IronTusks - Diablo3D V1.2.2 + Patch (Links UPDATED)

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: IronTusks - Diablo3D V1.2.2 + Patch (Links UPDATED)

Postby PlayerLin » Thu Dec 16, 2021 6:42 am

Sebrw wrote:Hi! Another linux player here!

Can anyone explain me the procedure to run the game? I have all files in my .config/gzdoom directory.
I used the "linux gzdoom iron tusks Diablo 3D - LITE" script to launch the game (I downloaded the LITE version)
But I get the following error:

[imgur]http://imgur.com/a/Hy6wrZM[/imgur]

EDIT: Sorry for the image not displaying, I don't know why, you can still follow the link.

It should be img tag, also read this about rules of using that tag: viewtopic.php?f=48&t=60595

For that ERROR message, you needed a legal copy of Heretic.WAD or it won't works.
User avatar
PlayerLin
 
Joined: 11 Nov 2007
Location: XinZhuang, XinBei/New Taipei City(Former Taipei County), Taiwan.
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: IronTusks - Diablo3D V1.2.2 + Patch (Links UPDATED)

Postby jwrich82 » Mon Jan 10, 2022 11:02 pm

I have skimmed every page here and cannot seem to find the answer to why I cannot get a good experience out of this. I have games like Blade of Agony, Total Chaos and various Brutal Doom setups working just fine.
Here is my setup:
I have a folder under my $Home called 'gzdoom'. In that folder, I have a folder 'Diablo3D'. In that folder I two folders; 'soundfonts' and 'fm_banks'
In that folder is a 'Diablo.sh' with only two lines.
Code: Select allExpand view
#!/bin/bash
gzdoom -iwad heretic.wad -config ./config.ini


I also have a file 'config.ini'. This file is generated new and then I add the following lines;
Code: Select allExpand view
[IWADSearch.Directories]
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/IWADS                   # Folder containing all IWAD files

[FileSearch.Directories]
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo3D              # Folder containing game assets, config.ini and other PWAD or pk3 files

[SoundfontSearch.Directories]
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo3D/soundfonts   # No use for these just yet, but for completeness and possible future use
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo3D/fm_banks     # I keep them


I have done this in setting up all my games, DoomU/II, Heretic, Hexen, Strife, etc and they all have sort of mods or addons installed. I edit the config.ini and put the list of files under the global load heading, as exampled here:
This is my current Brutal Doom Extermination Day setup:
Code: Select allExpand view
[Global.Autoload]
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/BD Extermination Day/brutal-doom_v21_ADS.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/BD Extermination Day/DoomMetalVol6.wad
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/BD Extermination Day/EdayMusic001.wad
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/BD Extermination Day/EdayTest001.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/BD Extermination Day/UDV_v2.12_A_BASE_FIXED.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/BD Extermination Day/UDV_v2.13_B_VISOR_Alt_1.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/BD Extermination Day/UDV_v2.13_C_GFX_HIRES_Mugshot_BASE.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/BD Extermination Day/UDV_v2.13_C_GFX_ScreenEffects_LQ.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/BD Extermination Day/UDV_v2.13_D_MISC_FONT_A_RestoreOriginal.pk3


Doing it this way each time, ensures I have assets loading ONLY for the game I want them to load.

Then comes this, Diablo 3D. I had played it a long time ago, not much and was wanting to give it a go again as I am interested again in the id Tech 1 games again.
Following the instructions, I download "DIABLO 3D V1.2.1 GODLY.rar", the 2.7 GB FULL file in the first post. I also download the "Diablo 3D Version 1.2.2 Patch.rar" 500 GB patch.

I extract the contents of the download into my Diablo3D folder. I then view the "iron tusks Diablo 3D - FULL.bat" file, copying the loaded assets, in the same order into the config.ini;

Code: Select allExpand view
[Global.Autoload]
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo 3D/brightmaps.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo 3D/Hexen_brightmaps.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo 3D/woc_nothexen.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo 3D/woc_v3.1.4.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo 3D/woc_v3hereticpatch.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo 3D/Hexen_lights.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo 3D/Heresypack.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo 3D/hereHDModels.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo 3D/HereHQsounds.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo 3D/diablo.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo 3D/heretic_GODLY_TEXTURES.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo 3D/dark_doom_lite.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo 3D/diabloPBR.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo 3D/diabloPBRtex.pk3
Path=$HOME/gzdoom/Diablo 3D/Diablo3D.wad


These are extra, not referenced files in the batch.
heretic-gui.pk3
heretic-models.pk3

Missing files that ARE in the batch, not in the download:
brightmaps.pk3 -> Educated guess, this is what is in the game's gzdoom folder in "/usr/share/gzdoom/", no problem. I can either copy it, or even omit the entry int he global line, altogether.
Hexen_brightmaps.pk3 -> I only obtained this from the WAD archive site. Is it a correct version? Is it from the correct mod? I have no clue.
Hexen_lights.pk3 -> I only obtained this from the WAD archive site. Is it a correct version? Is it from the correct mod? I have no clue.
hereHDModels.pk3 -> Educated guess, I went ahead and renamed the extra file "heretic-models.pk3" to this.
dark_doom_lite.pk3 -> I only obtained this from the WAD archive site. Is it a correct version? Is it from the correct mod? I have no clue.

In the end, I have a game that seems a bit of a mess. excessive shadowing, misaligned textures in some places and I am curious if some of them are even presented properly.
What mods should I go download to make sure I get the intended experience? I found an updated version of WoC, but it seems more geared for Hexen than Heretic.
While the readme ore original post has a goods bit of information, I think it is missing a lot of information. Same for the included readme. The ONLY reference to a possible solution is someone asked on one of the first 10 pages about missing Hexen_brightmaps.pk3 and the best way to obtain the mod that contained it if any, and there didn't seem to be a response even three pages later.
I am running Arch Linux (Installed on 15-December-2021, updated 5-January-2022.
gzDoom is at version 4.7.1
All IWADS come from my long standing personal collection. I still have Doom on 3 3.5" floppies and 1.9 update patch disc. So, I have access to many IWAD versions.

Any suggestions folks? I will be going through the included INI from the downloads and making sure as many of the individual settings and tweaks are brought over.
jwrich82
 
Joined: 10 Jan 2022
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: IronTusks - Diablo3D V1.2.2 + Patch (Links UPDATED)

Postby irontusk341 » Fri Jan 14, 2022 8:42 am

Linux is not officially supported for this mod. Also, the newest version posted has all the required material for the game to run. If there are missing files and texture issues, that could be an issue with it running on Linux.
User avatar
irontusk341
Main Author & Director of Diablo 3D: A Heretic mod based on the Diablo Games
 
Joined: 09 Oct 2017
Location: Mister Rogers Neighborhood, Pennsylvania
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: IronTusks - Diablo3D V1.2.2 + Patch (Links UPDATED)

Postby jwrich82 » Fri Jan 14, 2022 10:28 pm

I will download the files again, but even downloading in a Windows VM, the archive is missing brightmaps.pk3, Hexen_brightmaps.pk3, Hexen_lights.pk3, hereHDModels.pk3 and dark_doom_lite.pk3. Hence the question of which mods these are. There are no errors or issues related to incomplete file downloads.

My experience with zDoom thus far is that the code base and functionality for Linux are identical to the Windows build, albeit different calls to different subsystems for sound and graphics. The mod doesn't depend on Linux or Windows, it depends on zDoom. Would it be suggested to maybe downgrade to another version of zDoom?

If I knew all mods included in developing this, I can get the proper files, not just what is on WAD archive, but also the same versions used.

[EDIT 15-01-2022] - Now that I am off work... I just ran it on my Windows machine and same thing. If I download a new copy of gzdoom, copy over my Heretic IWAD, download fresh, new copies of the mod (GODLY 1.2.1 and 1.2.2 patch) extract the godly archive into the zdoom folder, extract the patch over that, copy in the heretic.wad, there are still pk3 files referenced in the batch file that do not exist and I get the same experience. I copy in those missing pk3 and wad files from the WAD archive and same experience again. Overly dark, what would seem like misaligned or out of place textures... I have an older version I am going to fire up and see how it looks. I don't have the original archive files for that, but it looks like version 1.6, 1.8, 1.9 and 2.5 patches. I seem to remember enjoying that setup? It has been a while since i played with any Doom source ports.
jwrich82
 
Joined: 10 Jan 2022
Operating System: Other Linux 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: IronTusks - Diablo3D V1.2.2 + Patch (Links UPDATED)

Postby irontusk341 » Tue Jan 18, 2022 9:44 pm

How are you loading them? drop and drag?
User avatar
irontusk341
Main Author & Director of Diablo 3D: A Heretic mod based on the Diablo Games
 
Joined: 09 Oct 2017
Location: Mister Rogers Neighborhood, Pennsylvania
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: IronTusks - Diablo3D V1.2.2 + Patch (Links UPDATED)

Postby austen1000 » Tue Jan 18, 2022 11:54 pm

I will echo what jwrich82 said regarding the missing files. Though I do not have the darkness issues or any others so far. The Classic version of the mod does have one of these files (forgot which one off of the top of my head). Were those files removed and their entries left in the batch file by accident?
austen1000
 
Joined: 23 Feb 2017

Previous

Return to TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests