Strange Aeons v5.7

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are ONLY for YOUR PROJECTS! If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.

Re: Strange Aeons v5.5

Postby ImpieTwo » Thu May 18, 2017 4:27 am

I'm annoyed to discover that when playing the mod with Doom 2 the ending screens don't display: at least for episode 2 it just goes back to the credit screen, while in Ultimate Doom it shows the correct screen. Are any of the other ending screens displaying properly in Doom 2?
ImpieTwo
Banned User
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2015

Re: Strange Aeons v5.5

Postby Rachael » Thu May 18, 2017 2:06 pm

I didn't think this mod was even compatible with Doom 2?

That being said, if that was intended it's easy enough to import Ultimate Doom's mapinfo definitions and simply override them with your own so that they show the correct screen in both games.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, etc) 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Strange Aeons v5.5

Postby ImpieTwo » Thu May 18, 2017 11:34 pm

Rachael wrote:I didn't think this mod was even compatible with Doom 2?

That being said, if that was intended it's easy enough to import Ultimate Doom's mapinfo definitions and simply override them with your own so that they show the correct screen in both games.

Someone else added the filters to the current version so it could be played with either. Do you know how to do the thing you suggested? 'Cos I'm totes ignoramus.
ImpieTwo
Banned User
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2015

Re: Strange Aeons v5.5

Postby Rachael » Fri May 19, 2017 3:39 am

ImpieTwo wrote:Do you know how to do the thing you suggested? 'Cos I'm totes ignoramus.

In your gameinfo section of MAPINFO add this line before the }:
Code: Select allExpand view
  finalepage = "HELP2", "VICTORY2", "ENDPIC"
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, etc) 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Strange Aeons v5.5

Postby ImpieTwo » Sat May 20, 2017 11:50 am

On the same subject, there's also an issue with being unable to use idclev to skip levels if you use it with Doom 2 because the maps are labeled in EXMX format rather than MAPXX. Can I do something similar to fix that?
ImpieTwo
Banned User
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2015

Re: Strange Aeons v5.5

Postby Rachael » Sat May 20, 2017 3:09 pm

Ugh - I don't know exactly what's going on with that. I personally do not ever use idclev unless I am playing a vanilla emulation/source port that doesn't have a console.

You may have to ask Graf Zahl about this, but you may be stuck with it being the way it is.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, etc) 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Strange Aeons v5.5

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat May 20, 2017 3:25 pm

IDCLEV works like it was originally coded, it lacks the intelligence to interpret the map name.
How is it supposed to tell that 'idclev11' means E1M1 and not MAP11?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Strange Aeons v5.5

Postby ImpieTwo » Sun May 21, 2017 8:41 am

Graf Zahl wrote:IDCLEV works like it was originally coded, it lacks the intelligence to interpret the map name.
How is it supposed to tell that 'idclev11' means E1M1 and not MAP11?

I realize all that, I just wondered if there was a way around it. But if everyone's using the console to level skip these days, I guess I don't need to worry about it.
ImpieTwo
Banned User
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2015

Re: Strange Aeons v5.7

Postby ImpieTwo » Mon Feb 05, 2018 3:33 am

Update: Now that I know how to do custom intermissions, I finally got the episode ending screens to work whether you load it up in Doom or Doom 2.
ImpieTwo
Banned User
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2015

Re: Strange Aeons v5.7

Postby Dr. Crowley » Fri Mar 09, 2018 2:35 pm

Oh well, it is version 5.7 already. How about a changelog?
User avatar
Dr. Crowley
 
Joined: 02 May 2016
Location: Perm, Russia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Strange Aeons v5.7

Postby ImpieTwo » Fri Mar 09, 2018 6:37 pm

Dr. Crowley wrote:Oh well, it is version 5.7 already. How about a changelog?

I lost it...
ImpieTwo
Banned User
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2015

Re: Strange Aeons v5.7

Postby Korell » Fri Mar 09, 2018 6:42 pm

Does this still need d1gfxd2.wad if you want to play it with Doom 2? Or is it incorporated within the mod itself so no longer needed?
User avatar
Korell
 
Joined: 28 May 2017

Re: Strange Aeons v5.7

Postby ImpieTwo » Fri Mar 09, 2018 11:46 pm

Korell wrote:Does this still need d1gfxd2.wad if you want to play it with Doom 2? Or is it incorporated within the mod itself so no longer needed?

I believe it's been incorporated for some time now. A quick tour of E5M2 should confirm one way or another.
ImpieTwo
Banned User
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2015

Re: Strange Aeons v5.7

Postby Korell » Sat Mar 10, 2018 9:05 am

Just tried it with Doom 2 (without d1gfxd2.wad) and the sky in Episode 1 looked fine, and I played through E5M2 and saw no issues, so it all looks good.

Out of interest, is there any difference at all from the IWAD being used, whether it be Doom 1 or Doom 2? Just wondering if one or the other is better to use.
User avatar
Korell
 
Joined: 28 May 2017

Re: Strange Aeons v5.7

Postby Rachael » Sat Mar 10, 2018 10:34 am

I believe Impie intentionally designed it so that it's IWAD-agnostic, i.e. you can use any Doom-related IWAD with it as long as it has at least the Doom 1 monsters included in it and all of the textures which Doom 1 and Doom 2 have in common. So you could run it with TNT.wad for example. Not 100% sure about Freedoom.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, etc) 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

PreviousNext

Return to TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Serathis and 8 guests