The Inquisitor 3D v1.3

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
anjinsanroland
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 3:26 am
Github ID: Armagan

Re: The Inquisitor 3D v1.3

Post by anjinsanroland »

Your projects are, without a doubt, beautiful art pieces. And it is nigh impossible for an art piece to be both broad scoped and deep. So don't be hard on yourselves.

As for VIT stat, I don't miss it in Ascention. For a stamina based game it can be used to calculate maximum stamina whereas STR is used for stamina regeneration as in I3D. VIT can also be checked for how long you can hold your breath underwater.

I think the real problem with raising maximum HP without having resistances is this:
In the game you constantly lose HP and restore it by vials, flasks and urns. It doesn't matter what your maximum HP is, you always gain and lose. So having a low HP but high resistances via WIS buffs and armor is way more efficient, because you need less vials/urns/flasks.
So my definitive solution for this will be:
Flasks should heal 1/4 of maximum HP instead of just 25. Urns should heal full HP instead of 100. Vials should heal 1/10 of maximum HP instead of 10. You may change the ratio but you get the idea.

I think VIT should also borrow some elements from areas of other stats. Maybe an armor which can be worn by 21 STR could also be worn by 21 VIT. Some potions' or artifacts efficiency can be tied to it like Ironskin or Discs of repulsion; or friendly fire of dragon oil can be greatly reduced. Resistance to ALL damage can be tied to it with a higher ratio, not just elemental resistance with low numbers.

I hope I could be of any use. Thanks for reading and asking for my feedback. And thanks for being great. Keep it up.
User avatar
Shadowman
Posts: 93
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 10:44 am
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: The Inquisitor 3D v1.3

Post by Shadowman »

Thanks for the interesting ideas about Vitality. I was already thinking about making the effect of the healing flasks dependent on it. Perhaps vitality could affect the rate of regeneration not only of life, but also of both types of mana. I also thought about the fact that spells that enhance weapons (for example, Sparks for a sword) have requirements for vitality, not intelligence / wisdom, and the effect of them also depended on vitality. The magical effects of arrows could also be tied to vitality, which are now also tied to dexterity (and to a lesser extent - to strength), like damage from ordinary arrows.
Let's see - the future will show :)
Toyoch
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 5:21 pm
Location: Japan

Re: The Inquisitor 3D v1.3

Post by Toyoch »

Another run done with more strength-oriented stats.
Spoiler:
Found a strange issue in the current version.
- If you have Disc of Repulsion and enter the Nightmare, you can still use the repulsion with the fist(couldn't check if it really consumes discs as the inventory is gone during Nightmare level).
anjinsanroland
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 3:26 am
Github ID: Armagan

Re: The Inquisitor 3D v1.3

Post by anjinsanroland »

Toyoch wrote:Found a strange issue in the current version.
- If you have Disc of Repulsion and enter the Nightmare, you can still use the repulsion with the fist(couldn't check if it really consumes discs as the inventory is gone during Nightmare level).
In the beginning when you only have your fists, if you pick up a Disc, then left mouse button uses one. After that spells replace the left button.
By the way the my favorite play style is also a STR/WIS build. It is so optimal that I want to hear someone defend other builds.

Also is Sagaris a reference to Dark Hearth of Uukrul?
User avatar
Shadowman
Posts: 93
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 10:44 am
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: The Inquisitor 3D v1.3

Post by Shadowman »

anjinsanroland wrote: Also is Sagaris a reference to Dark Hearth of Uukrul?
Yes exactly.
Dark Hearth of Uukrul is one of my favorite old games, and I've already referenced it in my work. In particular, if you look at the map 05 The Catacombs, you will notice a close resemblance to the map of the starting locations of Dark Hearth of Uukrul :)
anjinsanroland
Posts: 81
Joined: Wed Sep 11, 2019 3:26 am
Github ID: Armagan

Re: The Inquisitor 3D v1.3

Post by anjinsanroland »

guess you never cease to surprise :D
Toyoch
Posts: 43
Joined: Wed Jul 27, 2016 5:21 pm
Location: Japan

Re: The Inquisitor 3D v1.3

Post by Toyoch »

anjinsanroland wrote:
Toyoch wrote:Found a strange issue in the current version.
- If you have Disc of Repulsion and enter the Nightmare, you can still use the repulsion with the fist(couldn't check if it really consumes discs as the inventory is gone during Nightmare level).
In the beginning when you only have your fists, if you pick up a Disc, then left mouse button uses one. After that spells replace the left button.
The problem is that the Nightmare level is supposed to be limited to Fist(no shock spell), MP40 and Shotgun, and there are no inventory items in that level as well as they are locked until you leave the level alive.
But the fist's primari attack is replaced with repulsion if you sleep with Discs of Repulsion in inventory.

My much earlier run was INT/WIS focused and the Lightning Storm was overpowered. For STR/WIS, enemies literally melt away with the Frail altfire.
otarU1921
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2020 10:26 am
Discord: otarU1921#2481

Re: The Inquisitor 3D v1.3

Post by otarU1921 »

I think this game has too much resource starvation when it requires so much combat.

My experience playing on ultra-violence as a mage.

Playing as a mage, I don't get enough mana drops and need to spend almost all my gold on mana artifacts.

I even had to resort to a sort of exploit of holding attribute points to invest in intelligence when I want to recharge my mana.

I feel that since this game seems to be based on Diablo 2 / Hack and Slash RPG this game would work better if the resources needed for combat were easily available.

Like Armor Repair should be cheap, ammo should be cheap, mana potions should be cheap or mana regen should be high enough with intelligence investment.

Stamina recovery should improve with stats, I don't know if it does improve, but when I tried to use the first sword you get as a mage with 5 str it was very useless.
otarU1921
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2020 10:26 am
Discord: otarU1921#2481

Re: The Inquisitor 3D v1.3

Post by otarU1921 »

I feel that due to the combat resource starvation I spent most of the early parts of the game on a loop going to the priest guy near Cain to heal and then back to combat trying to use a Sword with 5 Str because I can't spend mana thoughtlessly.

This was very boring.

Also many of my deaths early game happened because of the flesh devil waking up and charging straight at me at random times. Because of all the crows/ravens flying and making sounds, it's hard to notice when they wake up and come for you and in the early game, their damage is quite high, especially if you are a low vit/str mage.

Edit:

Finished the game, this game is really good, I loved it.

I think the early parts of the game could be improved, but overall it's a really good game. Grats to the creator and thanks too.
baronvonellis
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2021 10:32 pm

Re: The Inquisitor 3D v1.3

Post by baronvonellis »

Hello this looks really cool. I can't get anything to work in the first level though. I can view the cutsceen, which looks awesome! Then when I enter the level it says to change your stats and click a button. I don't see how to change your stats or any button to press. Then I went over a sprite of the doom guy, and the game freezes at a dialog box, no key I press does anything. I'm using Gzdoom 4.5.0 How do you get it to work?
DarkWarrior1995
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2016 10:41 am

Re: The Inquisitor 3D v1.3

Post by DarkWarrior1995 »

baronvonellis wrote:Hello this looks really cool. I can't get anything to work in the first level though. I can view the cutsceen, which looks awesome! Then when I enter the level it says to change your stats and click a button. I don't see how to change your stats or any button to press. Then I went over a sprite of the doom guy, and the game freezes at a dialog box, no key I press does anything. I'm using Gzdoom 4.5.0 How do you get it to work?
Have you set keybindings to the dialogue keys in question? Without those key bindings, you can't progress through dialogue boxes.

As for how to change your stats... you have to go through the first dialogue box at the guy present in the area.
baronvonellis
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Jan 05, 2021 10:32 pm

Re: The Inquisitor 3D v1.3

Post by baronvonellis »

DarkWarrior1995 wrote:
baronvonellis wrote:Hello this looks really cool. I can't get anything to work in the first level though. I can view the cutsceen, which looks awesome! Then when I enter the level it says to change your stats and click a button. I don't see how to change your stats or any button to press. Then I went over a sprite of the doom guy, and the game freezes at a dialog box, no key I press does anything. I'm using Gzdoom 4.5.0 How do you get it to work?
Have you set keybindings to the dialogue keys in question? Without those key bindings, you can't progress through dialogue boxes.

As for how to change your stats... you have to go through the first dialogue box at the guy present in the area.
OK, I set the keybinding to the dialogue key now. Thanks. I wasn't sure how to raise the stats in front of the pools. Is there a button your supposed to press, or do you just stand in front of the pool. It's not very clear what to do.
Then when I went to the basement of the tavern to look for rats, the torch burned out in a minute, and it's totally black down there. Killed a couple rats. Can't see a thing. I went down a hall and saw a barrel but couldn't see anything else other than walls. Not sure what your supposed to do.
Cain says I'm not strong enough to leave town. I saw a sign that a cow was missing but didn't see any cows.
DarkWarrior1995
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Dec 15, 2016 10:41 am

Re: The Inquisitor 3D v1.3

Post by DarkWarrior1995 »

baronvonellis wrote:
DarkWarrior1995 wrote:
baronvonellis wrote:Hello this looks really cool. I can't get anything to work in the first level though. I can view the cutsceen, which looks awesome! Then when I enter the level it says to change your stats and click a button. I don't see how to change your stats or any button to press. Then I went over a sprite of the doom guy, and the game freezes at a dialog box, no key I press does anything. I'm using Gzdoom 4.5.0 How do you get it to work?
Have you set keybindings to the dialogue keys in question? Without those key bindings, you can't progress through dialogue boxes.

As for how to change your stats... you have to go through the first dialogue box at the guy present in the area.
OK, I set the keybinding to the dialogue key now. Thanks. I wasn't sure how to raise the stats in front of the pools. Is there a button your supposed to press, or do you just stand in front of the pool. It's not very clear what to do.
Then when I went to the basement of the tavern to look for rats, the torch burned out in a minute, and it's totally black down there. Killed a couple rats. Can't see a thing. I went down a hall and saw a barrel but couldn't see anything else other than walls. Not sure what your supposed to do.
Cain says I'm not strong enough to leave town. I saw a sign that a cow was missing but didn't see any cows.
Happy to help however I can, dude. Speaking of help...

1. There's a button right on the front of each pool in question. You only need press that button via whatever keybinding you use for your interact. Keep in mind, however, that this requires having stat points available to spend on your stats: each interaction uses up 1 stat point.
2. If you want a sort of easier time, you could try changing the lighting via the options menu. Haven't played this in awhile, though, so exact option menu eludes me.
3. First, prove to Cain that you can handle yourself. He likes having reliable people to stay awhile and listen... :)
blakecasimir
Posts: 18
Joined: Fri Mar 18, 2016 9:11 pm

Re: The Inquisitor 3D v1.3

Post by blakecasimir »

Bump.

Just finished all the Inquisitor series and Ascension.

I absolutely love first person action RPGs, games like Ultima Underworld, Arx Fatalis, the King's Field series, etc. Inq 3D and Ascension in particular are essentially these experiences in the GZDoom engine. They are some of the greatest Doom mods I've had the pleasure to play and I'm actually pretty gutted they are over, only because they were so good. It's difficult to balance RPGs, and I would share other's comments about occasional difficulty spikes and certain enemies being tricky. But otherwise: superlative, top notch map design, gameplay and careful attention to detail everywhere. Hats off. Both hats off. Bravo.
User avatar
Shadowman
Posts: 93
Joined: Sat Nov 26, 2016 10:44 am
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: The Inquisitor 3D v1.3

Post by Shadowman »

blakecasimir wrote:They are some of the greatest Doom mods I've had the pleasure to play and I'm actually pretty gutted they are over, only because they were so good. It's difficult to balance RPGs, and I would share other's comments about occasional difficulty spikes and certain enemies being tricky.
I am very glad that you liked both mods! I also believe that the potential of the RPG system used in Inq 3d and Ascension has not yet been exhausted. Maybe someday there will be a third game... with completely three-dimensional monsters from 3D models :)

Return to “TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects”