: IronTusks - Diablo3D V1.2.2 + Patch (Links UPDATED)

Posted: Thu Jan 20, 2022 9:10 pm
by jwrich82
As per my first post, I have an executable file, like a batch file that calls gzdoom, specifies the IWAD, and a config.ini file. The INI file is made much like it is in windows when generated automatically, the difference is only the filename. Where windows makes a file named "gzdoom-<i>username</i>.ini" or "config-<i>username</i>.ini". Inside that ini file under [Global.Autoload], I list every file referenced in the windows batch file included in the archive, in the order listed.
When I did that, since Linux, unlike Windows relies on case sensitivity in files, making sure to mirror that in the INI, is when I noticed not all the files reference dint he Windows batch file are not included in the downloadable archive files. Attempting to hunt down the individual mods listed in the README, I still was not able to find those files until I turned to the WAD Archive.
As for the "darkness issue" is it definitely related to the individual brightmaps files, but I can alleviate that in the options. No problem. When I get off work tomorrow night, I'll take some screenshots of what I think are 'misaligned' textures and other issues. I don't get to spend much time gaming lately, new job that takes me away from home 13 hours at a time almost Just enough time to eat, shower and sleep.

Re: IronTusks - Diablo3D V1.2.2 + Patch (Links UPDATED)

Posted: Fri Jan 21, 2022 10:27 am
by PlayerLin
austen1000 wrote:I will echo what jwrich82 said regarding the missing files. Though I do not have the darkness issues or any others so far. The Classic version of the mod does have one of these files (forgot which one off of the top of my head). Were those files removed and their entries left in the batch file by accident?
Haven't check the new expansion 1.2.x version of the mod, since I were already using this mod years ago(from the very old 1.x version) so the files already existed.

I'm just re-download the 1.2.1 GODLY/Full package and then the 1.2.2 patch yeah, missing Hexen_brightmaps.pk3, Hexen_lights.pk3, hereHDModels.pk3 and dark_doom_lite.pk3 and Lite version have same problem.
(Note: brightmaps.pk3 is from GZDooM package, it never existed on this mod's package)
Try running the BAT files will have missing files problem(as those pk3 files not existed on Full and Lite package).

Classic version using older WoA package(v2, not the v3/v3.1.4) and it has only Hexen_lights.pk3 on the package, Classic Lite BAT don't have missing file but other 2 BAT has(BAT has Hexen_brightmaps.pk3 but the file is not in the Classic package).

I'm confused...even I already had these missing files from the older release. :?

Re: IronTusks - Diablo3D V1.2.25 + Patch (Links UPDATED)

Posted: Fri Jan 21, 2022 11:21 am
by irontusk341
Hot fix uploaded in the patch link, Patch 1.2.25, will address your issue.

Re: IronTusks - Diablo3D V1.2.25 + Patch (Links UPDATED)

Posted: Sat Jan 22, 2022 3:04 pm
by DrR0Ck
Thanks for resolving some of the confusion with the hotfix!
I have two quick questions (apologies if previously answered:
1 - As mentioned above, heretic-gui.pk3 and heretic-models.pk3 are not referenced in any of the BAT files (pretty sure), but are included in the 1.21 Godly archive. Are they still needed, and if so, where do they go in the load order?
2 - Is Brutal Effects.pk3 still supported? It hasn't been included in any of the archives since 1.17. Assuming it can still be used (without causing issues), where would it go in the load order?

Thanks!

Re: IronTusks - Diablo3D V1.2.25 + Patch (Links UPDATED)

Posted: Sun Jan 23, 2022 7:20 pm
by jwrich82
Yup! Like DrR0Ck stated, the missing files are now included. Thank you thank you!
This has the effect of resolving so many issues I did not notice before. Missing textures are no longer missing and what I thought were misaligned, were not just misaligned, but scaled improperly. This issue with how dark everything seems, I can work on that myself. I suspect it might be the TV I play on. I have no room in this tiny studio apartment, so I play through my TV. Colors and brightness haven't been an issue in any other game before, so I may be applying my own fix for this issue.
I am, also curious of the heretic-gui and heretic-models,pk3 files.

Re: IronTusks - Diablo3D V1.2.25 + Patch (Links UPDATED)

Posted: Thu Feb 03, 2022 2:46 pm
by irontusk341
I've noticed a lot of players having issues of finding the next dungeon after the Caves. While I did once have a wikia page that explains the mod in complete detail, Trying to stay true to the original diablo Hellfire expansion, After the cave exit, that takes you back to tristram, The town now has a hole in the ground on right of the map, across the bridge. That hole takes you to the level "The Festering Nest" Once completing that level, you are back in tristram again. This time an opening by the Cathedral will allow access to "The Crypts" Map. When you finish the crypts map, the teleporter will transport you to Lazarus's Domain. This game features a ton of puzzles to open secret passages or doors. If played through with every passage unlocked you should be able to get through the first diablo experience plus Hellfire, as well as Diablo II and its expansion LOD. There is a fan made expansion after defeating Baal, which delves deep into Legendary Diablo Lore.

Re: IronTusks - Diablo3D V1.2.25 + Patch (Links UPDATED)

Posted: Sat Feb 12, 2022 10:48 pm
by Gourry
The dungeon music seems to still play after returning to Tristram. Is it supposed to do this?

Re: IronTusks - Diablo3D V1.2.25 + Patch (Links UPDATED)

Posted: Sun Feb 13, 2022 10:34 am
by irontusk341
Gourry wrote:The dungeon music seems to still play after returning to Tristram. Is it supposed to do this?
Unfortunately, due to engine limitations or lack of extensive coding knowledge, I have not been able to change the music back to tristram once you enter the portal to the town and back to the dungeon music when you go back to the original the teleport location.

Re: IronTusks - Diablo3D V1.2.25 + Patch (Links UPDATED)

Posted: Sun Feb 13, 2022 5:34 pm
by Ichor
SecActEnter (you can cause something to happen once the player enters a certain sector)