Page 2 of 3

Re: [WIP] Classic Arcade!

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2015 5:52 pm
by Athel
There was a wad. I think it had Pong,,Doom Racer and Doom Hunt in one room, 3 separate arcade machines. I don't remember the name of it. But its quite similar to this.

Re: [WIP] Classic Arcade!

PostPosted: Fri Jul 17, 2015 8:35 pm
by The Zombie Killer
fellowzdoomer wrote:Oh god. THAT wad? Heh I like that wad but maybe its better that its in its own arcade.

It isn't part of Doom Center, I'm just using textures from it.

Caligari_87 wrote:What about those older ACS demos such as Pong and Breakout in Doom? Anyone remember those?

8-)

fellowzdoomer wrote:There was a wad. I think it had Pong,,Doom Racer and Doom Hunt in one room, 3 separate arcade machines. I don't remember the name of it. But its quite similar to this.

That would be ACS Arcade, by Isle

Re: [WIP] Classic Arcade!

PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2015 10:06 am
by DOOMERO-21
The Zombie Killer wrote:It really does, I need to figure out how to make pickups work with the "fake player" so that I can add more weapons than just the pistol.


you can with a_radiusgive, you need to include this into the shotgun actor, obviously the fake player need to be a monster, so with a_radiusgive make give the shotgun to any monster actor, but for make the difference, create a script were if the fakeplayer has the inventory this make the fakeplayer use the shotgun.

Re: [WIP] Classic Arcade!

PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2015 10:41 am
by The Zombie Killer
I was thinking of doing that, but then how am I supposed to make the item disappear after the player picks it up?

Re: [WIP] Classic Arcade!

PostPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2015 11:11 am
by DOOMERO-21
The Zombie Killer wrote:I was thinking of doing that, but then how am I supposed to make the item disappear after the player picks it up?


try this:

Spoiler:

Re: [WIP] Classic Arcade!

PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2015 12:00 am
by ReedtheStrange
Did you script this in a way that would make it easier to use the scripting to do things like controllable turrets in a level? Kind of like what happens on a lot of TimeSplitters levels. That would be the shit.

Re: [WIP] Classic Arcade!

PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2015 12:38 am
by The Zombie Killer
Well, the code could certainly be used for that I guess. I have an old project called "Room Doom" where I remade my room in UDMF and added a controllable toy tank (usable by using a laptop sitting on the desk) although I never released it outside of the ZDoom Skype Group.

Re: [WIP] Classic Arcade!

PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2015 3:45 am
by jpalomo
Apparently this got some attention over on reddit. I'm not sure why they called it a 'hack' though...

Re: [WIP] Classic Arcade!

PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2015 5:22 am
by The Zombie Killer
Yeah, it's been covered on almost 30 gaming sites as well, my four YouTube videos of Classic Arcade have a ginormous amount of views now (ranging from 1,000 to 180,000+), when previously my max was around 400 views.

Re: [WIP] Classic Arcade!

PostPosted: Fri Jul 24, 2015 5:11 am
by The Zombie Killer
Just implemented a use key, so now you can use doors and switches, etc.
Now I need to add item pickups and movement bobbing

EDIT: Showing off updates, with a little surprise at the end

Re: [WIP] Classic Arcade!

PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2015 12:34 pm
by PooshhMao
Since nobody asked yet: how feasible would it be to have MAME running inside Doom?

Since that would positively blow my fucking mind.

Re: [WIP] Classic Arcade!

PostPosted: Sat Oct 03, 2015 1:08 pm
by wildweasel
PooshhMao wrote:Since nobody asked yet: how feasible would it be to have MAME running inside Doom?

Since that would positively blow my fucking mind.

You would probably have better luck trying to port Doom to MAME than the other way around. I don't think any of ZDoom's scripting languages are powerful enough to emulate an entire arcade game down to the processor...and it'd probably wind up being slow as hell, to boot.

Re: [WIP] Classic Arcade!

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2015 2:55 pm
by PooshhMao
I'm not talking about porting MAME to ACS. That would be just plain silly.
But what about either spawning MAME as a background process and using a Doom texture to display the output?
Or maybe even integrating MAME's source into GzDoom's.

Re: [WIP] Classic Arcade!

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2015 3:11 pm
by wildweasel
Doom has no form of external file access beyond saved games and WAD files. You'd need to make changes to source code, and at that rate, why would Doom even need to be involved?

Re: [WIP] Classic Arcade!

PostPosted: Sun Oct 04, 2015 5:01 pm
by PooshhMao
It probably would require a custom build of (G)zDoom, sure. But asking why Doom would need to be involved is like asking why they bother to make Doom run on calculators, tiny mp3 players and smartwatches.