The Inquisitor 3D v1.3

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: The Inquisitor 3D

Postby Ozymandias81 » Wed Feb 20, 2019 6:21 am

Sorry for the late reply Shadowman, but well let's get to the point:

Shadowman wrote:Is there a drawback when using different formats of models?

I am not sure, it is just the way I work with my projects / collaborations, let's see if some devs tell us about it...
I think for the engine is better to use same kind of model but this is just me and I don't have technical knowledge about this.

Shadowman wrote:And what about DistanceCheck? The link goes to the description of the the actors' properties from zdoom wiki.

It's intended since there isn't a separate wiki paragraph for DistanceCheck, in fact you have to scroll down and get it to understand how it works

Shadowman wrote:Can I forcefully disable model loading at large distances? Or are there any tricks with models that increase productivity?

DistanceCheck exists thanks also to Blade of Agony, a feature we have requested for a long time until it turned out as an engine feature: you have to define a
custom cvar and apply to it a value (have in mind mp as distance in maps), so if you want to forcefully disable models at, let's say 2048mp, just set a server int cvar of 2048, or even you can allow users to choose desired distance like we did on Blade of Agony using MENUDEF.
There are also some different ways to not render actors at specific distances via A_CheckSight / A_CheckSightOrRange / A_CheckProximity or using inventory items spaghetti code but all of these solutions are way more engine intensive and not good perfomance wise in general (unless you want your projects compatible with Zandronum and non GZDoom ports).
User avatar
Ozymandias81
Doom is a State of Mind... Out of Control.
 
Joined: 04 Jul 2013
Location: Mount Olympus, Mars
Github ID: Ozymandias81
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: The Inquisitor 3D

Postby Blue Shadow » Wed Feb 20, 2019 7:12 am

Ozymandias81 wrote:It's intended since there isn't a separate wiki paragraph for DistanceCheck, in fact you have to scroll down and get it to understand how it works

You can link directly to a property:

https://zdoom.org/wiki/Actor_properties#DistanceCheck
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: The Inquisitor 3D

Postby Ozymandias81 » Wed Feb 20, 2019 6:12 pm

Oh I see my bad, really didn't knew it! There is always something to learn :D
User avatar
Ozymandias81
Doom is a State of Mind... Out of Control.
 
Joined: 04 Jul 2013
Location: Mount Olympus, Mars
Github ID: Ozymandias81
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: The Inquisitor 3D

Postby Shadowman » Sun Mar 10, 2019 5:45 am

Wad is updated to version 1.1.
Changes are as follows:
- a world map is added (called by "L" button).
- the dependence of drawing 3D models on the distance is added. You can set different distances in increments of 512 units in additional game menu.
- some models are improved and corrected
- fixed minor bugs.

Download Inquisitor 3d v1.1 from Yandex-disk
User avatar
Shadowman
 
Joined: 26 Nov 2016
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: The Inquisitor 3D

Postby chippo » Sat Oct 12, 2019 3:21 am

Fantastic TC!

Hint request: On map10: citadel of inferno, how do you get off the first set of connected islands?

I can get into the first 2 houses but not the third. It has a button that you can shoot through the window, but that doesn't seem to do anything. There are three floor pads (one near each house) which don't seem to do anything. Walking through the 3 portals does nothing, but one of them it tells you that it is broken.

I'm using gzdoom-v4.2.1 and Inquisitor3D_v1-1.
chippo
 
Joined: 14 Aug 2019
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Kali, Mint, etc) 64-bit

Re: The Inquisitor 3D

Postby Shadowman » Wed Oct 16, 2019 12:28 pm

chippo wrote:Fantastic TC!

Hint request: On map10: citadel of inferno, how do you get off the first set of connected islands?

I can get into the first 2 houses but not the third. It has a button that you can shoot through the window, but that doesn't seem to do anything. There are three floor pads (one near each house) which don't seem to do anything. Walking through the 3 portals does nothing, but one of them it tells you that it is broken.

I'm using gzdoom-v4.2.1 and Inquisitor3D_v1-1.


Hit (or shoot) the gong (made by 3d-model) on the island.
User avatar
Shadowman
 
Joined: 26 Nov 2016
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: The Inquisitor 3D

Postby gennoveus » Thu Oct 17, 2019 6:13 am

Just discovered this TC - this is excellent; really high quality. Thank you for the great entertainment!
User avatar
gennoveus
COMPOUND dev
 
Joined: 24 Sep 2017
Discord: Bevan#5831

Re: The Inquisitor 3D

Postby chippo » Sat Oct 19, 2019 4:16 pm

Shadowman wrote:Hit (or shoot) the gong (made by 3d-model) on the island.


Tx. Although you'll seriously regret it when you do.

Fighting those red skeletons and undead nobles is a nice little challenge for your adulthood.

In fact, I'm going to have to cheat. My computer only has two cores at 2.4Ghz. Just after I smack the gong, with less than 10 fps, and with all that larva around, the nobles and skellies are unbeatable. Such a pity - I'm completely obsessed with this mod and am even considering starting again at a lower skill level, but I'm guessing that even if there are only 2 undead nobles and 10 skellies, the frame rate will still make it unplayable.

I'm not complaining - I know you made this mod for faster computers. I'm just curious about something. I get a fantastic frame rate in the catacombs (30+), but the frame rate in Tristan is hardly ever above 10 fps. However, there is a huge hall in the catacombs, which looks about as big as the whole of Tristan. How come the frame rate is so bad in Tristan (or conversely why is the frame rate so good in the catacombs)? Has it got to do with presence/absence of sky?
chippo
 
Joined: 14 Aug 2019
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Kali, Mint, etc) 64-bit

Re: The Inquisitor 3D

Postby Shadowman » Sun Oct 20, 2019 5:45 am

chippo wrote:I'm not complaining - I know you made this mod for faster computers. I'm just curious about something. I get a fantastic frame rate in the catacombs (30+), but the frame rate in Tristan is hardly ever above 10 fps. However, there is a huge hall in the catacombs, which looks about as big as the whole of Tristan. How come the frame rate is so bad in Tristan (or conversely why is the frame rate so good in the catacombs)? Has it got to do with presence/absence of sky?


Thanks for the question. The number of 3D floors and 3D models in a frame affects fps. The sky also affects, but less. Dynamic light reflecting on 3D floors also influences. Moreover, the longer the location in which these elements are located, the lower the fps. In Tristan, the minimum fps when viewing from the lake towards the houses. In the large hall of the catacombs there are almost no 3D floors, because there the fps is high.
To improve performance, you can try to set the minimum distance in the wad settings for rendering 3D models. True, then there may be visual glitches (for example, the disappearance of 3D grass when going beyond a distance).
User avatar
Shadowman
 
Joined: 26 Nov 2016
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: The Inquisitor 3D

Postby John Stalvern » Sun Oct 20, 2019 8:17 am

Hey Shadowman, how is progress on Ascension going?
John Stalvern
 
Joined: 21 Jun 2018

Re: The Inquisitor 3D

Postby chippo » Sun Oct 20, 2019 10:42 am

John Stalvern wrote:Hey Shadowman, how is progress on Ascension going?


It depends on your personality. It's very much like The Inquisitors (spells, weapons, stats, RPG), but if you suffer from OCPD like me, then you'll suffer from seeing quite a large amount of map that you can never get to. If you're not OCD and can cope with shit 'beyond the fence' that you can't ever study closely, then its like 3 levels of Inquisitor.

It's pretty cool already. I'm sure it'll be fantastic when finished.
chippo
 
Joined: 14 Aug 2019
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Kali, Mint, etc) 64-bit

Re: The Inquisitor 3D

Postby chippo » Sun Oct 20, 2019 11:23 am

Shadowman wrote:The number of 3D floors and 3D models in a frame affects fps. The sky also affects, but less. Dynamic light reflecting on 3D floors also influences.


Understood (and I shamefully even tested it and that's true). But back to my curiosity (I'm not trying to fix anything - I'm lusting for a better computer), when I view FPS in quake1, the original, back from when some of us weren't alive or still virgins, the number of floors above each other, doesn't seem to change fps. I can see that in quake-original, they carefully arranged the levels and the rooms so that you can never 'see' very far ahead of you. But the number of vertical levels didn't (doesn't) affect frame rate (noticeably). In Inquisitor/gzdoom it certainly does (I only see that now). Has that got to do with the different data structures used in doom versus quake? Or is it an implementation issue?

Shadowman wrote:To improve performance, you can try to set the minimum distance in the wad settings for rendering 3D models. True, then there may be visual glitches (for example, the disappearance of 3D grass when going beyond a distance).


Tx, very much. I saw somewhere earlier, in this thread or another, that there is info on setting min-3d-model-rendering-distance. I LOVED Original Doom in 320x240 (or was it 220 or 200?), so I will not shed too many tears at the loss of 3D grass if I could just waste those Undead Nobles without a cheat.
chippo
 
Joined: 14 Aug 2019
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Kali, Mint, etc) 64-bit

Re: The Inquisitor 3D

Postby chippo » Sun Oct 20, 2019 12:15 pm

Shadowman wrote:The number of 3D floors and 3D models in a frame affects fps.


I can't quote myself, 'cos the moderator hasn't released my previous post yet, but I think that I don't know what a 3D floor is. When I posted my last nonsense, I thought that a 3D floor was just a floor above another one. If that's not the case, then please just ignore my silliness about quake vs doom and fps.
chippo
 
Joined: 14 Aug 2019
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Kali, Mint, etc) 64-bit

Re: The Inquisitor 3D

Postby Shadowman » Mon Oct 21, 2019 5:10 am

John Stalvern wrote:Hey Shadowman, how is progress on Ascension going?

Ascension will be released in 2020, I hope that in the first half. :)
Now we are finishing the translation of the texts and finishing the boss decorate, the next in line are the tests.
A screenshot of new location:
https://i.postimg.cc/FHBGBt9Y/Screensho ... 140118.png

chippo wrote: I think that I don't know what a 3D floor is.

3D floor is a special technology of gzdoom, it is not a sector above a sector, but a real "partition" with its thickness, which is placed in the necessary sectors on the map.
Gzdoom engine and quake are different. I would like the developers to optimize it, but I'm not an expert in this matter.
Unfortunately, large complex maps with 3d-floors and models can slow down much more than some modern PC games. :(
User avatar
Shadowman
 
Joined: 26 Nov 2016
Location: Russia, Moscow

Re: The Inquisitor 3D

Postby John Stalvern » Tue Oct 22, 2019 2:04 pm

Ah, the city of Sorona, I imagine. Looks amazing, thanks for sharing!
John Stalvern
 
Joined: 21 Jun 2018

PreviousNext

Return to TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests