Daytime Drama [VERSION 1.09a FINALLY HERE]

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: Daytime Drama [Updated 03 March 2017]

Postby Ed the Bat » Sat Mar 04, 2017 10:39 pm

I've also just run into an issue where breaking the television in MAP03 endlessly spams the console with errors about a missing 'TVBROKEN' class. This also seems to lock a message onto my HUD about how to use AXX grenades, despite not having picked any up for a little while now.
User avatar
Ed the Bat
I'm tired. I want to go home.
 
Joined: 03 May 2012
Location: Maryland, US

Re: Daytime Drama [Updated 03 March 2017]

Postby protox » Sun Mar 05, 2017 7:25 am

Nice work, original concepts and content is always awesome.
User avatar
protox
 
Joined: 22 Mar 2014

Re: Daytime Drama [Updated 03 March 2017]

Postby SanyaWaffles » Sun Mar 05, 2017 9:57 am

Ed the Bat wrote:I'm trying to play MAP02 but am finding an invisible wall blocking me


Fixed. I'm currently uploading new PK7 and standalone version.

Ed the Bat wrote:I've also just run into an issue where breaking the television in MAP03 endlessly spams the console with errors about a missing 'TVBROKEN' class.


I can't seem to reproduct this. Could you take a screenshot of this in action? And make sure if you're still using the standalone pk7 to use the latest gzdoom dev-builds.

Ed the Bat wrote:This also seems to lock a message onto my HUD about how to use AXX grenades, despite not having picked any up for a little while now.


I included hints, but I find them more annoying personally than helpful. If you want to get rid of hints in future playthroughs, try the hints setting under Experience.

Spoiler:
User avatar
SanyaWaffles
Navy Did Nothing Wrong
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2013
Location: Eastern Ohio
Discord: SanyaWaffles#5095
Twitch ID: sanyawaffles
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Daytime Drama [Updated 03 March 2017]

Postby Ed the Bat » Sun Mar 05, 2017 1:41 pm

SanyaWaffles wrote:
Ed the Bat wrote:invisible wall

Fixed. I'm currently uploading new PK7 and standalone version.

Thank you.
SanyaWaffles wrote:
Ed the Bat wrote:breaking the television in MAP03

I can't seem to reproduct this. Could you take a screenshot of this in action? And make sure if you're still using the standalone pk7 to use the latest gzdoom dev-builds.

Screenshot
I'm finding that I can't reproduce this on a new game, warping to MAP03, but can reproduce it reliably with my saved game from when I played to MAP03. I suppose it's possible there's a minor corruption of some kind in my save file. I'm using QZDoom-q1.3pre-1130-g21a8964be-x32 (March 3rd), so I'll try updating as well and report back if it happens again or if I learn anything else about it.
SanyaWaffles wrote:
Ed the Bat wrote:lock a message onto my HUD

I included hints, but I find them more annoying personally than helpful. If you want to get rid of hints in future playthroughs, try the hints setting under Experience.
Spoiler:

I understand about the hints option, and that's fine. But hints are only supposed to appear for a few seconds, and only upon relevant events (such as picking up the item). This message appeared upon breaking the TV, and wouldn't go away, so I figured it was related to the console spam issue above. Again, if I learn more, I'll report back.

Addendum: Devbuilds from today onward cannot run Daytime Drama until it declares a ZScript version.

Second addendum: Oh my. Just ran into a game-ending error.
Code: Select allExpand view
VM execution aborted: array access out of bounds. Max.index = 2, current index = 3

Called from DD_PoliceLamp.ThowPoliceJunk at ddrama.pk7:zscript/ddrama1/props/light_sources.zsc, line 172
Called from DD_PoliceLamp.A_DestroyPLamp at ddrama.pk7:zscript/ddrama1/props/light_sources.zsc, line 186
Called from DD_PoliceLamp.Die at ddrama.pk7:zscript/ddrama1/props/light_sources.zsc, line 198
Called from Actor.A_Explode [Native]
Called from DD_FiredRocketSeeker.StateFunction.1 at ddrama.pk7:zscript/ddrama1/weapons/rocket_launcher.zsc, line 117
Called from state DD_FiredRocketSeeker.1 in DD_FiredRocketSeeker

I shot a seeker rocket at a Police lamppost in MAP05, but I am able to reproduce reliably by attacking it with any other weapon.
User avatar
Ed the Bat
I'm tired. I want to go home.
 
Joined: 03 May 2012
Location: Maryland, US

Re: Daytime Drama [Updated 05 March 2017]

Postby SanyaWaffles » Mon Mar 06, 2017 8:37 am

I have fixed the Daytime Drama not working with newer dev builds. My custom WIGZDoom executable is in the process of being updated and should be uploaded, along with a fixed version that'll also fix the police lamp breaking bug and a dedicated version at the top. I will edit this post when all that is done.

As for using QZDOOM, I have no idea why it'd spam that error but both WIGZDOOM and GZDOOM dev-builds don't show that error. Curious. I should test QZDOOM just to see if there's any other oddities I need to address, be it bug reports or otherwise.

As for the hints, I'm thinking it has to do with me switching compilers for the library I use - gdcc-acc. Cuz I know they dsisappear in the past until I switched. Not to say the compiler is at fault, I should be aware of any subtle differences if there are before putting it into production environment.

If the hints are not disappearing I'm gonna need to figure out why. I will try to see if I can fix this regardless.

EDIT: I realize in the code you SHOULD be able to press BT_USE to cancel/clear the hint and it should never appear again. Obviously something is amiss on it being stuck so I made some changes to the code to clear hints. In the end I may just add some worldbuilding stuff that explains the objects.

Maybe Ice Bear would be a better way to give hints than an obnoxious HUDMessage. What do you all think?

Anyhow, updated version should be uploaded shortly.

EDIT 2: Updated both ddrama.pk7 and the bundled version.
User avatar
SanyaWaffles
Navy Did Nothing Wrong
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2013
Location: Eastern Ohio
Discord: SanyaWaffles#5095
Twitch ID: sanyawaffles
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Daytime Drama [Updated 05 March 2017]

Postby Ed the Bat » Mon Mar 06, 2017 10:53 am

SanyaWaffles wrote:As for the hints, I'm thinking it has to do with me switching compilers for the library I use - gdcc-acc. Cuz I know they dsisappear in the past until I switched. Not to say the compiler is at fault, I should be aware of any subtle differences if there are before putting it into production environment.

Ah, perhaps that explains some things. I saw one or two other errors that, upon examining your ACS, I couldn't figure out. For instance, during the end credits, some of the text wasn't showing. For instance, "ENDMAP_CREDIT_SOUND" appeared in place of the actual sound credits, even though you seem to have such a string properly defined in LANGUAGE.
User avatar
Ed the Bat
I'm tired. I want to go home.
 
Joined: 03 May 2012
Location: Maryland, US

Re: Daytime Drama [Updated 06 March 2017]

Postby Rachael » Mon Mar 06, 2017 1:36 pm

Other than the renderer everything should be exactly the same between QZDoom and GZDoom (otherwise I'd go ape shit with Graf's updates to the playsim, to be honest. :P).

So if you are getting VM errors, it is exactly the same VM as GZDoom, meaning there is an issue with either the mod, your config, or the VM itself. Unless, of course, QZDoom's drawers are not playing nice and putting random bytes where they should not go. :P
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Daytime Drama [Updated 06 March 2017]

Postby Ed the Bat » Mon Mar 06, 2017 1:40 pm

The Police lamppost is indeed fixed now. And since Sanya mentioned using a different ACS compiler, I'm banking on that being the root of the ACS-related errors, like the missing messages and the console spam -- The raw ACS file looked okay, but something made the engine think that texture name was an actor...?
User avatar
Ed the Bat
I'm tired. I want to go home.
 
Joined: 03 May 2012
Location: Maryland, US

Re: Daytime Drama [Updated 06 March 2017]

Postby SanyaWaffles » Tue Mar 07, 2017 7:19 am

Rachael wrote:So if you are getting VM errors, it is exactly the same VM as GZDoom, meaning there is an issue with either the mod, your config, or the VM itself. Unless, of course, QZDoom's drawers are not playing nice and putting random bytes where they should not go. :P


I'm actually wondering if that, mixed with using gdcc-acc is the root cause as I've tested it on GZDoom and my own custom version and haven't ran into it on my end - but I haven't tested QZDoom at all.

On the other hand I notice some oddties outside that so I dunno.

As for the message spamming, probably has to do with durations (they're handled as fixed point IIRC). I'm probably gonna make Ice Bear give player hints. For now I'd disable the hints, and query the items if need be. I did add what the item did to the Item Tag/Description.

What do you people think? I know it's my project but I wanna make it the best project that it can be.
User avatar
SanyaWaffles
Navy Did Nothing Wrong
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2013
Location: Eastern Ohio
Discord: SanyaWaffles#5095
Twitch ID: sanyawaffles
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Daytime Drama [Updated 06 March 2017]

Postby SanyaWaffles » Tue Mar 07, 2017 7:33 am

I'm making a separate post but something Ed the Bat showed in that screenshot gave me a hint in combo of what Rachel said and discussing the issue with Lud made me realize something.

http://edthebat.com/images/Screenshot_D ... 133633.png

TVBROKEN is a texture name. It's not anything, outside being referenced, to do with ACS nor is it an actor name.

There's a dummy object you break that does some ACS magic (that isn't quite there in ZDoom) that in turn "breaks" the TV linedef.

This object itself is named DD_RegularTVController

I'm beginning to think it might be a QZDoom only issue as no one has reported this and I can't report it. And I have no idea why it'd break even then unless some of the magic RGBA drawers under the hood is messing with the code somehow.

EDIT: I'm testing it using the latest QZDoom dev-builds. I just got done with the 64-bit version, no ACS related errors.
EDIT2: Tested 32-bit version. No ACS related errors in that one level.

I really dunno what to say at this point. :o
User avatar
SanyaWaffles
Navy Did Nothing Wrong
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2013
Location: Eastern Ohio
Discord: SanyaWaffles#5095
Twitch ID: sanyawaffles
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Daytime Drama [Updated 06 March 2017]

Postby Rachael » Tue Mar 07, 2017 9:06 am

I'm wondering if it's an error with GDCC-GCC. Maybe have DavidPH look at it?
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Daytime Drama [Updated 06 March 2017]

Postby Ed the Bat » Tue Mar 07, 2017 11:04 am

I have not run into the issue with the TV since that first playthrough. However, the end credits are broken every time I play them. I can't see anything in the raw ACS lump or LANGUAGE lump that seems incorrect, which has me convinced it must be a problem with the compiler.

Also, if I could ask a favor, Sanya... could the Keys be given icons to match the HUD graphics (e.g., DD_RedKey given Inventory.Icon "STK_RED1")? I play with a custom HUD of my own design, and since the keys currently use their high-resolution pickup sprites as icons, they're absolutely titanic.
User avatar
Ed the Bat
I'm tired. I want to go home.
 
Joined: 03 May 2012
Location: Maryland, US

Re: Daytime Drama [Updated 06 March 2017]

Postby SanyaWaffles » Thu Mar 09, 2017 7:48 am

Ed the Bat wrote:I have not run into the issue with the TV since that first playthrough. However, the end credits are broken every time I play them. I can't see anything in the raw ACS lump or LANGUAGE lump that seems incorrect, which has me convinced it must be a problem with the compiler.


I'm suspecting a conflict of ACS libraries as both the cutscene control (not used much outside some functions) and the 'cookbook' library (the bulk of my games' ACS shared stuff) with the built in ACS compiler bundled with GZDoom Builder (i.e, the official one) perhaps. I'll look into the cutscene not playing correctly, that might be just poor coding on my part. I'm new to making cutscenes in games.

That said if it helps, I can supply the command line I give to compile both cookbook.o and cutscene.o. Maybe I need to throw a switch somewhere in the mix. Or a #directive. I dunno. I have my doubts about this but unless I have definitive proof...

Ed the Bat wrote:Also, if I could ask a favor, Sanya... could the Keys be given icons to match the HUD graphics (e.g., DD_RedKey given Inventory.Icon "STK_RED1")? I play with a custom HUD of my own design, and since the keys currently use their high-resolution pickup sprites as icons, they're absolutely titanic.


I am in the process of uploading a fix. The status keys might be a bit lo-res but they'll definitely not be that ginormous.

Also included in this fix is the fact Christmas Crackers are no longer ACS-driven. They are entirely driven by ZScript now.

However I also disabled hints. I feel maybe Ice Bear may be better at delivering hints to the player.

Anyhow, the new builds with a slightly different naming convention are up.

EDIT: I have gone through each map and recompiled it's BEHAVIOR lump with GDCC-ACC and I have also fixed the credits on my end.
User avatar
SanyaWaffles
Navy Did Nothing Wrong
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2013
Location: Eastern Ohio
Discord: SanyaWaffles#5095
Twitch ID: sanyawaffles
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Daytime Drama [Updated 09 March 2017]

Postby Ed the Bat » Thu Mar 09, 2017 2:24 pm

The credits are fixed now, and my custom hud is very happy with the key icons. Thanks so much for your help!
User avatar
Ed the Bat
I'm tired. I want to go home.
 
Joined: 03 May 2012
Location: Maryland, US

Re: Daytime Drama [Updated 09 March 2017]

Postby SanyaWaffles » Thu Mar 09, 2017 6:48 pm

The newest builds may not be compatible until the GZDoom dev-builds are up to date.

Recent additions to ZDoom allowed me to strip alot of what was done in the ACS library to ZScript.

So the bug with the TV should NEVER happen again. Ever. A few more tests.
User avatar
SanyaWaffles
Navy Did Nothing Wrong
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2013
Location: Eastern Ohio
Discord: SanyaWaffles#5095
Twitch ID: sanyawaffles
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

PreviousNext

Return to TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 8 guests