[v1.3] Doom 64: Retribution

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: [v1.3] Doom 64: Retribution

Postby hoover1979 » Tue Sep 12, 2017 11:05 pm

I can confirm on my end I do need to strafe-run to get accross the pillars to get to the first secret level. I tried many times as just running and I always fell short of the first pillar, strafe jumping got me accross, but I had to have a few attempts as it is a chore (but not impossible) to strafe run that distance with an XBONE Controller.
User avatar
hoover1979
Making 2k Texture Pack for Doom.
 
Joined: 22 Jun 2014
Location: Kadingir Sanctum, Hell (Postal Code: 666)

Re: [v1.3] Doom 64: Retribution

Postby Nevander » Wed Sep 13, 2017 1:13 am

whatup876 wrote:Could you give us a sneak peek?
At least just a tiny one?

Hopefully I can post a couple screenshots from some maps in the next day or so. Really busy trying to get them done right now, working on Nebula now. I still have 3 maps from Outcast to basically rebuild though (the 3 unfinished maps from Kaiser included in the original TC).

hoover1979 wrote:I can confirm on my end I do need to strafe-run to get across the pillars to get to the first secret level. I tried many times as just running and I always fell short of the first pillar, strafe jumping got me across, but I had to have a few attempts as it is a chore (but not impossible) to strafe run that distance with an XBONE Controller.

Yea unfortunately the change to gravity and speed in 1.1 made it impossible to make that gap without a tiny strafe run. I will fix it for 1.4 so you don't need to strafe run. I just need to add about 8 more units or so to that alcove for more running start speed.
User avatar
Nevander
The Doomslayer
 
Joined: 06 Jan 2014
Location: United States

Re: [v1.3] Doom 64: Retribution

Postby hoover1979 » Wed Sep 13, 2017 1:37 am

Thanks dude!
User avatar
hoover1979
Making 2k Texture Pack for Doom.
 
Joined: 22 Jun 2014
Location: Kadingir Sanctum, Hell (Postal Code: 666)

Re: [v1.3] Doom 64: Retribution

Postby orbittwz » Thu Sep 21, 2017 2:57 pm

Hey!
looking at the WAD at Slade, i can see that maps 25,26,27,33,34 aren't reachable within the MAPINFO lump, means throughout the game the player won't be able to enter them.
OP, can you explain why?
orbittwz
 
Joined: 25 Oct 2016

Re: [v1.3] Doom 64: Retribution

Postby Korell » Thu Sep 21, 2017 3:07 pm

orbittwz wrote:Hey!
looking at the WAD at Slade, i can see that maps 25,26,27,33,34 aren't reachable within the MAPINFO lump, means throughout the game the player won't be able to enter them.
OP, can you explain why?


Well, if the same map numbers are used for Doom 64 Retribution as the original Doom 64, then maps 25, 26 and 27 aren't accessed via normal gameplay which is why they wouldn't be reachable within the MAPINFO lump.

http://doom.wikia.com/wiki/Doom_64
http://doom.wikia.com/wiki/MAP25:_Cat_And_Mouse_(Doom_64)
http://doom.wikia.com/wiki/MAP26:_Hardcore_(Doom_64)
http://doom.wikia.com/wiki/MAP27:_Playground_(Doom_64)

I'm not sure about 33 and 34 without going and having a look, but they seem to be additional maps, so it may be that they are in the same boat as maps 25, 26 and 27 and are accessed differently.
User avatar
Korell
 
Joined: 28 May 2017

Re: [v1.3] Doom 64: Retribution

Postby orbittwz » Thu Sep 21, 2017 3:13 pm

@Korell, if you take a look in the MAPINFO, there's a second episode called FUN, and after the map FUN00 is map 25, but FUN00 don't next you to this level.
maybe the author meant to enter the player to map25 but left it out?? becasue those lost maps are in the FUN BONUS LEVELS section...

EDIT: i can edit this MAPINFO and make sure i play all the levels, FUN00 to MAP25 --> 26 --> 27 --> 33 --> 34 --> end, no?

EDIT2: fixed MAPINFO, now all maps are playable!! link: REMOVED
just download the fixed MAPINFO and paste the text instead of the text in the actual LUMP called MAPINFO in the WAD file.
i will test it out by actually playing the WAD from the beginning.
cheers

EDIT3: my bad, the MAPINFO is fine
Last edited by orbittwz on Fri Sep 22, 2017 3:00 am, edited 1 time in total.
orbittwz
 
Joined: 25 Oct 2016

Re: [v1.3] Doom 64: Retribution

Postby Korell » Thu Sep 21, 2017 5:36 pm

orbittwz wrote:@Korell, if you take a look in the MAPINFO, there's a second episode called FUN, and after the map FUN00 is map 25, but FUN00 don't next you to this level.
maybe the author meant to enter the player to map25 but left it out?? becasue those lost maps are in the FUN BONUS LEVELS section...

EDIT: i can edit this MAPINFO and make sure i play all the levels, FUN00 to MAP25 --> 26 --> 27 --> 33 --> 34 --> end, no?

EDIT2: fixed MAPINFO, now all maps are playable!! link: http://www35.zippyshare.com/v/OWRJ1ugj/file.html
just download the fixed MAPINFO and paste the text instead of the text in the actual LUMP called MAPINFO in the WAD file.
i will test it out by actually playing the WAD from the beginning.
cheers


I've no idea what the issue is here. I've made no changes to the Doom 64 Retribution MAPINFO and when I start the the fun levels, FUN00 is a hub area where you can choose which level to play. Going through the Cat and Mouse door takes you to MAP25. So I can't see anything wrong that needs fixing. When you finish a fun level you go back to the hub (FUN00) where you can then choose a different one. So all maps are playable anyway with no need to modify the provided MAPINFO.
User avatar
Korell
 
Joined: 28 May 2017

Re: [v1.3] Doom 64: Retribution

Postby Nevander » Fri Sep 22, 2017 12:53 am

orbittwz wrote:Hey!
looking at the WAD at Slade, i can see that maps 25,26,27,33,34 aren't reachable within the MAPINFO lump, means throughout the game the player won't be able to enter them.
OP, can you explain why?

They are all playable through the Bonus Fun Map selection hub by choosing the Bonus Fun Maps episode. These maps had to be accessed through a cheat menu originally, but since GZDoom cannot do such a thing, I made them into a hub.

orbittwz wrote:@Korell, if you take a look in the MAPINFO, there's a second episode called FUN, and after the map FUN00 is map 25, but FUN00 don't next you to this level.
maybe the author meant to enter the player to map25 but left it out?? becasue those lost maps are in the FUN BONUS LEVELS section...

EDIT: i can edit this MAPINFO and make sure i play all the levels, FUN00 to MAP25 --> 26 --> 27 --> 33 --> 34 --> end, no?

FUN00 (the hub) is not meant to go anywhere in the MAPINFO. Exiting the level returns you to the TITLEMAP. The five teleporters load those maps depending on your choice. I'm really not sure what the issue is unless you are somehow not accessing the hub map.
User avatar
Nevander
The Doomslayer
 
Joined: 06 Jan 2014
Location: United States

Re: [v1.3] Doom 64: Retribution

Postby orbittwz » Fri Sep 22, 2017 2:55 am

Oh, i see... my bad then... i didn't know this map FUN00 is a HUB for all the missing maps i wrote.
Thank you for the kind answers.
Reverting...
orbittwz
 
Joined: 25 Oct 2016

Re: [v1.3] Doom 64: Retribution

Postby SoulCircle » Fri Sep 22, 2017 7:36 pm

Speaking of which... It was due to this mod I found out that the Cyberdemon is more powerful than the Motherdemon. I loved the Testing area fun map you made Nevander. Thank you for that! Keep up the great work.
User avatar
SoulCircle
Elf Rangler
 
Joined: 02 Aug 2016
Location: North Pole

Re: [v1.3] Doom 64: Retribution

Postby Nevander » Sun Sep 24, 2017 4:30 pm

SoulCircle wrote:due to this mod I found out that the Cyberdemon is more powerful than the Motherdemon

I'm not exactly sure if that's right though. In the Absolution TC, the Mother Demon is actually able to defeat Cyberdemons but that could be due to the different way it attacks in that TC. I suppose I could spawn them both together in EX and see which one wins on an average. Who hits who first might play a role as well.
User avatar
Nevander
The Doomslayer
 
Joined: 06 Jan 2014
Location: United States

Re: [v1.3] Doom 64: Retribution

Postby SoulCircle » Mon Sep 25, 2017 8:42 pm

Yeah, I was thinking about it... The Cyberdemon is not susceptible to splash damage while the Motherdemon is if I remember correctly, so this may have something to do with it.
User avatar
SoulCircle
Elf Rangler
 
Joined: 02 Aug 2016
Location: North Pole

Re: [v1.3] Doom 64: Retribution

Postby DoomSlayer88 » Wed Sep 27, 2017 12:57 am

Does anyone know what do I have to do to make the music plays correctly on a MacOS? :(
DoomSlayer88
 
Joined: 27 Sep 2017

Re: [v1.3] Doom 64: Retribution

Postby _mental_ » Wed Sep 27, 2017 2:06 am

Set MIDI Device to FluidSynth in Sound Options. Set FluidSynth Patch Set to full path to DOOMSND.SF2 file in Sound Options -> Advanced Options.
It's easier to set fluid_patchset CVAR in console because you can paste the path there.

This is applicable if you use the latest stable version. Previous ones may or may not work.
For example, 2.2.0 (and probably other 2.x I don't remember for sure) requires external FluidSynth library.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: [v1.3] Doom 64: Retribution

Postby DoomSlayer88 » Wed Sep 27, 2017 5:24 pm

But where do I have to put DOOMSND.SF2 - libfluidsynth.dll/libfluidsynth64.dll ?
I´m new in this type of things :/
DoomSlayer88
 
Joined: 27 Sep 2017

PreviousNext

Return to TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MrNight, Yandex [Bot] and 2 guests